We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great Pizza in Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria di Cagnano

Trattoria di Cagnano
Via dell Opio nel Corso 30, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
+39 0578 758757
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Trattoria di Cagnano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 82 Restaurants in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $71
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Doing business, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Malta
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Another great Pizza in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is a place visited greatly by the locals so you are guaranteed an excellent pizza. My wife's pizza in particular was amazing full of fresh mussels and seafood. The house wine was also very good.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    229
    71
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
victoria
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Late Night Spur of the Moment Dessert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have been in Montepulciano for the last week, and have eaten at Trattoria di Cagnano almost every day except for Monday as they're closed (little surprise seeing as they work so hard!). Tonight at 9:30 we got a hankering for cake, so we made our way down to see if they were still open, which they were, and got two pieces of the tart/cakes in the front display window. Both were absolutely beautiful, just like all the other food we have sampled over the past few days! We have eaten at a lot of restaurants in Italy, but the food here is consistently good and the staff are pleasant and very efficient. I could not rate them more highly. We shall be enjoying their food for the week we have remaining here, as they are out tried and true! I would come back here just to eat at their restaurant.
The coffee (caffe latte with milk on the side and macchiato) is also excellent here too!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Splendid Pizzas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Huge pizzas from a vast oven, washed down with a carafe of the house red - an excellent lunch time choice.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Best Meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

While staying two nights at the La Dimora del Corso, the companion B & B, we purchased half-board for our first evening meal. Included were first course, second course and dessert. All were excellent and the food plentiful. This was one of our very best meals while touring 3 weeks in Italy. We enjoyed our food and service so much we ate their delicious pizza the following evening! Francesa was very attentive and the table service was excellent.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Nice Trattoria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We decided to eat here because the previous evenings as we walked by all the tables were full of locals - great sign that it serves good food. The food is inexpensive and what we ordered satisfied us both. I had the risotto with sausage and saffron with a side salad which was very good. My wife had a veal steak with grilled vegetables and it was something I'll order next time we go. The tables around us were served food that I wanted to try as well. The menu has a nice and varied selection of local cuisine. The house wine was very good as well. The wait staff were very friendly and attentive. We will return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria di Cagnano also viewed

Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Trattoria di Cagnano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria di Cagnano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.