We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante La Grotta

Ristorante La Grotta
Localita' San Biagio, 15, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
0578 757607
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $52 - $79
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Opened till 1966, tuscan food, garden for summer time, romantic dinner.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have been living in Italy over a year and have had some pretty amazing meals. Lunch at La Grotta was one of the best we have had thus far. The location is just outside the village of Montepulciano right in front of a gorgeous church. It is tucked away but from the outside terrace you can see the top of the church. Quiet and unassuming, this restaurant was the perfect end to a lovely afternoon before heading back to Rome. The owner was attentive and friendly. The dishes were extraordinary. The pasta was cooked to perfection as was the secondi. Because the plates were simple (yet elegant), the flavors really came through. Just remember to save room for dessert! All I can say is that the two hour drive from Rome is worth it just for this amazing little place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    91
    24
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming--and wonderful meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

La Grotta is located outside the medieval town wall, part of the 16th C ensemble facing the Renaissance jewel of San Biagio, and as his meal unfolds the diner feels he has discovered a culinary diamond. We savored every course, enjoying a leisurely lunch in the company of a relative who lives in the town. The dining room is appointed with understated elegance, and the owner was pleased to share time and observations with us at the end of the meal. He had accommodated our arrival a quarter-hour after the 2:15 close of La Grotta's lunch hours, which we certainly appreciated.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowayton, Connecticut
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Perfection at the base of the hill.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We dined with friends who had sung its praises based on a previous visit and we couldn't have been more pleased. Each if our meals was a masterpiece to be savored and the cosy yet elegant setting made us want to linger for hours. We arrived in the midst of a thunderstorm and received two large candles on our departure so we could light our rooms where the power had gone out. Tremendous service!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Quality Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

What a treat to dine here. You are made to feel very special and the environment is charming and intimate. Fine linen and cutlery and a great place for a special meal. We chose the set Gastronomic meal which was 5 courses with little extra surprise additions. Food was high quality and beautifully presented. It was one of out top meals in our 2 weeks in Tuscany.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfetto!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

One of the best meals we have ever had! Located at the foot of Montepulciano next to Tempio di San Biagio, the ambience is warm yet historic. Service is impeccable. And the food...to die for! Pici with white truffles was succulent and earthy. Then Lamb Carre was tender and juicy with roasted vegetables to complement the meat! My husband had pasta with duck ragout, and then rabbit stewed in milk and rosemary. We finished up with Fig and Pear pie with ricotta ice cream! Absolutely fantastico!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante La Grotta also viewed

Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Sant'Albino, Montepulciano
 

Been to Ristorante La Grotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante La Grotta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.