We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food in Montepulciano” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante La Grotta

Ristorante La Grotta
Localita' San Biagio, 15, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
0578 757607
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $52 - $79
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Opened till 1966, tuscan food, garden for summer time, romantic dinner.
sao paulo
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very good food in Montepulciano”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The restaurant is in a very nice location from the V century. Great Service and very good food. Try the Bistecca a la Fiorentina with a glass of the traditional vino nobile di montepulciano.
Don´t skip the tasting of pecorino cheeses.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    91
    24
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

A wonderful experience, from the delicious food and wines to the setting and the ambiance ! Service was impeccable. And a visit to beautiful San Baggio before or after is a must. We climbed back to the village aftewards, and this was a perfect closure to our day!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

On the recommendation of our son, who had dined at La Grotta several years ago, we made reservations well in advance so as not to miss an opportuntiy to enjoy this delightful restaurant. It is a charming venue just outside the city walls of Montepulciano. We were warmly greeted and shown to our comfortable table in each of the two rooms on both nights we dined there.
The staff is professional and reserved.
We love fine dining experiences and found that this met our highest expectations.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Our Most Memorable Dining Experience in Italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

What a pleasant surprise Ristorante La Grotta turned out to be. We luckily found this restaurant because our driver/guide, Alessandro Cammilli, recommended it to us during our visit to Montepulciano. It is a little off the beaten path so you will not find it just walking through town.

The restaurant is very unassuming from the front facade. Upon entering you will discover a very elegant and well-appointed dining area. The service was top-notch from the moment we stepped in, we were treated like old friends. If the weather is nice make sure you reserve a table in the outdoor patio. It had the feel of being in someone's back yard.

Nevertheless, the real reason for coming here is the food. It is Tuscan-inspired food with a modern twist. Most restaurants have one or two dishes that really stand out but it seemed like everything we ordered that day was memorable. As you can see by the pictures, the dishes are not over the top in preparation but somehow the flavors just blow you away. We thought we might have been just pleasantly surprised because we didn't have such high expectations coming in; however, there was a table next to us that kept on saying the same thing about the dishes they were eating.

For a truly memorable dining experience, we could not recommend this restaurant more.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food & Wine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had a fabulous dinner at La Grotto! The restaurant is beautiful, the food was divine and the service was wonderful! We started with a zucchini and artichoke tarte and a fresh tomato, garlic, spinach pasta. Both dishes were outstanding but more beautiful food was to come.....lamb chops with potatoes, eggplant and red peppers and pork lion with coffee rub, delicious!!! Marvelous wine list! Dessert was a Sambuca parfait, absolutely the most interesting and delicious dessert and coffee ice cream with marscapone sauce. This restaurant should have a Michelin star!!!! Fabulous! And the manager even drove us back to our hotel! Wow! What a great experience for €120 for 2 people! Rivals our great restaurants in SF, California.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante La Grotta also viewed

Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Sant'Albino, Montepulciano
 

Been to Ristorante La Grotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante La Grotta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.