We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow, the service, the view and the room, A+++” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Locanda di San Francesco

Save Saved
You added La Locanda di San Francesco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Locanda di San Francesco
Piazza San Francesco 5, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 37 Montepulciano B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“wow, the service, the view and the room, A+++”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

When other bloggers or members write about how great , how wonderful or best hotel ever stayed in, they are not lying ! It is just as great as it can get. The room is great, the bed is comfortable, the breakfast area is elegant, the view looking out from the room is amazing. Of course Montepulciano does help, but overall, for the price you pay, you can more than you pay for. Only thing that may need an upgrade is the TV in the room, simply too small for this modern age. However, if you are in Montepulciano, you don't really need or want a TV.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear hk_asiaperal,
Thank you for your feeback and for the kind words you spent about our Locanda San Francesco.
Also, I really want to thank you for posting so many and so beautiful pictures of our property ( I shared also on Pisterest :-) )
I realy hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again at Locanda San Francesco !
Kindest regards

Cinzia Caporali
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    265
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
220
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is almost certainly my favorite hotel in the world. I can't say enough positive things about it: from the start, one of the proprietors, Cinzia, (very responsive on email) arranged for us to be picked up by taxi at a nearby train station. While checking us in, she brought us wine and snacks. Our room was beautiful (and clean, and with great amenities like Aveda products) and had spectacular views. The bathroom was enormous and the shower, spa-like. The hotel's attached wine bar was amazing-- we did a great tasting of Montepulciano wines, which included some snacks as well. I also enjoyed many Aperol spritzes there while chatting with the bartender. Cinzia also gave great recommendations for what to do and where to eat. Speaking of eating, the breakfast buffet was so complete and delicious. Montepulciano is a magical place... I can't imagine staying anywhere better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Erinmglenn,
I really woud like to thank you for your feedback and for the beautiful words you spent about us and our Locanda San Francesco !
I'm pleased you enjoyed the room and our wine bar "E lucevan le stelle", and hope you will consider again our Locanda in case you should come back to Montepulciano in the future.
With our best regards,

Cinzia Caporali
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

All the reviews are correct about this place..!! Views are AWESOME...!!! Rooms are just perfect, and Cinzia the owner is wonderful..such a great host. She really tries her best to make you feel welcome, and is great with helpful local knowledge.
The rooms are immaculate and breakfast is generous. The only negative thing I could comment on was the hallway did smell of cigaret smoke a little..not sure if another guest was smoking in there room.?
All in all this place is fantastic, gets a 10/10 from me!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Rebecca C,

Thank you for your kind review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Locanda San Francesco.
About the smell of smoke you mentioned, we take the occasion of your review to point out that all the property is strictly no smoking (we also reserve the right to charge a very high fee- Eur 200,00- to Guests who should smoke in the rooms).

I hope we will have the pleasure to host your again at Locanda San Francesco !
Kindest regards

Cinzia Caporali
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed here in July, 2011. Enough to simply confirm all that has been written. Montepulciano is a magical place, and I would not think of staying elsewhere. You are not only guests in Luca and Cinzia's hotel, but guests in their world that is Montepulciano. You go to a restaurant, mention their names, you always get a smile, and maybe even a story or two. You want to go somewhere? You don't go where you should go, you go where they would go. You are genuinely their guests. From the moment we stepped into the room and heard the high pitched sounds of the swallows circling outside, we felt transported to another world.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Traveler4691,

Thank you for the beautiful review !
Also, we really appreciate that, even if you staied with us some time ago, you dedicated part of your time in writing so kind words about our Locanda San Francesco.
Hoping we will have again the pleasure to have you as our Guests,
Kindest regards

Cinzia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Once again we found ourselves at this wonderful B&B and yes, the stars were brightly shining!
How happy we were to see Cinzia and Luca and how comfortable they made us feel from the start. A lovely glass of wine shared on the terrace with the most beautiful views rekindled our love affair with La Locanda di San Francesco. We stayed in the suite and the room could not have been more perfect. Cinzia has lovingly restored and maintained the charm of the historical building with all the modern amenities to make your stay luxurious and relaxing. The views from all windows are spectacular. The bathroom is spacious, clean and well stocked. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast every morning and then set out on our day with plenty of suggestions and directions from our hosts. In the evening we relaxed and recapped with a glass of wine and some snacks before dinner. The wine from Cinzia's family winery was delicious and we were able to purchase some bottles to bring home; however, we missed the view while enjoying the wine at home... not quite the same! The "stars that are shining" at this B&B are the generous, warm and charming hosts. Their love for the area, the locanda and their guests is felt throughout the property. They have attained such a nice balance between being attentive and helpful without ever being over bearing or intrusive. You could not ask for more. The town and surrounding areas give a great Tuscan experience and you can truly recharge and refresh here. We miss La Locanda and we miss Cinzia and Luca... we miss our life there and can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear 432travelers,
Thank you so much for choosing again our Locanda San Francesco for your stay in Montepulciano!
We appreciate enormously the feedback of our Guests, especially when they already staied with us in the past. Also, we love sharing with them our knowledge of the area, hoping they can live, when here, a true Tuscan experience. So, we are really pleased when they decide to come back a second time to Montepulciano.
We deeply thank you for writing a so kind review, and for the beautiful words you spent about us, our property and our winery Tenuta Valdipiatta.
Hoping we will have soon the pleasure to host you again,
Warmest regards

Cinzia and Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We all should be keeping quiet about this place and keeping it to ourselves. All i can say though is GO SOON! and couldn't recommend this place higher. This small boutique B&B/ Hotel accommodation in the fascinating ancient town of Montepulciano was perfect for our Italian Honeymoon.(Second timers). The room with a view (on both sides) over the Tuscan countryside is special optical treat looking as far as other walled towns in the distance and showing a perfect example of what the countryside has to offer.We can't forget to mention Cinzia and staff being casual yet extremely welcoming. One last thing the wine bar is the perfect venue for an afternoon/ pre dinner or after dinner drink or three.
Thanks again Lisa & Jeff.

We'll be back in the next few years (with friends) and here's hoping we can get in!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Lisa and Jeff,
Thank you again for choosing our property for your honeymoon, and for sharing with the community of TA your experience at Locanda San Francesco.
Also, we really appreciate you mentioned Locanda's staff : they are always welcoming with our Guests and pay a lot of attention to the quality of our service.
We look forward to welcome you again with your friends,
Warmest regards
Cinzia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waleska, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

we visited last February, 2012, and although off season and very cold and windy, the curving late night drive up the hill was MOST rewarding! Cinzia met us at the door and helped heave our heavy luggage up the stairs to our gorgeous room. At daybreak the next morning, I opened the window and "what to my wondering eyes should appear??" but the most absolutely gorgeous view of the countryside of Tuscan hills imaginable! I literally squealed with delight and frightened the birds perched on our window ledge!parking is directly in front of the hotel, which is beautifully situated on the very tip top hill of this romantic and charming winding village. It takes you back in time and totally relaxes you immediately! Our room and bath were simply amazing...gorgeous and comfortable!
Do not miss the little wine tour at Contucci Cantina right down the hill in center of town that has been in production for over 1,000 years!
Adamo will show you a nice tour and several tastings to help you choose which bottles you want to have at home waiting for you when you return! Contucci olive oil is the best we have ever tasted!
Prior to trip, do yourself a favor and rent Rick Steves tour of Montepulciano and surrounding areas, as you will witness the wine star "ADAMO", the rock star, charming Rick with his sparkling wit and heavy accent ( we understand very little Italian, however Adamo's pride and personality need no translation!) Be certain you tell him you saw him on Rick Steves show...this REALLY gets him going!
You can ship wine and olive oil from Contucci and ALSO Cinzia can suggest and ship wine to the U.S...we are heading back in March and staying an hour or so away, however, we will GO OUT OF OUR WAY to visit Cinzia and enjoy a glass of vino at her Wine Bar!
Do not miss this piece of paradise, as it is truly another world!
THANKS FOR ALL THE PERFECT MEMORIES, CINZIA...WE raise a toast to you almost daily! See you soon!
Bruce and Christi
Waleska, Georgia/ United States

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocandaSanFrancesco, Direttore at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Bruce and Christi,

I really thank you for your detailed and kind review and for mentioning, together with our rooms and the spectacular view, the service of shipping we can offer to Guests buying wine in our wine bar. As wine producer (my family runs Tenuta Valdipiatta), we have special rates in shipping wine to Europe or overseas,. Also, we are always very glad to assist our Guests in choosing, amongst our selection, the wine that can better fit with their personal taste.
I would be really very happy to meet you for a glass of wine at our "E lucevan le stelle" in your next trip to Tuscany.

Looking forward to see you again in Montepulciano,
Warmest regards
Cinzia Caporali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Locanda di San Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda di San Francesco

Address: Piazza San Francesco 5, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusivity of just four luxury bedrooms in a fourteenth century palazzo in the heart of the old part of Montepulciano. All the rooms have a breathtaking view over the Val d'Orcia and/or the Val di Chiana, and each of them is decorated individually and furnished with fine antiques from the family collection.Free wi-fi is provided in all the rooms and common areas, and free parking is available for Guests near the entrance of the property.On the ground floor, the jazzy Locanda's wine bar-bistrot "E lucevan le stelle", a perfect spot for lunch, dinner or an apéritif on its panoramic terrace, admiring the unforgettable sunsets on the Val D'Orcia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Splendia, Tingo, Prestigia, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your La Locanda di San Francesco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locanda Di San Francesco Hotel Montepulciano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Locanda di San Francesco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.