We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Words Can't Describe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Locanda di San Francesco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Locanda di San Francesco to your Saves list
La Locanda di San Francesco
Piazza San Francesco 5, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 41 Montepulciano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Words Can't Describe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Words can't describe the amazing views of the Tuscan countryside from our room in this fantastic B&B. the owner mete us a check in and was very kind and welcoming. Our room was large and very comfortable. Rates were very reasonable.

And words cannot describe the views of the Tuscan countryside from our room....simply spectacular.

Unfortunately, the wine bar attached to the B&B was closed for the season because it seemed like it would be an ideal spot for a glass of wine before or after dinner.

We absolutely loved Montepulciano and the same goes for Locanda San Francesco!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Aaron O,
Thank you for posting a so beautiful review and for sharing your experience at Locanda San Francesco with the community of TA !
I'm sorry you could not experience also our wine bar, whose opening in low season is limited to the lunch and dinner hours of the w-e days .
Hoping we will have the opportunity to welcome you again at Locanda San Francesco in a next occasion,

Kindest regards
Cinzia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
245
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alton, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

La Locanda di San Francesco offered everything you need for an incredible vacation. We stayed 5 nights in this lovely and comfortable B&B. Cinzia is an outstanding hostess, welcoming us with a glass of wine from her family vineyard as we registered. She provided us with not only a map of Multepulciano, but a list of her favorite restaurants and shops in town. She essentially acted as a concierge, making reservations or providing information about great day trips to take - including a map. The location is perfect, very near the center of Montepulciano with many excellent restaurants within walking distance. There are also many travel books in the library to view before venturing out for the day. The rooms were very nice, ours had a lovely view. The breakfast was wonderful as well - particularly the croissants filled with Nutella! There was also a variety of breads and pastries, cheeses, meats, fresh fruit, yogurt, granola, juices and fresh Italian coffee.

The attached wine bar was very nice as well. We enjoyed a relaxing evening with wine, pecorino cheese and meats after a long day of sightseeing - it was great to just be able to walk downstairs and have such a nice, intimate place at your disposal.

This was truly an exceptional place to stay and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Mark S.,
Thank you for the detailed review about your stay and for the kind words you spent about our Locanda San Francesco and its wine bar "E lucevan le stelle"!
I hope we will have again the pleasure to have you as our Guest in next occasion,
Kindest regards

Cinzia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

From the moment we arrived we where blown away be the beauty of this hotel and location. Everything was put together with perfection, hands down one of my best bed and breakfast locations I have ever stayed in. Our only hitch figuring out how to drive up the mountain... all I can say is to keep going up... if you find yourself driving down you are probably going the wrong direction. There is a reason why there are so many 5 star reviews... you will not be disappointed.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Nycgottago,
We really want to thank you for writing a so kind review about your stay.
Reading that our Guests enjoyed their experience in Montepulciano and that we met their expectations makes us extremely happy.
We hope we will have the pleasure to have you again as our Guests at Locanda San Francesco,

Kindest regards
Cinzia, Luca and Locanda's Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
des moines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Locanda San Francesco was a wonderful five day experience for us. Cinza greeted us warmly upon arrival and we felt so welcomed... the rooms are very comfortable with every amenity. Every morning the beautiful breakfast of fresh fruit, pastries, fresh yogurt, cheese, breads, cereals, and the best cappuccino in all of Italy was waiting for us. It was a beautiful beginning to exploring the gorgeous area of Montepulciano. The wine bar connected to the beautiful Inn was a nice way to relax after a long day. We felt very treated and enjoyed a beautiful setting. We highly recommend!

Room Tip: Our group had 3 rooms - and each one was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear KatieK,
Thank you for sharing with the community of TA your experience at la Locanda di San Francesco and its wine bar "E lucevan le stelle".
We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, and we really hope we will have the pleasure to host you again in a next occasion !
Kindest regards

Cinzia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Accomodation super, cozy, elegant and charming. Owner welcome guests and make us feel very confortable. Wine bar and restaurant is also marvelous. Great place to relax and get into the past of this little village called Montepulciano.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Luciana M,
We would like to thank you , together with our staff, for the beautiful words you spent about our Locanda and its wine bar "E lucevan le stelle".
Hoping to have the opportunity to welcome you again at Locanda San Francesco,
Warmest regards

Cinzia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayer, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Cinza and Luca were outstanding hosts. The wide selection for breakfast was perfect way to start each day. We picked up a wonderful Rome tour guide tip from a couple from Texas while eating one morning. We had a sick person in our group of 4 and Cinza arranged for a doctor to come onsite and spend an hour with that person, amazing, but just a small sample of how wonderful the hosts are. They can offer alternative places to checkout and visit and the wine bar is a great way to end the day. We slept wonderful in the beds and the views from the rooms; something we'll never forget. The only thing I regret was our 4-night stay wasn't longer. Thank you for helping make our first European trip so memorable; you have a wonderful place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear David S R,
Thank you for your time in writing a so nice review about our Locanda San Francesco!
We and our staff are eager to handle a special request and assist our Guests, even in situations that usually are not expected during a holiday, like in the case of the sick person in your group.
So we are especially pleased that you have beautiful memories of your stay, and we hope we will have again the pleasure to host you at Locanda San Francesco.
Kindest regards,

Cinzia and Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Everything about this place is perfect! Accommodations , food at wine bar, location, view, and most especially the owners. Loved it even more the second time around and can't wait to return again. Make La Locanda your base for visiting Montepulciano and the surrounding countryside. Our absolute favorite place to stay in all of Italy!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Storms12,

Thank you so much for choosing again our Locanda San Francesco for your second stay in Montepulciano, and for the kind words you spent about us.
We look forward to meeting you again in you next trip to Tuscany,
Warmest regards

Cinzia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Locanda di San Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda di San Francesco

Address: Piazza San Francesco 5, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusivity of just four luxury bedrooms in a fourteenth century palazzo in the heart of the old part of Montepulciano. All the rooms have a breathtaking view over the Val d'Orcia and/or the Val di Chiana, and each of them is decorated individually and furnished with fine antiques from the family collection.Free wi-fi is provided in all the rooms and common areas, and free parking is available for Guests near the entrance of the property.On the ground floor, the jazzy Locanda's wine bar-bistrot "E lucevan le stelle", a perfect spot for lunch, dinner or an apéritif on its panoramic terrace, admiring the unforgettable sunsets on the Val D'Orcia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Splendia, Agoda, Escapio, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your La Locanda di San Francesco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locanda Di San Francesco Hotel Montepulciano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Locanda di San Francesco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.