We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Villa Cicolina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Cicolina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Cicolina to your Saves list
Villa Cicolina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Provinciale 11, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Heavenly Villa Cicolina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Villa Cicolina is a lovely old villa with a beautifully preserved interior. Set in Tuscan countryside, rolling hills, vineyards and olive trees, the property features the villa set in heavenly gardens full of scented roses and little hidden pockets perfect for relaxing with a quiet drink. We even saw a tiny hummingbird drinking from the flowers. The infinity pool is phenomenal looking over the hills.

Our room was beautiful, clean, smelling of fresh garden roses which were in a vase near one of windows. Open the shutters and you look out over the beautiful gardens, the countryside and can see monte publicans on the hill in the distance, just amazing. The room was spacious and quaint with sloping wood beamed ceiling. The bed was of the European 2 beds pushed together and made up as a king which usually I don't like but I have to say the bed was super comfy and I slept really well, I love the bed! The bathroom is small but in keeping with the beautifully restored historical building and the shower head over the huge bath tub, while gentle in terms of water pressure, provided ample steady temperature hot water and was very relaxing.

Service at Villa Cicolina was very special. Alijah was there to welcome us when we arrived, driving up the long driveway bordered with cottage flowers. She was lovely and very helpful, showing us to our room, parking our car for us, taking our suitcases up 3flights of stairs to our room and organising coffees when we enquired where to get coffee as we were tired after our flight. By the way, villa cicolina coffee is superb! Aliyah was ready with suggestions for dinners nearby and sites to see which was tremendously helpful.

There is a little restaurant on site with a set menu on site opposite reception and we ate there, the food was delicious and good value, as was the wine. My only complaint is that I wish they had offered ice cream or cream with the delicious chocolate fondant at dessert. Service at dinner was efficient. Breakfast is a buffet and plentiful with cereals, juices, yoghurts, salami, prosciutto, cheese, breads, pastries, cakes, huge selection of delicious honeys, jams, fresh fruits and of course fabulous coffees made to order as you like. There is no hot component but there are eggs if you wish to boil them to your liking in the little boiler, very nice, and you don't need a hot breakfast with the ample spread of cold breakfast goodies.

I love Villa Cicolina with it's magical gardens, gorgeous location and comfy beds and hope we come back soon. Don't come here if you want cold, hi tech, minimalistic, modern five star hotel accom but if you want a wonderful stay that you will always treasure, in a gorgeous, beautifully maintained Tuscan villa looked after by Alijah and Sayed in those magical gardens within minutes drive of montepulciano, then you must stay at Villa Cicolina

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacicolina, Manager at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your beautiful feedback and for appreciating Villa Cicolina.

Thank you also for the detailed description of the villa and our services and for sharing it with all the TA community.

We are very proud of your beautiful description and we hope to seeing you soon back at Villa Cicolina.

Warm Regards,
Villa Cicolina's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    22
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
28
200
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Gorgeous setting, wonderful staff, a superb breakfast, our room was beautiful and the bed first rate. Loved this place and it exceeded expectation! The local towns are wonderful and you will not be disappointed by booking a room at the Villa Cicolina.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, Nj
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Villa Cicolina is a wonderful place to stay. Everyone is so nice and helpful. We stayed four four days and enjoyed every day. The breakfast was incredible, and the chef was so nice to make a vegetarian meal for me every night. I can't recommend this villa enough. Beautiful pool too. We plan on going back next year, hopefully for two weeks, we liked it that much.

Room Tip: We stayed on the very top floor. The room was very comfortable. The ceiling over the couch is a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacicolina, Manager at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Suzanne,

thank you very much for your beautiful feedback and for sharing IT with all the TA community.

We are very happy you enjoyed both the meal and the room.

We look forward for seeing you soon next year.

Warm Regards,
Villa Cicolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Wow, what an amazing experience. Villa cicolina is a postcard inside a dream inside the best wine that ever was (it's inception for the senses). The rooms here are beautiful (we stayed in two) with airy windows and stunning views of the grounds. There is a rustic, romantic vibe here that can't quite be explained, only felt.

The staff here was wonderful and so accommodating, charming, worldly, dedicated, precise... I could go on forever.

The breakfast and dinner service here is sophisticated and uncompromising. The food served is truly Tuscan and outstanding quality. I would highly recommend a cooking class with the in-house chef, he'll have you hand-rolling pici pasta in no time!

We loved our stay here and would suggest it to anyone looking for an ideal Tuscan experience.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacicolina, Manager at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your beautiful review and for sharing your experience with all the TA community.

thank you also for appreciating the food and the breakfast as we make a lot of effort to improve the quality on a daily basis.
Warm Regards,
All the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Our group of three spent two nights at this wonderful establishment and we thoroughly enjoyed the ambience of this special place. The staff were genuinely attentive, even if our communications at times in English were long drawn out conversations to try to get an understanding.
Our restaurant meal on the first night was disappointing in the first night but did not affect our complete impressions.
The grounds, facilities and staff attention could not be faulted and we would love to spend more time there just to sit around the pool and within the beautiful gardens maintained to perfection by Marcello.
We stayed in a small cottage separate to the main building which was perfect for us as we could enjoy the special vista with a bit of space.
It us about 3 km out if Montepulciano but a shuttle into. Montepulciano was easily arranged for a 5 Euro fee each way - very reasonable as we did not gave a car.
Ahmed suggested and organised a wonderful restaurant for us at les Cortes Medicaea.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacicolina, Owner at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your beautiful review and for sharing your experience with all the TA community.

We hope to seeing you soon at Villa Cicolina.

Warm Regards,
All the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Excellent place, with workers to leave your luggage to your room (apparently not so common in Italy) and with the best breakfast I had in all the country (and I stayed in eleven hotels!). The reception was without no one many times, but nothing to complain about.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacicolina, Manager at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Guests,

thank you for your feedback and for sharing it with al TA community.

We apreciate you loved our breakfast which actually is very large and comprehensive of sweet and salad foods.

We are sorry that you find sometimes the reception empty but we always have someone working at...maybe in that moments the guys were engaged in other activities.

Finally, we hope you would be able to be back at Villa Cicolina soon.

Regards,
Villa Cicolina staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is an absolutely beautiful hotel in a stunning location looking out onto Montepulciano. Our room was immaculate and full of Tuscan character, with incredible views of the surrounding area. Dinner in the restaurant was wonderfully romantic and we enjoyed fantastic food at a reasonable price. The weather during our stay meant we were unable to make use of the amazing pool and gardens as much as we would have liked but they looked fantastic all the same. I would definitely recommend this hotel, I'm sure we will be back to make use of the pool in the sunshine and soak up the amazing views.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacicolina, Owner at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for posting this wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor and for sharing it with all the community.

We are very proud you consider Villa Cicolina a wonderful romantic Villa and we hope to seeing you soon in Montepulciano.

Warms Regards,
All the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Cicolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cicolina

Address: Provinciale 11, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Montepulciano
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Cicolina 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Splendia and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Cicolina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Cicolina Hotel Montepulciano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Cicolina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.