We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly magical experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Cicolina

Save Saved
You added Villa Cicolina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Cicolina
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Provinciale 11, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 29 hotels in Montepulciano
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A truly magical experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Villa Cicolina is a beautiful 11 room villa set in the hills of Tuscany. The grounds and gardens are beautiful and the view is amazing. We had a gorgeous room that was spacious and charmingly furnished. The staff was attentive, available and very helpful. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. A waiter there by the name of Florian made our experience more enjoyable by his attention and service. The whole setting is relaxing and inviting. We stayed for four nights and loved it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacicolina, Front Office Manager at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Sherry G.

Thank you very much for your very sweet words about Villa Cicolina, we feel very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you soon.

All the best from Montepulciano

Villa Cicolina's Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    21
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
25
173
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

A very nice villa situated at the outskirt of Montepulciano at the tuscan province of Siena.
The hotel is a restorated villa.
It is charming with great view and quiet ambience. Room were beautiful, food excellent.
The staff is extraordinary- polite, explaining and helping.
The cars parking is out side the villa's ground.
I recommend coming here if you want to taste Toscana and have some quite and amazing time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacicolina, Front Office Manager at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your nice comment and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our property..

We look forward to welcoming you soon and we send you our best regards from Montepulciano.

Villa Cicolina's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Villa Cicolina is undoubtedly a gorgeous property, with beautiful gardens, a lovely pool and friendly staff. However it falls short of what it could easily be: an excellent property. Firstly, not all rooms are the same. We had two rooms, one on the top floor and one on the bottom (a suite). The top floor room was great: new, very big mattress, assortment of down and foam pillows, nice smell, chic decor. The bottom floor suite was very subpar: smelled a bit old and musty, with equally 'old' decor, an old mattress and pillows. Secondly, the staff is also hit or miss. On our first day we were greated by a very friendly and helpful german lady. We never saw her again as on the remaining days it was unclear who was manning the reception desk. It was mostly the owner I guess but he was not always to be found and you definitely lacked a sense of attentiveness in him. The cleaning and breakfast team were great though. Thirdly, breakfast was mediocre. The first day it seemed great, with a big selection of cakes and pastries. The second day we realized it was the same cakes as the day before. I think this property has much potential but unfortunately for the price I can't say it deserves the Very Good yet.

Room Tip: The Pozzo suite on the lower ground is not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacicolina, Front Office Manager at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear User,
Thank you for your review. We take in serious consideration the feedback of our clients and we will discuss with our staff the content of your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the property as well as the attitude of our staff.
The villa is dated back to the second half of the 16thcentury, this is why all rooms are different from each other; the top floor room has furniture dated back to the XVIII century while the suite has furniture of the XVI and the XVII centuries and all rooms are furnished at the same time(there is a huge difference between old and antique).
Villa Cicolina has a total staff of 10 people of which 3 people working at the reception. This is a large staff despite we have a very limited number of rooms(11) in order to assure the maximum attention to our guests. The German receptionist is working everyday here, on your arrival she welcomed you, on the following day, she was working from 08.00 AM to 03.30 PM (we wonder how couldn’t you see her again? ) – from 2.00 pm to 10.00 pm there was another Italian lady at the reception. The owner did not stay at the reception at all in these two days. You may have seen him around the villa because he is taking care of the function of the services with the staff.
You said that breakfast seems to be great in the first day, in the second day you changed your idea because you found the same cakes. You are right because we prepare alternatively every two day homemade cakes in order to have at least one fresh and new cake per day. So it is impossible that you find exactly the same cakes in the buffet (anyway we will check if something didn’t work that time).
Thank you again for your feedback and it would be a pleasure to us if you want to come again at Villa Cicolina.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband and I spent a wonderful week at Villa Cicolina in the Pozza Suite in September.
Many previous reviews have spoken of the outstanding quality, attention to detail and the presentation of Villa Cicolina, we totally agree with these comments.
Villa Cicolina is the most beautiful place to relax and spend some time as a base to explore the surrounding area.
However, what makes Villa Cicolina stand out is the fabulous staff. Alijah, Sayed and Daniela in reception. Florjan our outstanding waiter and daily travel advisor, Mimmo the chef who not only produced a fabulous four course meal each evening but also mouthwatering cakes for the breakfast table. If you have the opportunity a cooking class with Mimmo is highly recommended.
We had a great time assisting to prepare the meal and learning the art of pasta making with Sayed as our interpreter.
The gardens at the Villa are beautiful and highly maintained by the dedicated gardeners.
We are already planning a return trip to Italy and will certainly be returning to Villa Cicolina.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband and I had an amazing three days at Villa Cicolina. The staff was incredibly attentive. Sayed and Alijah were very helpful in scheduling winery tours and wine tasting for us as well as answering all of our questions about the town of Montepulciano. Florjan, another member of the hotel staff, even guided us to the vineyard after we had missed a turn and got lost! One of the highlights was the cooking class with Mimmo! The grounds are beautiful, the rooms comfortable and clean, and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

When traveling through Tuscany this Villa should absolutely be on your list if you love quiet breath taking views, old world charm and genuine detail to service which includes, fresh flowers in your room. If you are in a hurry loud or obnoxious this place is not for you! The grounds and facility would be perfect for an intimate wedding or rehearsal dinner! In fact during our stay there was a wedding reception and the staff did not ignore and even apologized for being a bit slow which was so not a problem in the least little bit. Our trip to Italy included busy expensive Venice, busy fun Artistic Florence, touristy yet phenomenal San Gimignano. Taking a break here before going to Busy Rome has solidified the perfect Italian vacation!! Ciao

Room Tip: All of the rooms are truly awesome! Each has its own charm. If you want total privacy you should cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I visited the Villa for a few days with friends. This is a beautiful setting that I highly recommend if your travels take you to Montepulciano. We stayed in the Pozza Suite which has two large rooms plus bathroom. The staff is more then generous. Grounds are well manicured and receive constant attention. Breakfast buffet is excellent.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Cicolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cicolina

Address: Provinciale 11, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Cicolina 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Villa Cicolina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Cicolina Hotel Montepulciano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Cicolina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.