We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Place to Enjoy Life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo San Gallo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Agriturismo San Gallo to your Saves list
Agriturismo San Gallo
Via delle Colombelle 7, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
seal beach,ca
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“The Perfect Place to Enjoy Life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

We have been to 4 agriturismos in Italy and loved them all, but San Gallo is where we always want to go back to again. Have you ever awaken in the morning to sound of hundreds of little bells tinkling from the sheep down in the pasture? Or walked down through a vineyard to a little brook? Or sat in a beautiful garden sipping the wine of San Gallo and gaze across to the hill-town of Montepulciano? For all of our fellow Americans...there is absolutely no connection between Gallo wineries in the US and San Gallo in Italy.

This past spring we were blessed to stay there during Easter. We had the privilege of joining the owners of San Gallo for the Easter service at a local monestary. There were about 96 local people and 4 out-of-towners, but they made us feel a part of their family. We had gone the day before and purchased locally everything for an Easter dinner and the four of us prepared a real Italian meal in both of our room's kitchenettes.

To find this Agriturismo can be a challenge the first time. The best way is to look it up on Google Earth and don't be afraid of the dirt/gravel roads. You really feel like you are in the country. We like everything about San Gallo and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

In our 2 weeks of travels in Rome and Tuscany there were two places we stayed that stood out and this was one of them. Spend a wonderful 3 nights here.
Location is about 1.5km down a (bumpy) unpaved road. the great thing about that is when you arrive you really feel that you've got away from the world. In the distance is a great view of Montepulciano and the church of San Biagio (a great building you get to drive past every time you come and go from San Gallo). We had the place to ourselves and were in the top floor suite with the large fireplace, cleverly hidden kitchen (in an armoire), big bedroom and a modern bathroom the size of some bedrooms we saw at other hotels.
We were greeted by the winery owner, Olimpia, her husband and young daughter. They were very helpful. Over the course of the stay we met her father and sister who were equally friendly and eager to share their knowledge of the area and the winery.
At night it is wonderful to look up and see a sky full of stars. It is very quiet, the beds are very comfortable and it was hard to get up in the morning. There is a small basket of jams, melba toast and coffee for breakfast. We bought in groceries from the store. There are several restaurants in the area. Driving up into Montepulciano (at least the end closest to San Gallo) is a test of gear changing, narrow lanes and switch backs but once you do it once you get the lie of the land.
Definitely recommend San Gallo.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

Agriturismo San Gallo may be the nicest place I've ever stayed! Our little group of friends rented three of their apartments for three nights, and we sure hated to leave. We had apartments 1, 2, and 3 on the ground floor of the old 14th century farmhouse, and we all loved the high beamed ceilings, thick stone walls, brick arches, and large bathrooms.

It's great to wake up in the moring and look up at the beautiful, 12-foot beamed ceiling! What a feeling of luxury!

The owner directed us to nearby markets where we bought supplies to cook breakfast and some evening meals. The kitchens were already stocked with milk, juice and butter when we arrived. There was also a nice basket of jellies and other supplies in each room. They even supplied the coffee for the espresso machines! We ate all our meals there outdoors. Each apartment comes with a nice patio, table and chairs.

I missed having Internet access, but appreciated the satellite TV with hundreds of channels, including several in English. It was interesting to also see TV from Slovakia, Oman, Bangladesh, and other exotic locations.

I didn't see any air conditioning available, but with the high ceilings and stone walls, the place always seemed cool enough, and the pool was great.

The owner's wife checked us in. She has great English skills and gave us plenty of restaurant recommendations and instructions about the facilities. Then her husband spoke up and, though his English isn't as good, his outgoing personality came through (perhaps strengthened by a few sips of his own brand of wine?) and he gave us another complete list of restaurant recommendations. We found out later that he's a lawyer.

He was there every morning and evening, adjusting the lawn sprinklers and watering his olive groves. The family apparently doesn't sleep on the property, so the office isn't always manned. They gave us their cell phone numbers in case we needed to contact them about anything. They also had us pay the full balance due upon arrival in case they weren't there to take our payment when we were ready to leave. That was fine with us, and they took our credit cards with no problem.

On our second day there we met their daughter, also a lawyer, with excellent English skills and she was happy to sell us more of their wine products (they gave us free sample bottles upon arrival).

I entered the agriturismo's street address into the GPS and the machine directed us right to their parking lot with no problem at all. There are also signs marking all the turns so it's pretty easy to find. It's down a pretty rough gravel road but our rental car managed it all just fine.

Everything else I could say about San Gallo has already been written in another review here, by dawn2274. You might check that out for more details.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2007

We stayed at SanGallo for 5 nights in early September. This place is fabulous. The owners greeted us with a bottle of their wine, and booked the local resturant for us. They couldn't do enough to help during our stay there - we even had towels for the pool which is a rarity. We booked the luxury apartment which was gorgeous - four poster bed, lovely bathroom, and big lounge/kitchen (very cleverly hidden in a large wardrobe!). Lovely balcony with a view out to Montepulciano. The pool area was gorgeous - lovely sunloungers and a nice shady area. There are also really lovely walks around their vineyards to their lake.
The walk to Montepulciano is pretty tough going (especially in the heat - about 40 mins and uphill). By car its about 5 mins. There is a lovely resturant nearby though called 'La Grotto' which was some of the best food we've ever had in italy. We'd go back there tomorrow if we could!

  • Liked — Stunning views
  • Disliked — Long walk into Montepulciano
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2007

Agriturismo SanGallo is one of those great finds - beautiful setting, lovely accomodations, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful staff. A family-owned and operated vineyard, Agriturismo SanGallo was completely rebuilt a few years ago. My husband and I had a two room suite (for 110E/night) which was huge and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was modern with all the amenities and the bedroom had a king-sized bed (distinctly unusual for much of Europe's hotels). We were given a lovely breakfast basket, and the suite is set up for cooking (and thus longer stays) with a refrigerator and cooktop in the dining/anteroom.
There is a very nice pool and mountain bikes for use of the guests (without charge). The only negatives (depending on your perspective) are that there is no internet access (except in town) and the Agriturismo can be difficult to find on one's own. We stopped at the Montepulciano information center and they were able to give us excellent directions (google directions were just not useful). I would recommend doing this instead of driving around looking for street signs!
Overall, I would stay here again in a heartbeat - and I could easily see basing a Tuscan vacation out of this locale. It's only about 1 and 1/2 hours from Rome Central (by train), and an hour from Florence by car. Montepulciano itself is charming and quiet with some lovely sites to visit.

  • Liked — Beautiful accomodations, peaceful setting
  • Disliked — No internet
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2005

What a wonderful surprise--Agriturismo SanGallo in beautiful Tuscany was absolutely amazing--the highlight of our two-week trip to Italy!

Upon arriving, we were greeted by the owner's daughter who showed us our apartment-style room. Near the front there was a relatively large room, half set up with a dining table and kitchen amenities hidden in an armoire (stove, sink, small refrigerator, glasses, utensils), while the other half had a small TV, fireplace, and a small sofa. The main bedroom was off of this room containing a beautiful four-poster bed, with a large completely renovated bathroom. The whole apartment was clean and quaint, and very reasonably priced. We paid just 130 Euro per night during the beginning of peak season. Maids do not come in to clean everyday and breakfast is not served, but that is just the nature of the lodgings. There are only a handful of rooms available to rent on the property.

The staff was wonderful--always accommodating, helpful and friendly and spoke English. They allowed us to use their computer/internet free of charge and were helpful in sending a fax back to the U.S.

The grounds are beautiful, with bright flowers and striking green grass. The backside of the rooms showcases the vineyards, which you can even walk through along a dirt trail. Very beautiful and peaceful! This farm makes its own wine and olive oil, which you can purchase for reasonable prices, 4 Euro a bottle for the wine, and 10 Euro for the olive oil. We were even given a complementary bottle of wine in our room upon arrival, which was delicious. In the opposite direction of the vineyards you can see the beautiful hilltop town of Montepulciano and the San Biagio church. This gorgeous view could also be seen from our room. If you want to step outside of your room to see the views and breathe some fresh air, you will find tables and chairs scattered throughout the grounds for your convenience and relaxation. Friendly family dogs make you feel at home (Oliver was my favorite), and during our stay we were able to see newborn ducklings.
For those visiting in June and through the summer there is also a pool just a few feet away.

I would highly recommend Agriturismo SanGallo if you are looking for a place to stay in Tuscany. It is only a 5 minute drive into town (you would need a car, parking is available free of charge) and you are very close to other small villages such as Pienza, Monticchiello, Bagno Bignoni (baths), etc. Everywhere you look there is a picture-perfect view.

They have bikes available to rent free of charge, although on first glance of the steep dirt road, we decided against it. However, as more proof of how nice the staff is, we noticed a vespa (scooter) in the parking lot and asked if it was for rent too. The daughter said that it was her father's personal vehicle, but after speaking with him, they were even going to allow us to rent it for a low set price, although we eventually decided against it in favor of other plans.

Nevertheless, we could not have been more delighted with the friendly service and beautiful surroundings. We will be back and have already recommended it to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agriturismo San Gallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo San Gallo

Address: Via delle Colombelle 7, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Agriturismo San Gallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo San Gallo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.