We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good: nice, clean, warm, peaceful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Girasole B&B

Il Girasole B&B
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Il Girasole B&B to your Saves list
Il Girasole B&B
Strada Statale per Pienza 38, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 39 Montepulciano B&B and Inns
Milano
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good: nice, clean, warm, peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Looks like new, very clean, with large room and bathroom, well heated (we were there in winter time) and daily cleaned. Wonderful view from every side.
Good position (clearly visible on googlemap 43.08549,11.76347) on a hill 1 km from Montepulciano, advisable to have a car or a bike. For a navigatyor: 43.086771,11.764414 is the access on the main road, that in the night is not immediately visible).
Italian breakfast with coffee, cappuccino milk and delicious home made cakes. Biscuits jam ham cheese etc. also available.
The rooms are at the first floor with a wide stair (no elevator). Free wi-fi. No swiming pool

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mid Wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

After a great deal of difficulty, finally found Il Girasole. We booked the ground floor 'Apartment' for 5 nights, having read rave reviews about views from balconies of the B&B rooms. I was horrified when we entered the apartment - it was like going back in time! The 'kitchen' area was ancient, with a cooker that wobbled and a small fridge that must have been found at the local dump! There was also a small camp bed IN THE KITCHEN! The fittings and furniture were very poor quality and worn. The bedroom was large, but the mattress was in need of some filling. As the apartment was on ground floor there was no balcony and not even a proper patio area - just a bit of rough ground (with a load of washing on the line). My husband and I expressed our disappointment and were then shown a couple of first floor B&B bedrooms with balcony which were available at a similar price. These looked EXCELLENT, plenty of space and good quality furniture. However, we had brought food with us to cook, and did not want breakfast each morning. La Senora was WONDERFUL. She let us leave our luggage in the apartment and our food in the fridge whilst we went in to the town to the Tourist Info Office where they found us a beautiful Agroturismo apartment with shared swimming pool (fantastic spot). La Senora at Il Girasole did not charge us for so much as one night which was generous. Superb hospitality, just a totally rubbish so-called apartment. Suggest you stay in upper balcony rooms with views.

Room Tip: Saw Room No 1 with balcony. Seemed very nice, with good view toward Montepulciano. Road noise bad, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Located close enough to Montepulciano (5 min drive), this B&B has clean rooms and great views.
A few things to be aware of:
1) the owners speak almost no english at all, though they have phone access to others who do
2) if you need to cook, make sure to book one of the apts and not just a room-- the price is the same
3) There is no a/c, which in summer could be an issue, even at night...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Booked this and was pleasantly surprised - great location close to town -big room with comfortable bed and modern bathroom with balcony overlooking vineyard- very clean

Owner doesn't speak English but hand signals work and they are very friendly and accommodating

Made gesture that hair dryer was needed and when we returned from town there was one in the room

Breakfast was simple meats cheese bread and the price was right

Don't hesitate if your looking for clean comfortable and friendly -

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARIS
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in Il Girasole and were very pleased to be out of the city of Montepulciano and view it from our window. Everything was of good value for a reasonable price for the region. The breakfast was wonderful with homemade pastries everyday (the smell of the cooking every evening was a good sign).
Just keep in mind that you need a car to get there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

This bed and breakfast is situated in the hills, about five minutes by car from historic Montepulciano. It is surrounded by vineyards and olive trees, still harvested by the B&B's owners, who appear to be an older Italian couple. Upon our arrival, we enjoyed watching the sun set over the Tuscan hills with a glow on the walls of distant Montepulciano. (The owners have set up chairs and tables around their garden, presumably for this reason.)

There appears to be four rooms to the B&B, all on the second floor and having personal balconies and private bathrooms. The owners of the B&B stay in a separate building, only a few yards from the B&B. There was no air conditioning (not sure if they have it), but we enjoyed having the windows to the balcony open. The outside air was cool and we were awaken by the sun and distant roosters. This added to the overall experience of the B&B we enjoy that you don't get when you stay at a hotel. The rooms were clean, however the floors and walls are a bit thin. Breakfast was decent and is served by one of the owners.

Although neither owner speaks ANY English, this was not a problem. And of course, be prepared to pay in cash, as many B&B's in the Italian countryside are not equipped to accept credit cards. I have been told that some B&B's will give you discounted rates if you pay in cash as opposed to card, but I did not experience this.

I would stay here again as this is a no frills, basic B&B at a fantastic rate in a beautiful area.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

Nice B & B just outside of Montepulciano with nice views of Olive Trees and of the Town from the bedroom balcony. The owner was extremely nice with limited english. The rooms were big, nice tile and furniture, big clean, new bathrooms. It was quiet, but there was only one other couple there for the night (week night). Breakfast was more than plenty with cereals, fresh and packaged pastries, meat and cheese, yogurt, juice and coffee. Would recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Girasole B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Girasole B&B

Address: Strada Statale per Pienza 38, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Il Girasole B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Girasole Hotel Montepulciano
Il Girasole Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Girasole B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.