We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful, family run place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel I Due Cigni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel I Due Cigni to your Saves list
Hotel I Due Cigni
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Del Cipresso 2 S Albino, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Santa Barbara
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Helpful, family run place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed at Hotel I Due Cigni in September 2014 and we can't say enough about how enjoyable they made our experience. Everyone there is part of the same family and work so hard, day and night, to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable, with great knowledge of the area offering outstanding advice on locations to visit, restaurants, etc. We appreciate a non-hotel chain and more personal accommodation experience and this was definitely it. This won't be the Hilton or Four Seasons, but who wants that in Tuscany. Great location, access to a small town that is close to all the Hill towns. Better to have a rental car for this area of Italy.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and clean and well kept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    93
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
34
184
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

This hotel is a bit outside of montepulciano, but easy to get to by car. Also great location to visit the thermal baths & other towns nearby like chianciano and pienza. Very nice owners, clean/modern rooms and if you want to eat dinner there just tell them in the morning. If not there is a fantastic restaurant a block away called 3 stelle...and a delicious sandwich place called la botega matta. Overall, perfect place to stay if you are looking for a base to visit this part of tuscany.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Due Cigni is the BEST! Simoneta and her sons Matteo and Niccolo are concerned only for your perfect stay! They are so nice and friendly and helpful! The Hotel is SPOTLESS! The entry lobby and the lounge area and the dining room are so clean and shining. The rooms are very nice and clean and fresh. They are nicely furnished and the bathrooms are great too! The breakfast is quite nice with delicious cakes that are freshly baked by Matteo! There is plenty of coffee and juice and cereals and fresh fruit and meats. Due Cigni is so great that me and my family stayed there twice in two months! We look forward to staying with Simoneta and Matteo and Niccolo next year! It is a perfect location for day trips to other parts of Tuscany.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Overall, the hotel is nice. The rooms are very decent and clean. The hotel is run by a family and they are all helpful and friendly. Breakfast is a little below italian average.
The hotel is not really in Montepulciano- it is 10 minutes drive from the town. I'd recommend staying within the town if possible.
However, if you want a quiet place for a decent price, this hotel is definitely a fair choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I don't have much to add, as everyone's reviews are more than accurate! I do agree with TQtony- there was a lack of restaurants walking distance from the hotel! This was an absolutely perfect base point for exploring. It was comfortable and quite modern inside. Our room was lovely and comfortable with a balcony. We were able to explore Montepulciano, Montalcino, Pienza and many other smaller towns with ease- Montalcino was about a 40 minute drive- easy to do as the scenery driving was magnificent! Thank you again of a lovely stay!!!! We would DEFINITELY return!

Room Tip: From the pictures, the rooms are definitely accurate- we stayed in 204 which was perfect for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Every word of praise in previous reviews is absolutely true so there is not very much to add.
We spent two weeks in Tuscany, staying in 5 hotels and this was certainly our best experience, all down to the mother and her two sons Matteo and Niccolo, who are all so helpful and friendly.

The only downside is the lack of choice of eating places within walking distance for an evening meal. However the Tre Stelle restaurant just around the corner was an excellent choice to avoid the (short) drive into Montepulciano.

The location is perfect as a base for touring Tuscany, with Montepulciano, Pienza, San Quirico d'Orcia, Monticchiello, Montalcino, Siena & Cortona all within easy driving distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed here for three nights, using it as a base to explore the tuscan countryside. The hotel had everything we needed- very helpful staff (charming mother and son team); continental breakfast buffet; ample free parking which can be rare in smaller towns in Tuscany; and was only a five minute drive to Montepulciano, and numerous wineries in the region.
The rooms were very clean, and ours had a small balcony, which was nice.
We didn't take up the offer, but when staying at the hotel you have access to the local swimming pool for no charge.
Would also recommend the restaurant around the corner for dinner- Tre Stelle.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel I Due Cigni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel I Due Cigni

Address: Via Del Cipresso 2 S Albino, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel I Due Cigni 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel I Due Cigni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
i Due Cigni Montepulciano
i Due Cigni Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel I Due Cigni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.