We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We booked for two nights, stayed for five!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel I Due Cigni

Save Saved
You added Hotel I Due Cigni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel I Due Cigni
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Del Cipresso 2 S Albino, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“We booked for two nights, stayed for five!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Every word of praise in previous reviews is absolutely true so there is not very much to add.
We spent two weeks in Tuscany, staying in 5 hotels and this was certainly our best experience, all down to the mother and her two sons Matteo and Niccolo, who are all so helpful and friendly.

The only downside is the lack of choice of eating places within walking distance for an evening meal. However the Tre Stelle restaurant just around the corner was an excellent choice to avoid the (short) drive into Montepulciano.

The location is perfect as a base for touring Tuscany, with Montepulciano, Pienza, San Quirico d'Orcia, Monticchiello, Montalcino, Siena & Cortona all within easy driving distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    83
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
161
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed here for three nights, using it as a base to explore the tuscan countryside. The hotel had everything we needed- very helpful staff (charming mother and son team); continental breakfast buffet; ample free parking which can be rare in smaller towns in Tuscany; and was only a five minute drive to Montepulciano, and numerous wineries in the region.
The rooms were very clean, and ours had a small balcony, which was nice.
We didn't take up the offer, but when staying at the hotel you have access to the local swimming pool for no charge.
Would also recommend the restaurant around the corner for dinner- Tre Stelle.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We couldn't have asked for a better stay than the night we spent here. From the moment we arrived, the owners went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. They recommended a delicious restaurant right around the corner and also provided us a map and advise about getting to and parking in Montepulciano. The room was clean and comfortable. We had a cute, little balcony which was nice for enjoying the sunrise. The breakfast was good, and the owners made sure we had everything we needed. Plenty of free parking. We would definitely recommend spending a night or two here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

This is one of those places where there's nothing that goes wrong, but even though nothing is excellent and "the best", in the end it's the little things that move to the top.

So, in order:
- hard to find (whatever)
- friendliest staff we've had in a very long time (and a very helpful son, which has been rare this trip)
- the "superpizzeria" which is just down the street just happened to have 3 Christmas parties whine we went for dinner, which made good food even better
- comfortable bed
- close enough to all areas around
- quiet


Thanks for such a lovely 2 night stay!!! We will recommend to friends.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had a wonderful experience staying here in late September 2013. The owners Mat and his mother are very informative and warmly welcoming us. The room is clean, spacious and very comfortable. The breakfast is also excellent. We definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

family run by Mother and her Son, awesome family. I can't say enough of the two of them, so helpful and great suggestions. GreaT VALUE , very clean, friendly, felt like home only somebody else did all the work. I would revisit.

Room Tip: Not necessary we did not stay for the view. We had a car to visit all the cities. Very well priced a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I booked 3 rooms for myself and friends in September. Even before we arrived, their help in finding a transfer to Florence airport was outstanding. From the warm greetings of Matteo and his Mom to their help with any request was the best. The service at the lovely breakfast buffet and the home cooked dinner was great. They treated us like family.
The rooms were very clean, comfortable and plenty of room. What a great value for a nice room with free parking and breakfast.
The location is a great choice for car travel in the Tuscan hill towns.
Thanks to Matteo and Simonetta for making our stay" bellisimo".

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel I Due Cigni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel I Due Cigni

Address: Via Del Cipresso 2 S Albino, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel I Due Cigni 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel I Due Cigni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
i Due Cigni Montepulciano
i Due Cigni Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel I Due Cigni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.