We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific experience and value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel I Due Cigni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel I Due Cigni to your Saves list
Hotel I Due Cigni
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Del Cipresso 2 S Albino, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrific experience and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I booked 3 rooms for myself and friends in September. Even before we arrived, their help in finding a transfer to Florence airport was outstanding. From the warm greetings of Matteo and his Mom to their help with any request was the best. The service at the lovely breakfast buffet and the home cooked dinner was great. They treated us like family.
The rooms were very clean, comfortable and plenty of room. What a great value for a nice room with free parking and breakfast.
The location is a great choice for car travel in the Tuscan hill towns.
Thanks to Matteo and Simonetta for making our stay" bellisimo".

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fadanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We were warmly welcomed by the owner and her son. We stayed there for two nights. Since we had a car, the location was great for touring. They suggest we tour a little winery in the village of Montefollonico, which turned out to be a GREAT find! The restaurant next door had excellent food for a very good price. The breakfast was what I have been experiencing at other similar hotels. Hotel very clean with and the mother and son were great.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mchael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were a family of four traveling to Tuscany. This was a great place, probably one of the best hotels we stayed in Tuscany. The owner a wonderful lady, welcomed up and gave two rooms for the night. She also very well informed, gave a great map and of the city.
We like the fact that the hotel was outside of the city which made parking a lot easier.
There is a small grocery store 5 minutes away, and a pizza place next door which had wonderful pizza.
The rooms were very modern, hot water readily available and next morning breakfast was also wonderful.
I would definitely go back and stay here the next time I go.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ash p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

A hotel recently reformed, clean, but I think a littel bit expensive, quite normal in Italy. The hotel is located near to Montepulciano, good place place to visit the area. The staff is very nice. If you are looking for a hotel for a couple of days, could be a good choice.

Room Tip: Be careful, the twin beds of the bedrooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vfelipet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
324 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Not actually in Montepulciano, it is Sant Albino, about 5km away, midway between Montepulciano and Chianciano Terme. Easy to find in a side street off the main road through the village. The village itself is an uninspiring suburb type place but is centrally located for a number of excellent Italian towns nearby. A modern style hotel, rooms with small balconies, the views aren’t impressive but it is somewhere to sit in the open air if you wish. Rooms are spotlessly clean with usual amenities of wifi, tv with one or two English channels, bathroom toiletries etc. Breakfast was normal hotel buffet choice of cereals, cold meats and cheeses, fruits, a range of breads and cakes and tea and coffee. Evening meal choices are the hotel or a neighbouring hotel 100 metres away if you don’t have a car, otherwise several restaurants a couple of km on the roads in either direction to Montepulciano and Chianciano Terme. A cost effective choice in a pleasant modern family hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KS&HC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This small family run hotel is very modern, with elevator and limited off street parking although plenty of free on street parking. We never had a problem securing one of the three private off street parking and we were there 3 nights. You need a car to visit the nearby Tuscan towns and they were easy to get to. The closest one, Montepulciano was about 5 minutes away and Monticchiello, San Quirico d' Orcia and Pienza are about 15-20 minutes beautiful country drives away. We saw all 4 in one day with the help of one of the owner's sons who spoke perfect English. On the second day we visited Cortona which was about 45 minutes away. After seeing the DVD movie Under the Tuscan Sun we had to visit Cortona and try to find Author Frances Mayes' Villa Bramasole, which we found with some locals' help. Also the town is worth the almost full day that we spent there.

The included breakfast at the hotel was varied and plentiful and they also cooked an evening meal for those guests that wanted to eat there. There were a couple of local restaurants, one about a block away, and the other a short 2-3 minute drive away which were very good. You could also drive to Montepulciano for an evening meal.

Overall the location, friendliness, cleanliness and helpfulness of the owners makes this hotel an ideal and inexpensive option to staying inside one of the towns and using it as your base for visiting the mentioned Tuscan towns and maybe others nearby. We highly recommend it and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edgar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Yes, this hotel is located a 5-10 minute drive from Montepulciano, so you need to have a car for this place to be worth it. But assuming you do your homework and know that – this place is an absolute steal for the summer in Italy. Clean room with some modern furnishings, plus a nice terrace at least in our room, fast Wi-Fi, free parking, a good breakfast, friendly staff. Our stay would have probably been quiet as can be had it not been for a bikers and wine soiree a few blocks away…apparently bikers like wine AND heavy metal music? Anyway, not the hotel’s fault. There was nothing to complain about during our stay – I would certainly return.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 120, which had a lovely terrace providing great sunlight.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CUBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#7 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
3.1 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#2 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tre Stelle
Hotel Tre Stelle
#12 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#5 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Terrazza di Montepulciano
La Terrazza di Montepulciano
#11 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
3.3 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#4 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel I Due Cigni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel I Due Cigni

Address: Via Del Cipresso 2 S Albino, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel I Due Cigni 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel I Due Cigni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
i Due Cigni Montepulciano
i Due Cigni Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing