We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais San Bruno

Save Saved
You added Relais San Bruno to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Relais San Bruno
Via Di Pescaia 5 / 7, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 39 Montepulciano B&B and Inns
Bellbrook, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Heaven on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here last fall. It was the latter part of a wonderful trip through Tuscany, and an absolute highlight. Everything, lodging, grounds, location, views, food, and especially the staff and owner Alberto's wonderful friendly hospitality made this visit one we will never forget. We are planning to return for a longer visit. Andy and Helen Franko

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanbruno, Direttore at Relais San Bruno, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Andy and Helen,

Thanks for your nice review!!
I hope to see you again this season at Relais San Bruno!!

Wish you a great Summer

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    3
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
110
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My wife and I spent five nights recently at the Relais San Bruno and we loved every minute of it. The property is pristine and gorgeous. Great setting, terrific food, and expert local recommendations. A short walk up the road and you will be in La Grotta, an outstanding restaurant at the base of the hill the town sits atop. Alberto made us feel like family from the moment we arrived, and went well beyond our expectations. He directed us to terrific restaurants all over Tuscany, suggested towns to visit and the most scenic roads to take. At one point during our stay, one of us got sick just as the pharmacy was closing, and he dropped everything, ran to his car, and went to the pharmacy to get our needed medication. I can't possibly recommend this beautiful property and lovely people highly enough. Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our host Alberto Pavoncello and his staff made our visit a wonderful experience. The Relais looks out for one's every need and regularly double-checked to make sure that we were enjoying the best that the region had to offer. Alberto (38) had attended law school in NYC and was a charming host who provided all the fine touches. The rooms were sizable and tastefully appointed with a huge stock of top-end toiletries.

We were greeted with a glass of fine wine whenever we stopped into the common room, and we didn't have to lift a finger for bag hauling or any other need. The included breakfasts were unbelievable--a half dozen types of cakes, as well as virtually anything else one could thing of. Our fellow travelers in the ten or so rooms were cosmopolitan and friendly. The view up the mountain to the old town of Montepulciano was exquisite, as was the closer perspective of the church of San Bruno, a perfectly proportioned example of 1600s ecclesiastical architecture. The restaurants recommended by Alberto were top flight in every respect. The 12 acre property with small vineyard provided a relaxing surrounding that added to the ambiance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

That's it - we did NOT want to leave. Which is one of the ways we gauge a hotel/resort.

The location of this special hotel is spectacular as you sit in one of the many hammocks looking up at the city of Montepulciano you feel completely removed from the world. It is a multi-acre site with very few rooms so you can get "away" from everything and everyone without leaving the property.

Romance, relaxation or (why were were there) a respite from long hiking days... all fit for this property.

Our room, was large, with a sitting area and the bathrooms were large with shelving to put your travel goods. (a nice change for Italy).

We ate breakfast every day and it was typical european (only with the addition of eggs). The special part was their gluten free choices (we warned them in advance).

We also arranged a special diner on the property for us and our friends and the BBQ was out of this world (I think I am still full this many weeks past :) )

Great spot, will be returning for longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights as a jump of point to explore Tuscany. We were welcome with a glass of wine, given the lay of the land, and spent the next few days in heaven. The room is darling, the service is great, and the grounds are just beautiful. At night you can see so many stars (and the Milky Way!). We were sent to La Grotta for dinner and can't say enough good things about this recommendation. We will be coming back but next time for at least a week.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Wonderful from the get go. Alberto and his lovely, efficient staff greeted us at our car in the parking lot. What a warm welcome! The property is beautiful and immaculately maintained. Only 8 rooms. Very quiet, very private in the valley of Montepulciano. We could see the hilltop town from our window. Delicious breakfast each morning with traditional baked goods prepared by Luciana. There is a beautiful pool and if you care to burn off some of the Tuscan calories you may use one of the outdoor treadmills that overlook the tuscan hills!! (pinch me!) We were incredibly comfortable at Relais San Bruno and with any luck will return in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed here with my fiancee back in the end of May, we wanted somewhere not too far from Montepulciano, but yet secluded with an Tuscan setting. Relais San Bruno really doesn't disappoint. As soon as we drove into the grounds we lit up, the grounds are beautiful, the staff welcomed us immediately with a glass of wine and we immediately felt relaxed and in holiday-mode. The accommodation is really excellent and well maintained. They have a swimming pool area which is as nice as it looks in the photos (a rare thing) and Alberto and his staff were incredibly helpful and were determined to ensure our stay was great, organising a wine tour for us and giving us excellent restaurant recommendations and suggestions for day trips, all of which were spot on.

As many reviews have said, you just cannot go wrong with booking a stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaisrsb, Proprietario at Relais San Bruno, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thanks for this great Review.
A big CIAO from all the Staff

Alberto Lucia Mary Francisco & Angelina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais San Bruno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais San Bruno

Address: Via Di Pescaia 5 / 7, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais San Bruno is a small Boutique Hotel just outside the walls of Montepulciano. With a stunning view of the San Biagio Cathedral and of all Montepulciano Relais San Bruno has the perfect setting for a Tuscan Vacation in a relaxing enviroment. We are only 20 minutes away from the City center of Montepulciano. Breakfast with home made products is offered in our "green house" Intenet wi fi covers all the property and for more Info we created a dedicate APP on Itunes to download for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Splendia and Odigeo so you can book your Relais San Bruno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais San Bruno Hotel Montepulciano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais San Bruno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.