We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than we anticipated!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Ortaglia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Relais Ortaglia to your Saves list
Relais Ortaglia
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Strada per Pienza N. 29, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 39 Montepulciano B&B and Inns
Chicopee, Massachusetts
1 review
“Even better than we anticipated!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our stay at the Relais Ortaglia was outstanding! The grounds are well-kept, peaceful and beautiful with a gorgeous pool and fantastic views. The rooms have all the necessary amenities while still maintaining all of the old world charm we were looking for, but most importantly they are very clean. Ours had its own private balcony on which we could sit to watch the gorgeous sunsets.There was also a lovely terrace overlooking the rolling hills and vineyards, which was a perfect place to end the night with a glass of wine in hand.

The villa is situated very close to the town of Montepulciano - just a five minute drive - which is a very picturesque, quaint and charming town perched on the edge of a hill. The is plenty to do and see there, and the restaurants we ate at were superb. Not to miss is a wine cellar located about three stories down below street level (in a cave). The owner gives free wine tastings, too!

Terenzio and Mara are friendly, speak English well, and are very helpful. Every morning Terenzio took time to give us detailed directions for us to tour the region, and had many great suggestions for what to see and do, and even where to eat when we got there. We took a cooking class the last evening we were there, with wines served from Terenzio's own vineyards. The food was fresh and delicious, and I highly recomend the cooking class if you are at all interested in good, fresh food cooked in a true Tuscan kitchen with awesome hosts.

I would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terenzio45, Proprietario at Relais Ortaglia, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Kathy,
thank you very much for your comments about your stay at the Relais Ortaglia. I am very happy that you have selected my house for your vacations in Montepulciano. Thank you very much for the compliments which make us very happy and motivated to do always our best to please our gusts/friends. I wish you all the best.
terenzio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
49
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Ortaglia was perfect for our 6 night Tuscan stay in May this year. Located just outside one of Tuscany's favourite (but not yet over-run with tourists) hill towns, Montepulciano itself is breath-taking. It has a history, presence and charm that just can't be missed. The weather was unseasonably freezing for May, but when we arrived at Ortaglia, our host, Terenzio's warmth made it easy to forget the cold and the gray. In fact Terenzio welcomed us like family. Along with three other couples, we toured some of the region with Terenzio as our guide on our second day and what can I say other than we laughed, marvelled at monuments, ate and drank (ohhh, the wine) like never before. Ortaglia's breakfasts were so memorable, I even took a photo of beautiful Illy at the breakfast table she set (with love) for us every morning. This place is charming, romantic, warm, welcoming and brilliantly located (especially if you have a car and are using it as a base to explore). We even had one day of sensational warmth and spent it by the pool! Yes, they have a pool! We'll have to return in summer next time. Oh and it was pristinely clean with super comfortable beds.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife Hirae and I spent a fine June week at Ortaglia enjoying the warm hospitality of Terenzio and his staff. On our first evening they prepared a barbeque feast for six guests including ourselves and we truly felt as though we were guests in their own home. We samples some of Ortaglio's fine wines including its Vino Nobile. The following day Terenzio took us on a minibus tour of some of his favourite sites in the region including Bagno Vignoni; the beautiful Romanesque Abbey San Antimo where we caught the monks Gregorian chant; S. Quirico d'Ocia; Pienza; an amazing lunch a his favourite spo; and a private tasting visit to a winery in Montalcino. Terenzio is a very informed guide with a knowledge of the development of church architecture. Ortaglia is well located and our hot days exploring Tuscany were rewarded with a late afternoon cooling swim in the pool that overlooks Montepulciano and the Ortaglia vineyards.
In the cool of the evening as darkness fell we enjoyed a magical show of lights from the host of fireflies dancing through the vines. Ortaglia is an experience not to be missed and we will return one day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our family spent three wonderful days with Terenzio and his lovely wife Mara at this picturesque Tuscan farmhouse/winery. We have two sons - ages 11 and 9 - which may have put the damper on the romantic aspect of this setting nestled below (and minutes away) from the beautiful town of Montepulciano. Even for a family of four from Chicago, the experience was still perfect. From the delicious homemade breakfast spread, to the selection of wines, to the knowledge Terenzio shared that helped us fully experience the region, to the grand vistas surrounding this thoroughly contemporary experience originally built in the 16th century. After two weeks of traveling from Rome to Venice with Ortaglia mixed into the trip for just a few too-short days, I asked my boys what their favorite experience was in all of Italy. Their answered without hesitation - Ternzio & Mara's swimming pool!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife and myself spent in Terenzio's beautiful house 2 nice nights at the end of june. It was perfect place from the first moment when Terenzio welcomed us and showed us his property. The house originally from 17th century (if I am correct) is just less than 5 minutes drive from Montepulciano. Our room was upgraded and we got the room on upper floor with a small terrace with a view to wineyards. We didn't spend much time during the day in the house since we were travelling around but evenings on the terrace and breakfast were outstanding. Ily who cooked and served the breakfast was incredible cook. We enjoyed Real "dolce" italian breakfast each morning. I regret we didn't use everything that house offers: luxurious pool, covered terrace next to house, outside table with view to wineyards, dining room etc. But we wanted to travel around to see as much as possible from countryside. On the room there are very good wines made by Terenzio. Of course we drank some and bought some since he makes typical tuscany nobile and rosso and it tastes very well! If you stay here definetely follow Terenzio's advices about Montepulciano and directions for trips to Montalcino, Penza, San quirico and so on. It is worth seeing! We recommend everyting! Thank you Ily and Terenzio! My only advice is: strengten your wifi so that the clients can comfortably share experiences online with friends from the room. :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I found Relais Ortaglia through JDB Hotels. It was a tremendous find. Situated only minutes from Montepulciano it is a world unto itself. My wife and I felt the stress draining out of us the minute we sat on our balcony in the San Donato Suite. We heard nothing but the breeze and the birds. The view is of expansive vinyards and olive groves. From the very spot we sipped the excellent Ortaglia Vino Nobile and just chilled. The view from the grounds in the other direction is the lovely hill town of Montepulciano and the San Biaggio church.
Terrenzio is the primary host and is clearly a force of nature. He runs a wine importing business as well as this B&B. His good will and zest for the joys of Italy are obvious and he is happy to share his detailed knowledge of the area, art, history, wine, food, etc. Mara, his wife, is just lovely and very welcoming.
The facilities are quite nice but the thing here is the wonderful vibe of peace and beauty.
I loved this place...although, Italians like their beds much harder than typical American B&B's.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

driving through Italy with my bestfriend, we got to this place without a plan. drove up this windy drive and fortunatley stumbled acrossOrtaglia, Peter and Lilly got our bags and Terrenze and Mara welcomed us. what a find..!! ..we were gobsmaked and loved the whole vibe and views - wonderful. treated like royalty, all the travel help we needed, and great friendship, i want to re-visit. great base for a few days. next time Im staying for the cooking class.Kerry, South Australia

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Ortaglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Ortaglia

Address: Strada per Pienza N. 29, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Ortaglia 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Between Arts and Paridise”. This certainly is the most appropriate way to describe the location of our farmhouse.In fact ORTAGLIA is casted towards the art of Montepulciano, with its roofs which show all the shades of garnet red, and the dome of San Biagio, third in the word for wideness and significance.On the same time the hill where the farmhouse stands out is plunged into the tranquillity and the charm of the tuscan countryside, muse of famous artists and poets.On the top of this hill, between art and paradise, in the middle of seventeen century have been laid the foundations of the ORTAGLIA farmhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Relais Ortaglia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Ortaglia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.