We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First, second and third time was a charm!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sant' Antonio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sant' Antonio to your Saves list
Sant' Antonio
Via della Montagna 6 / 8, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“First, second and third time was a charm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

Our first stay was in 2004 on the advice of someone on slowtrav.com . This was to be our first time for a week in the countryside of southern Tuscany (yet only down the road to Montepulciano and other places). We loved it and returned in 2007 and again in early sept of this year. Apts. are reasonably priced, lovely and immaculately clean, with all the comforts of home. Comfortable beds/soft sheets, sattelite TV, computer access or wifi for your laptop and much more. Host Nico Pannevis is multilingual, gracious and enthusiastic about making his guests at home in this beautiful country resort. For easy access to the gorgeous Val dOrcia and it's many hilltop towns, this location is terrific. We traveled for many years throughout Italy and this is one of our favs.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
91
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aussie in London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

We had the pleasure of spending a week at the lovely Sant Antonio resort. Like alot of the other reviewers, we chose Sant Antonio based on all the positive reviews on trip advisor and we were not disappointed.

The apartments are huge, and although we stayed one of the smaller rooms, this still included a large bedroom, modern bathroom, kitchen/dining room, and loft living room. The kitchen was fantastic as it allowed you to purchase the local produce from the markets and cook with the freshest ingredients.

There is lots on nice outside space, a pool, an olive grove. The biggest thing we noticed was how peaceful it was compared to London. It was the best sleep I've had in about 6 months.

Nico is everything that you are looking for in a host. Friendly, passionate about the local food and surrounding areas, and always willing to help. Make sure you ask for all the local tips before you travel out there.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

We enjoyed a wonderful week at Sant' Antonio where we were well looked after by Nico and his staff. Such a warm welcome and helpful information throughout our stay that helped us to explore the nearby towns and to know more about the local lifestyle. Thanks so much Nico!

We stayed in Apt 5 - Signorelli, a self-contained cottage with lovely views of the gardens and the surrounding valley, comfortable and pretty furnishings, an exquisite and large bathroom and a good kitchen for cooking a meal with local produce (including Sant' Antonio's wine and olive oil).

The quality of this resort and the care taken of the gardens and our apartment made our vacation in Tuscany wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

I have just returned from my 6th trip - yes, 6th to Sant Antonio and I can only say I want to go 66 times more - I have been to Italy often but nothing absolutely nothing compares with Sant Antonio. I work in the service industry so am very discerning about service and Nico, Elena and their staff are simply the best. From the moment you arrive you are made to feel at home and that no request is too difficult. The surroundings are beautiful and breathtaking and the location simply serene. Whether you want to run into Montepulciano or nearby Pienza or lounge by the pool the experience will be the best ever.
The apartments are clean and comfortable allowing you to buy provisions for light meals - breakfast and or lunch and if you decide to cook dinner that is possible too. There are outdoor grills and kitchens with a good complement of supplies.
Its difficult to do this wonderful place justice with a few sentences - it really is the best. I have stayed here at many different times of year and all have special meaning and have brought me much joy. I hope and pray to go back many many more times.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
384 reviews 384 reviews
194 hotel reviews
Reviews in 208 cities Reviews in 208 cities
326 helpful votes 326 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Sant Antonio is a converted convent a couple of kilometers outside Montepulciano (you cannot walk into Montpulciano easily from here)

The location is truly breathtaking with a view over Tuscan Hills one way and an equally spectacular view over the Tuscan Plain the other way. We were hard pressed to decide which view to take for breakfast or pre-dinner drinks. The grounds themselves are well manages and in fact they own hundreds of acres, so you can walk for miles through their grounds.

We had a one bedroom apartment, with sitting room (kitchen was a alcove to the living room) and were very happy with it.

Nico, the owner, is very friendly and helpful.

The only downside we found was noise from families (probably would not be a problem out of school holiday season). There is a once a week dinner, you pay 20 or 30 €, which we decided not to go to as there were a lot of children attending. The pool tended to be a bit noisy too.

The property is well placed for exploring the Tuscan countryside - and the Tuscan countryside is well worth exploring too. You will end up with your own favourites, and there are plenty to choose from, each with medieval walls, lovely buildings, a local wine, and restaurants galore. You have to try Brunello de Montalcino, expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

Sant' Antonio is a gorgeous resort located near Montepulciano, a beautiful medieval city in Tuscany.
If you are looking for tranquility, stunning views of hills covered with olive trees, and beautiful surroundings to have a glass of wine at night, then this is an excellent choice. Sant' Antonio is a sanctuary. The apartments are comfortably furnished with wonderful beds, the best Italian linens and towels, and even your own private wine selection. After a day of visiting nearby hill towns, you can have a swim in the pool, while enjoying the best view in Tuscany. Nico, the owner of Sant' Antonio, is gracious and welcoming to each of his guests. Not only does he make you feel as if you were his only guest, but he also speaks several languages, and is available to guide you to the best restaurants in the area, as well as the most interesting sites to see. In addition, his staff treat you as if you were part of their family. Sant' Antonio is the reason we go back to Italy year after year...just for the opportunity to enjoy the peace and beauty of a truly special retreat.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

We have been visiting Sant' Antonio quite a few times over the years and it became our little heaven in Tuscany. The appartments really are very clean (never seen such cleaniness before), nicely furnished and decorated and last but not least.....with amazing views! If you have plans to visit cities like Rome, Florence, Siena or Perugia this country resort is a good place to start....and to return afterwards!

Highly recommended for a (family) holiday, wedding or just a quick week(end) break during the winter season.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sant' Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sant' Antonio

Address: Via della Montagna 6 / 8, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Montepulciano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 800 year Franciscan Monastery converted into spacious accommodation in the heart of the Tuscan countryside with wonderful views of the Valdichiana on one side of the property and the famous rolling hills, forests and olive groves on the other. Sant’ Antonio is situated 3 kilometres from the Renaissance town of Montepulciano ideally located to visit Siena, Assisi, Pienza, Montalcino, Cortona and many other medieval towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sant' Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Antonio Montepulciano
Sant Antonio Hotel Montepulciano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sant' Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.