We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sant' Antonio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sant' Antonio to your Saves list
Sant' Antonio
Via della Montagna 6 / 8, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% Easter break discount
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lewiston, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Always great.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Just returned from our third stay at Sant' Antonio. It was as great as ever. Nico is the consummate host and the place is always spotless. It's also a great value. The "Tuscan dinner"
is always a highlight of the week.
Grazie Nico...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
91
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vista, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This was the 4th time we've stayed at Sant' Antonio in the last six years, and it is the perfect place for my wife and I to get away and relax. You can enjoy their beautiful pool, drive to any number of nearby hill towns for a visit or eat like a king at many nearby restaurants. Nico, Elena and his family are the perfect hosts, and his recommendations for everything from places to eat to wineries have always been spot-on. We've had some of our best meals ever at small family run restaurants that he's recommended, and they usually come with much lower prices, too. Sant' Antonio is truly the type of place people dream about when planning a visit to Tuscany.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed a week at La Terrazza, one of San't Antonio's apartments in town. It was perfect in every way.

The location in town cannot be beat. We walked everywhere, shopped at the merchants, and felt as if we became part of Montepulciano, if only for a week. It is a great base for doing day trips into the surrounding countryside as well.

The apartment is huge, very comfortable, and nicely furnished with many lovely antiques. It is evident that a lot of love and care went into the renovation of the building and the designing of the apartment. It is impeccably maintained.

What really makes this apartment special is the large terrace with the gorgeous East facing view of the rolling hills outside Montepulciano. Relaxing on the terrace at anytime of the day was one of our favorite pastimes.

As has been mentioned in previous reviews, Nico, the owner and the other staff at Sant'Antonio will do anything to make your stay a perfect one. Nico made restaurant reservations for us and was always available when we needed him. I can't imagine a more gracious and helpful host or a better place to stay in Montepulciano.

Room Tip: We loved staying in town at La Terrazza. Being in town made the trip that much better for us. Walkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
388 helpful votes 388 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This was our third visit to Southern Tuscany, so we were well familiar with the area. We chose Sant' Antonio for its fantastic location outside of Montepulciano with an easy access to the perched villages of Val d'Orcia; magnificent countryside; less than an hour's drive to Siena, and equally easy access to important towns in Umbria. We also chose Sant' Antonio based upon recommendations of friends, who return again and again. We spent a week at Sant' Antonio in late May and enjoyed every minute of our stay.

We stayed in apartment 9, Giotto. It is a lovely, nicely furnished and very comfortable apartment; a spacious living room with a fireplace (came quite handy during a few chilly evenings); bedroom with beautiful antique furniture, orthopedic mattress and quality linen sheets, and a totally upgraded, modern bathroom with a freestanding tub, stall shower, double sinks, and lots of fluffy towels. The kitchen is fully equipped for those who wish to cook. Unlike other self-catering accommodations, bed linen and towels are changed mid-week and there is a daily trash removal from the apartment.

The property itself is quintessential Tuscany with rows and rows of olive trees, rolling hills, drop-dead gorgeous views, picnic table and benches, and a large swimming pool with lounge chairs all around. There is a security gate so one can feel comfortable that only guests of the resort are on premises at all times.

The owner Nico is a very gracious and welcoming host, and will go out of his way to assist with reservations, touring ideas and directions, "absolutely anything" (quoting Nico here :) one may need during one's stay. In this sense, Sant' Antonio is no different from a full service hotel, only better. Nico's wife Irene and his staff members, Susanna and Leo, are the kindest people and are there to make certain that all guests have the time of their lives.

And we certainly did.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our apartment, Giotto-9, although it was not our first choice. The moral here - reserve e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

I have been staying here for the last 15 years and every time I return I can feel the weight of the world lifting off my shoulders.
The old monastery has changed over the years, and always for the better. The tasteful updating continues every visit, underground car parking, refurbed appts, lovely BBQ areas and terraces but always in great Tuscan style. Antique furniture and beautiful linen add to perfect holiday stop.
Don't think twice, this is without doubt, the best in the area by a mile

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nico-SantAntonio, Owner at Sant' Antonio, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
The support over the years from you and your family is really appreciated. GRAZIE TANTO - and we always look forward having you back, including Caio!!!!
Thank you - Nico, Elena and the rest of the whole Sant' Antonio Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montepulciano, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed for a full week in April (the resort outside of town) and were so very appreciative of the pristine, spacious, and elegant dwellings, the gorgeous scenery, and mainly the hospitality extended by our congenial host, Nico. He is a true gem, helpful, patient, enterprising, and passionate. Of particular note, being an avid hiker, I loved the nature course of just under 3 miles that takes you around the property, including panoramic vistas, olive trees, rolling green hills... perfection. . . Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Stayed in Apt. 9 Giotto
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nico-SantAntonio, Owner at Sant' Antonio, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
It was great to have you with us and a pleasure to meet you both. I am very happy you enjoyed the walks around our farm land, olive groves and forests. Grazie tanto - a presto and thank you for your positive feed back. All the best - Nico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

San't Antonio Resort was such an amazing experience with Nico and his wife Elena. From we arrived with the gated gates, our villa, the scenery all around, wine tasting, meats and cheese and more was the best experience my new husband and I had in Northern Italy. Nico and Elena were so friendly. Each day Nico had something new for us to do. He had us go to a winery 45 minute walk each way from San't Antonio, what an amazing, amazing experience. The wine was superb, we have a new appreciation for wine now. As well told us about a lovely meat and cheese place going towards Pienza. So worth it every second of it. He told us where he goes and the locals go, what a experience. Overall amazing. We are from Calgary Canada and plan to come back in the next few years. Thank you so much San't Antonio for the Excellent hospitality.
Ryan and Janine

Room Tip: Where we stayed was great in our own Villa, like Cottage place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nico-SantAntonio, Owner at Sant' Antonio, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
When a wonderful positive couple turn up like you - then we know that the week will be full of laughs and fun. Thank you so much for joining us and it was a pleasure to send you in the correct direction... food and VINO wise! We wish you both all the best and grazie tanto for taking the time to support us on tripadvisor. Warm regards - Nico & Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sant' Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sant' Antonio

Address: Via della Montagna 6 / 8, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 800 year Franciscan Monastery converted into spacious accommodation in the heart of the Tuscan countryside with wonderful views of the Valdichiana on one side of the property and the famous rolling hills, forests and olive groves on the other. Sant’ Antonio is situated 3 kilometres from the Renaissance town of Montepulciano ideally located to visit Siena, Assisi, Pienza, Montalcino, Cortona and many other medieval towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sant' Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Antonio Montepulciano
Sant Antonio Hotel Montepulciano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sant' Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.