We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better the second time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sant' Antonio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sant' Antonio to your Saves list
Sant' Antonio
Via della Montagna 6 / 8, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Even better the second time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

As I reread some of the reviews, it looks like we are not the only ones to stay here more than once. That should tell you about the quality of the accommodations and the hospitality that you will find at Sant' Antonio. We again stayed in #5 Signorelli, a stand alone apartment. Nico continues to make improvements and this time the furniture had been replaced, there was a new flat screen TV and also wifi. i think the pots and pans were new too. The linens are wonderful and having them replaced midweek is a very nice luxury. Most self-catering apartments do not do this. Susanna is a delight, she even did a little bit of laundry for us. Her midweek dinner was delicious and it was great fun to meet some of the other vacationers.

Nico is one of the most gracious hosts you will meet. You will not be disappointed if you decide to stay here. The location is great for visiting the surrounding towns and there are a couple of restaurants (Tre Stella and Il Covo) near by that we enjoyed without having to go into town for dinner.

Thank you Nico and Susanna for another wonderful stay.

Room Tip: The Signorelli Apt. has a large bright bathroom with a separate tub and stand alone shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
91
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

As a solo traveller, I booked this resort because I had hoped to be sharing it with friends who had arrived in Italy before me. They changed their plans at the last minute, but the resort was so peaceful and close to Montepulciano in alta, that I had a wonderful time exploring and meeting the locals. The view is spectacular from the little cottage I stayed in called Michelangelo. It had two bedrooms and two bathrooms and a lovely kitchen, although there was no oven. A girlfriend joined me for the last two days and we had a lovely time walking to the top of the hill on the property and enjoying the pool and surrounding area. The only thing that I would suggest would be to put some milk in the fridge and a couple of pieces of fruit for late arrivals. I was so tired from driving that I didn't want to get in the car again late, to hunt for those items. Just a thought. All the rest was lovely and I left feeling very relaxed. I'd recommend it highly to families with children who can swim. (Pool not fenced).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell Town, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was our second time and just what we needed, some time out from the hectic lifestyle we all seem to have these days. The resort is just simply stunning, the service from all the staff just simply stunning also. We were in apartment 7 Piero della Francesca, a beautifully private apartment with views that you would die for. The resort is, to quote Tina Turner, "simply the best".
Thank you Nico and Susanna for making our stay just perfect and special, for a special event in our lives.

David and Irene

Room Tip: Apartment 7 Piero della Francesca if you want an apartment with view to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nico-SantAntonio, Owner at Sant' Antonio, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
As owners and staff, we try our best to meet the needs of all our guests however at times we are very lucky to have guests that place "the cherry on the cake" and makes all our hard work very satisfactory. It was great to welcome you back and if all those who stay with us were like you - I would have the best job in the entire world.... which I actually do :-)
Grazie tanto - Nico, Elena and all the staff at Sant' Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were last here 10 and a half years ago and vowed to return 'one day' (we live in Tasmania, Aus). Spotlessly clean as before, and the quality of the saucepans and pans for cooking is excellent - heavy duty stainless steel, so ideal for slow-cooking meals, or doing something quick and easy if that's what you want. My version of chicken cacciatore is now simmering in a large pot and smells yummy.

Nico has booked restaurants for us (even a Dr because one of us needed help), and is always so cheerful. We've now vowed to return for even longer next time. This time we relaxed and enjoyed the beautiful facilities. (Oh, and Susanna, the lady who empties the rubbish for us every day, is a delight). We'll be sad to leave on Saturday.

Room Tip: Number 5, Signorelli is gorgeous and we'll book this one again for next time. It's a stand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is our second stay at Sant' Antonio - and Nico and his team once again met all of our expectations!

We stayed in the Michaelangelo suite (2 bed, 2 bathroom) with our own private garden complete with 2 day beds and a garden setting for lunch or dinner outside - or just laying around. The pool area is great - too cold for us to swim this time. We even saw the local shooting game on the property when we went for a walk across the expansive grounds.

Suzanna's home cooked dinner (once a week) was fabulous and we got to meet other travelers.....

Nico will book the local restaurants for you, just so you don't miss out.

This trip, we were pleased to see upgrades to wifi and the tvs (not that we watched it) but the wifi was a godsend for busy execs trying to get away for a week.... Nico has also updated his own 'locale' map - with towns and restaurants he and his family like to visit.

I'd recommend it anytime.... It has the right mix of Italian family values and access to upmarket dining close by.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

When you plan your 3 week trip around an arrival and departure date, for a fourth stay at Sant Antonio, that only confirms how much you love it :)

Firstly, the location is PERFECT for day trips. Each time we stay, SA only gets better, ie: always spotlessly clean, matress always comfortable and even larger this time, and were we sleeping on Frette sheets? Well, they felt that way. Fulffy large bath towels...I could go on and on. BTW, Nico now has WiFi throughout the property. Compliments to his staff, they are wonderfully helpful as well. Well done Nico!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertme
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Again for the fourth time we stayed at Sant'Antonio and again we enjoyed our stay. Nico is a perfect host.We enjoy the surroundings and the food in Montepulciano. The apartment feels like coming home. For us it was a real relax and chill holiday. Sant' Antonio is a nice location for trips towards even Florence - by train - or Sienna. It is our recommendation to friends and family if they are visiting Tuscany.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sant' Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sant' Antonio

Address: Via della Montagna 6 / 8, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 800 year Franciscan Monastery converted into spacious accommodation in the heart of the Tuscan countryside with wonderful views of the Valdichiana on one side of the property and the famous rolling hills, forests and olive groves on the other. Sant’ Antonio is situated 3 kilometres from the Renaissance town of Montepulciano ideally located to visit Siena, Assisi, Pienza, Montalcino, Cortona and many other medieval towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sant' Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Antonio Montepulciano
Sant Antonio Hotel Montepulciano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sant' Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.