We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscan excellence!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sant' Antonio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sant' Antonio to your Saves list
Sant' Antonio
Via della Montagna 6 / 8, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tuscan excellence!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is our second stay at Sant' Antonio - and Nico and his team once again met all of our expectations!

We stayed in the Michaelangelo suite (2 bed, 2 bathroom) with our own private garden complete with 2 day beds and a garden setting for lunch or dinner outside - or just laying around. The pool area is great - too cold for us to swim this time. We even saw the local shooting game on the property when we went for a walk across the expansive grounds.

Suzanna's home cooked dinner (once a week) was fabulous and we got to meet other travelers.....

Nico will book the local restaurants for you, just so you don't miss out.

This trip, we were pleased to see upgrades to wifi and the tvs (not that we watched it) but the wifi was a godsend for busy execs trying to get away for a week.... Nico has also updated his own 'locale' map - with towns and restaurants he and his family like to visit.

I'd recommend it anytime.... It has the right mix of Italian family values and access to upmarket dining close by.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
93
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

When you plan your 3 week trip around an arrival and departure date, for a fourth stay at Sant Antonio, that only confirms how much you love it :)

Firstly, the location is PERFECT for day trips. Each time we stay, SA only gets better, ie: always spotlessly clean, matress always comfortable and even larger this time, and were we sleeping on Frette sheets? Well, they felt that way. Fulffy large bath towels...I could go on and on. BTW, Nico now has WiFi throughout the property. Compliments to his staff, they are wonderfully helpful as well. Well done Nico!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertme
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Again for the fourth time we stayed at Sant'Antonio and again we enjoyed our stay. Nico is a perfect host.We enjoy the surroundings and the food in Montepulciano. The apartment feels like coming home. For us it was a real relax and chill holiday. Sant' Antonio is a nice location for trips towards even Florence - by train - or Sienna. It is our recommendation to friends and family if they are visiting Tuscany.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manning, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My time at Sant'Antonio was once again perfection!!!!This is the third time and Nico was as helpful and charming as ever...freshly ironed bed linens, wonderful towels and perfumed soaps,well stocked kitchen,friendly guests, courteous staff..clean, manicured grounds, wonderful views..I could go on and on .The location is great and within easy reach of picturesque villages and towns.Can't wait to return another year !!!!

Room Tip: Upstairs single apartment has wonderful breeze at night because of the two window cross ventilation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I am a little late writing my review of our wonderful week at Sant' Antonio in May'12!! We stayed in the wonderful one bedroom apartment within the walls of Montepulciano!! We can't even begin to express how unbelievable our stay was!! The apartment has been recently renovated and everything is exceptional!! Even though the apartment is in the "city", it was extremely quiet. The furnishings are just beautiful.. Huge bathroom with awesome tub and walk in shower.. There is a lovely terrace which overlooks the Tuscan countryside and we spent many hours out there enjoying the view and sipping the vino!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Sant'Antonio for five days on our recent honeymoon in Italy. Nico, the owner, was amazing, and helped us tremendously both prior to our stay and after our arrival in Montepulciano. We rented one of Nico's apartments inside the Montepulciano city walls. The one-bedroom apartment was absolutely gorgeous. Everything was recently redone, and every detail was perfect. The apartment was very spacious. Our favorite part was the beautiful terrace that overlooks the Tuscan countryside. We spent many afternoons having an apertivo, as we gazed at the beautiful rolling hills and vineyards below.

In addition to being a great host, we also learned that Nico is a former runner and currently coaches elite runners. As avid (although ameteur) runners ourselves, this was great to know. We really enjoyed discussing running with Nico and truly appreciated his tips on running routes around Montepulciano. One morning we ran along a trail from Montepulciano to the neighboring town of Montechiello. It was truly one of the most scenic runs we have ever taken. Montepulciano (and specifically Sant'Antonio) is a great place to visit if you are like us and enjoy getting in a beautiful run on your vacation.

We can't say enough about how wonderful our time was in Montepulciano, which was due in no small part to Nico and his wonderful apartment. We highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Sant' Antonio, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Grazie tanto and glad you enjoyed our apartment La Terrazza in Montepulciano but the runs in the Tuscan country side as well! I hope training is going good and maybe we shall see you running the Rome Marathon soon :-)
I wish you both all the best - tanti auguri and see you on the road!
Nico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver,b.c.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This was an amazing, peaceful place. We loved everything about it. Easy access to so many places, and clean, with super comfortable beds. We stayed in unit 4 and would do so again if we ever get another chance to travel to Italy. Views from every room, even the bathroom. It was a treat to have a shower and look out over the rolling Tuscan hills.
Nico was wonderful, helpful, but not at all "in the way"
Any questions we had were addressed promptly, effeciently and courteously.
Pool was lovely, but a little cold in May, so we had a wonderful day of our stay just sitting around it.
Great restaurants nearby, and plenty of good walking and hiking on Nico's property.
Couldn't recommend a nicer place to stay, very reasonably priced.
Thank you Nico for making our holiday wonderful!
We loved it!

Room Tip: We stayed in unit 4, which was a large apartment with 2 bedrooms and fabulous views from every room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Sant' Antonio, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
I thank you for your kindness and wonderful write up; when we have the luck of hosting a couple that are full of smiles and good laughs, work becomes a pleasure and I end up having the best job around! Grazie tanto and our best wishes to you - a presto!
Nico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
2.0 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#4 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#7 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
3.0 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#2 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#6 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
1.7 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#5 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Tre Stelle
Hotel Tre Stelle
#8 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sant' Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sant' Antonio

Address: Via della Montagna 6 / 8, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 800 year old converted monastery situated in the heart of the Tuscan country side, a short 3 km drive from the historic Renaissance town of Montepulciano renowned for its wines, olive oil, local cuisine and culture. Sant' Antonio is converted into spacious unique accommodations with wonderful views of the Valdichiana and lakes on one side of the property and the famous rolling hills, forests and olive groves on the other. This historic structure is located on over 70 hectares of gardens with terraces, biological farm land and forests with a private 2 mile walking and running trail that has breathtaking views past each corner... Sant' Antonio is ideally located close to Montepulciano where numerous local restaurants, coffee bars, enotecas, artesian shops and supermarkets are situated as well as to visit towns and medieval villages such as Montepulciano, Pienza, Montalcino, Monticchiello, Cortona, Cetona, San Quirico, Siena, Assisi, Perugia, Arezzo, Orvieto.... And many others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sant' Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Antonio Montepulciano
Sant Antonio Hotel Montepulciano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sant' Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.