We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed three heavenly weeks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sant' Antonio

Save Saved
You added Sant' Antonio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sant' Antonio
Via della Montagna 6 / 8, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 29 hotels in Montepulciano
vancouver,b.c.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stayed three heavenly weeks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This was an amazing, peaceful place. We loved everything about it. Easy access to so many places, and clean, with super comfortable beds. We stayed in unit 4 and would do so again if we ever get another chance to travel to Italy. Views from every room, even the bathroom. It was a treat to have a shower and look out over the rolling Tuscan hills.
Nico was wonderful, helpful, but not at all "in the way"
Any questions we had were addressed promptly, effeciently and courteously.
Pool was lovely, but a little cold in May, so we had a wonderful day of our stay just sitting around it.
Great restaurants nearby, and plenty of good walking and hiking on Nico's property.
Couldn't recommend a nicer place to stay, very reasonably priced.
Thank you Nico for making our holiday wonderful!
We loved it!

Room Tip: We stayed in unit 4, which was a large apartment with 2 bedrooms and fabulous views from every room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Sant' Antonio, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
I thank you for your kindness and wonderful write up; when we have the luck of hosting a couple that are full of smiles and good laughs, work becomes a pleasure and I end up having the best job around! Grazie tanto and our best wishes to you - a presto!
Nico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
89
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

We spent a wonderful week traveling in Tuscany with our base at Sant'Antonio near Montepulciano. The owner Nico and his staff made everything about our stay perfect. Our private cottage was extremely comfortable. We felt like being home from the first moment we settled in. We cooked in our apartment, built fires to warm us on cool Tuscan evenings and enjoyed sipping wine watching sunsets from our patio. The surroundings were peaceful and relaxing. The location is near all Tuscan sites. Nico pointed us to the best places to visit in the region - we went to all of them! We definitely recommend Sant'Antonio to anyone visiting Tuscany. Use it as your base and explore!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Sant' Antonio, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Sir - It was my pleasure to meet you and enjoyed the odd converstion that time allowed us. Through your wonderful review and mentioning our accommodations to your friends, we have already had one family stay with us. Much appreciated and grazie tanto!
All the best to you both - thank you!
Nico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Hubby and I spent an outstanding week in March 2012 at Sant' Antonio. The property is beyond beautiful, Nico and Elena are fabulous hosts, and the apartment was comfortable and well stocked. We stayed in the Signorelli cottage and were lucky with the weather conditions -- we were able to enjoy throwing open the beautiful big windows during the day to let the breeze blow in and snuggle with the fire at night. Great location to make home base and explore the charming hill towns that surround the area (which we did). Nico gave us two restaurant recommendations (Restaurante La Briciola and Ai Quattro Venti), both of which were outstanding. There is also a very nice little family-run pizza place just down the road from Sant' Antonio. The views from this property are unbeatable. Nico and Elena have done a wonderful job of creating an ambiance of true Tuscany with all the amenities one would expect in a high-end resort. We will be recommending the property to friends and family headed to the Tuscany region.

Room Tip: Signorelli cottage offers more privacy, but none of the rooms are on top of each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

My wife and I have travelled far and wide, and our time recently at Sant'Angelo in Montepulciano was truly an extraordinary experience. It has it all; wonderful period buildings with 1st rate amenities and comfort, Incredible vistas of the Tuscan countryside, and all within easy driving distances to the classic hiil top towns of Montalcino, Piensa, or Cortona, and the cities of Siena or even Firenze. The owners, Nico and Elena, are wonderful hosts, and were full of local travel tips and advice to make our stay even better. And we'll never forget our little friend...Caio. When we return to this glorious part opf the world, Sant'Angelo will be our 1st choice.

Room Tip: We stayed in Sant'Angelo with another couple. They offer excellent accommodation options for di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

My wife Ellen and I have stayed at Sant’ Antonio twice in the last 4 years, and we’re heading back again this June. We can’t wait. This will be our 3rd time traveling to Italy, and we can’t imagine visiting this beautiful country without staying here once again.
As incredible as all of the reviews here may sound, they are all so very true. It all starts with the hosts, Nico and Elena, and their wonderful family. They are the perfect hosts, and so helpful and welcoming to everyone. While Nico may not speak every known language, it sure seems that he comes close. The recommendations we’ve been given for restaurants and wineries have been incredible. Instead of being guided toward expensive tourist traps, we’ve ate at what had to be some of the best little family-run places you can imagine. Delicious food at surprisingly reasonable prices. I’ve been craving pizza from Tre Stelle and the ravioli at Da Fiorella since we left, and Osteria Acquacheta will be our first stop for lunch in Montepulciano. I never knew food could taste so good.
Sant’ Antonio is a converted monastery with only 13 rooms, and it’s located in the perfect spot from which to explore Tuscany. The grounds are immaculate, the swimming pool is great after a day of sightseeing and it’s so peaceful and quiet. You won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

My wife and I live (temporarily) in Italy and have stayed at Sant’ Antonio on four separate occasions and at different times of the year. We just love it. Nico is a wonderful host with a vast knowledge of the area and wonderful recommendations. Also, his olive oil, which is made from this estate, is by far the best we have tasted in Italy. The grounds of this converted monastery, with its plentiful olive grove, and large pool are beautiful and quiet. The location next to Montepulciano is perfect to explore southern Tuscany as Montepulciano, Montalcino, Pienza, Cortona are within easy reach and, about an hour away, are the cities of Orvieto, Assisi and Siena which make for perfect day-trips. We also enjoy the fact that these cottage style accommodations allow us to cook on site so we don’t have to eat at restaurants all the time, helping to keep travel costs down. Whether we come up to explore, shop, relax or taste wine, it has always been a great experience. If you are a wine and cheese lover, Montalcino Brunello’s are wonderful but do not overlook Vine Nobile de Montepulciano Sangiovese or the Cortona Syrah’s. In Pienza, the little cheese shops that serve Pecorino are incredible. If you do intend to go to Montelpulciano, a visit to the Restaurant Osteria Acquacheta is also a must but, as they only have two seating’s each night, we recommend the earlier 7:30pm seating. We will go back as often as we can to Sant' Antonio.

Room Tip: While all the rooms are great, the Luca Signorella suite is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuzco
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011 via mobile

From Canada looking for too much I am sure.
We wanted space, ability to eat in and great access to all of the region.
This is it.

Large accom., walk(long) to Montepulciano and BBQ on your private terrace.

Ideal Spring or Fall.

And your hosts know all the tricks and places.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sant' Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sant' Antonio

Address: Via della Montagna 6 / 8, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 800 year Franciscan Monastery converted into spacious accommodation in the heart of the Tuscan countryside with wonderful views of the Valdichiana on one side of the property and the famous rolling hills, forests and olive groves on the other. Sant’ Antonio is situated 3 kilometres from the Renaissance town of Montepulciano ideally located to visit Siena, Assisi, Pienza, Montalcino, Cortona and many other medieval towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sant' Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Antonio Montepulciano
Sant Antonio Hotel Montepulciano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sant' Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.