We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best find in Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sant' Antonio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Sant' Antonio to your Saves list
Sant' Antonio
Via della Montagna 6 / 8, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Naples, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our best find in Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

My wife and I live (temporarily) in Italy and have stayed at Sant’ Antonio on four separate occasions and at different times of the year. We just love it. Nico is a wonderful host with a vast knowledge of the area and wonderful recommendations. Also, his olive oil, which is made from this estate, is by far the best we have tasted in Italy. The grounds of this converted monastery, with its plentiful olive grove, and large pool are beautiful and quiet. The location next to Montepulciano is perfect to explore southern Tuscany as Montepulciano, Montalcino, Pienza, Cortona are within easy reach and, about an hour away, are the cities of Orvieto, Assisi and Siena which make for perfect day-trips. We also enjoy the fact that these cottage style accommodations allow us to cook on site so we don’t have to eat at restaurants all the time, helping to keep travel costs down. Whether we come up to explore, shop, relax or taste wine, it has always been a great experience. If you are a wine and cheese lover, Montalcino Brunello’s are wonderful but do not overlook Vine Nobile de Montepulciano Sangiovese or the Cortona Syrah’s. In Pienza, the little cheese shops that serve Pecorino are incredible. If you do intend to go to Montelpulciano, a visit to the Restaurant Osteria Acquacheta is also a must but, as they only have two seating’s each night, we recommend the earlier 7:30pm seating. We will go back as often as we can to Sant' Antonio.

Room Tip: While all the rooms are great, the Luca Signorella suite is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
90
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cuzco
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011 via mobile

From Canada looking for too much I am sure.
We wanted space, ability to eat in and great access to all of the region.
This is it.

Large accom., walk(long) to Montepulciano and BBQ on your private terrace.

Ideal Spring or Fall.

And your hosts know all the tricks and places.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We spent two weeks at Sant'Antonio (10/1/11-10/15/11). Wonderful place. Very relaxing, peaceful environment. Loved the olive trees and the view. 800 year old buildings are beautiful and very comfortable. Absolutely no complaints. Will definately return next year. Nico is extremely knowledgable about the region and very helpful in helping to plan day trips to the surrounding areas.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. We stayed in #10 but we traveled with 8 other people and all had excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

After weeks of searching properties all over Italy, Greece and Corsica, I am sure we found the best place to relax and unwind. Sant Antonio is the perfect Tuscan retreat for a couple (or a group of friends), quiet but social - we had the opportunity to socialise with other guests (almost all of them were return guests!) and made new friends; secluded but well positioned - just moments outside of Montepulciano and many 'off the map' little villages to explore; great facilities - lazing around the pool surrounded by olive trees and spectacular views was so special; and first class service.

Nico's friendly advice and recommendations made our trip 6*, we loved every restaurant, wine tour and village suggestion. We were able to truly relax knowing someone had it covered.

It was an added bonus that Nico was also able to cater to our training needs (we are training for the New York Marathon 2011). The 'short' 8 mile hill run was a challenge to say the least, it made all of our 13 mile Richmond Park (London) runs seem like child's play!

We will be back, hopefully with some family and friends as well. It was so much more than we could have hoped for, and that is rare. Thank you!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nico-SantAntonio, Owner at Sant' Antonio, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind write up on Sant' Antonio and I am glad to read that you enjoyed your runs through the Tuscan country side. I wish you both all the very best at the New York Marathon next month - let me know how it goes! Grazie - a presto, Nico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We visited Santantonio the second week of august for the first time. I have visted Tuscany before but never stayed in a place quite like this. The buiding itself and the grounds were very impressive and the pool area was a fantasic place to unwind in, just what we needed. I travelled with my partner and we had a great week. My personal highlights were - The appartment itself which although attached to others, felt very private and was very quiet. The other people who were staying at the same time, Many who had stayed before and gave us lots of advice of where to eat, where to visit etc. Finally Nico - What a host! I will definatley be booking for next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We absolutely loved this place. Nico was fantastic in offering advice about places to visit locally which meant we found some hidden gems.

The property is beautiful and very well maintained. We stayed in Apt 5 (the cottage) which was really comfortable and homely. The bed was excellent and the only thing that interfered with our sleep was a group of kids staying on the property with their families (otherwise we'd have rated sleep 'excellent' too). If you're a couple, I'd advise travelling outside the European school holiday dates as this is a very popular destination for families.

We would definitely return and highly recommend Sant' Antonio.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monza, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I stayed the 3rd time with Nico and Elena (and the kids), the hosts of this wunderful agriturismo in wunderful Tuscany: Peaceful harmony paired with "being at home" feeling made it to a wunderful experience....
difficult to describe it, sop u better go there on ur own and get SUPER friendly treated.. I'll be back for sure

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sant' Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sant' Antonio

Address: Via della Montagna 6 / 8, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Montepulciano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 800 year Franciscan Monastery converted into spacious accommodation in the heart of the Tuscan countryside with wonderful views of the Valdichiana on one side of the property and the famous rolling hills, forests and olive groves on the other. Sant’ Antonio is situated 3 kilometres from the Renaissance town of Montepulciano ideally located to visit Siena, Assisi, Pienza, Montalcino, Cortona and many other medieval towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sant' Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Antonio Montepulciano
Sant Antonio Hotel Montepulciano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sant' Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.