We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sant' Antonio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sant' Antonio to your Saves list
Sant' Antonio
Via della Montagna 6 / 8, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

After visiting Rome and Sorrento, my wife and I were really looking forward to Tuscany and Sant' Antonio. Both were highlights of a wonderful trip. Sant' Antonio was built as a monestary in the 1400's and was converted to holiday apartments. The grounds are 250 acres of olive trees, fields and forest. Our home away from home was on the end of the building and next to a bluff that provided a panoramic vista of the beautiful countryside. It's like having a "cabin" in the heart of wine country, and included a kitchen with all the necessities, living room with fireplace, spacious bedroom and luxurious bath. We woke to sunshine and birds singing. It was peaceful, serene and comfortable. Our host, Nico, was gracious and very helpful. His energy and spirit is evident in the whole operation.

Montepulciano is a gorgeous hill town - one of many in the area - that is very proud of the locally produced wine. Restaurants offer fantastic local cuisine served with charm and style. From our base, we went to other hill towns, Chianti for a wine tour and to Florence, San Gimignano and Assisi. The weather was sunny and warm and we savored our time in Tuscany.

I would strongly recommend Sant' Antonio to anyone going to Tuscany. We hope we will be able to return some day.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
91
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Sant'Antonio is the perfect spot to stay in Tuscany. I vacationed with two of my girlfriends during the Montelpuciano festival in August. The resort is perfectly located so a 1/2 day trip will take you to many of the other hilltop towns for shopping and lunch. Then, back to Sant' Antonio for an afternoon nap by the pool. Many restaurant options are close for dinner or stay in and cook in your own kitchenette.

The resort itself is perfectly maintained with a gorgeous pool area, olive trees and stunning views. Our apartment had a full kitchen and a great balcony. There are many little hidden spots on the property for a family barbeque or to sit out with a group of new friends from the resort with some Tuscan wine and cheese.

Nico and the entire staff are so wonderful and welcoming. I cannot wait to stay at Sant' Antonio again!!!

Brenda - Minneapolis, MN

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA (Los Angeles)
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

I can't say enough great things about Sant' Antonio and its owner/host Nico. My wife and I stayed here in May of 2011 for 9 days. We originally were going to stay 7 but loved it so much that we extended our stay. (Thanks Nico!).
Sant Antonio is a 5 minute drive away from the medieval town of Montepulciano. It is in the middle of rolling green hills, vineyards, and olive tree groves. Very secluded and peaceful location, perfect for a relaxing getaway and a great home base to see other towns in the region.
My wife and I stayed in 2 of the apartments in the villa. The first apartment was the Giotto (#9). The apartment had a living area, kitchen, a loft, master bedroom and a very large bathroom with a free standing tub and shower! The views from the bedroom and living area windows were incredible. The apartment was way beyond my expectations and it was a great “home away from home”. We decided to extend our stay 3 days into our time there and Nico was kind enough to accommodate us. The second apartment was the Caravaggio (#1). It was spacious with a master bedroom, smaller bathroom than 9 but had an extra bedroom! The views were equally as stunning as the windows in the back of the apartment gave us the same views as #9 but the windows in the front (master bedroom and french doors leading to the patio) gave us the view of the other side of the Villa which is full of olive tree groves, more rolling hills, and cypress trees. I loved the fact that the two apartments were completely different but equally as charming and wonderful.
I can’t say enough great things about the owner and host of Sant Antonio, Nico. He was always friendly, accommodating, speaks 6 languages (including fluent english) and is just all around amazing. He gave us a lot of recommendations for not only restaurants but local destinations that might interest us. Word to the wise: If Nico recommends a restaurant, GO! Every recommendation that he gave us was spot on and fantastic. We couldn’t have asked for a better host.
I can't say enough great things about Sant' Antonio and Nico. If you are going to Tuscany, stay here!

Room Tip: Call or email Nico directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Beautiful site and quiet resort near beautiful Medieval town of Montepulciano. We went there for cycling and were well served with this region of Tuscany that can be quite challenging (Val D'Orcia). We had a beautiful apartment with a private entrance (no. 7) and a magnificient view on the valley and a small private terrasse to sip coffee in the morning or wine in the afternoon. Resort is typical of the Tuscan style. The site is beautiful, with flowers/perennials and olive trees (they do their own olive oil that you can buy at the property. You can stroll around the property peacefully. They have a beautiful pool area (but it was not opened when we were there as temperature was a bit colder than normal for that time of year). They have also two big wood BBQ to cook and eat outside.
My only negative comment is that you have to pay if you use the heater or the wood for the fireplace. The place was a bit cold at the beginning of May and was hard to keep warm at night. There is also no breakfast or food served on the resort, so you have to either plan and buy your food or eat out. Other than that, I recommend this beautiful place and Nico, the owner is very friendly and helpful (he also .speaks fluent English and French). It is close to many beautiful medieval towns (Pienza, Monticchiello, San Quirico D'Orcia, Castaglione d'Orcia, Montalcino...)

Room Tip: Ask for no. 7 apartment suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

We wanted to begin our Italian honeymoon in a place that would be beautiful and relaxing. A place where we could enjoy the local tastes and sights without the tourist crowds or the constraints of set agendas. As soon as we pulled up to the property gates, we knew we had found what we were looking for. We had time to relax and enjoy each other’s company at Sant’ Antonio…. a feast for the senses. This 800 year old ex-monastery offers a quiet getaway just 5 minutes drive from the incredible town of Montepulciano.

Sant’ Antonio is a gorgeous estate, peaceful and well-maintained by Nico Pannevis. The property is quite large and affords you the opportunity to take a hike in the hills, view the stunning vistas, enjoy a swim in the pool, or just grab a bottle of wine and sit out on the patio. Our apartment was perfect for a romantic getaway, complete with fireplace and hot tub. We also had a full kitchen with appliances so that we could stay in to enjoy meals at home when we wanted. The grounds are covered with 1600 olive trees and Nico produces some of the best olive oil in all of Italy. Don’t take my word for it; give it a try for yourself. Nico takes good care of the property as it is not only his business, but it is his home.

Nico knew it was our honeymoon and went above and beyond to make it special. We were welcomed with big hugs upon arrival, as if we were family. And by the end of the trip, that is exactly how it felt. In our apartment, Nico had a bottle of champagne waiting for us to share and Tuscan cigars for my husband. Once you check in, Nico gives you a key to your apartment and a clicker to open the main gate so that you can come and go as you please. The property also conveniently offers an indoor parking garage on site.

Nico is the epitome of a great host. If you need anything, do not hesitate to ask. We loved stopping by the office to talk to Nico! He is quick to respond to emails and has helpful suggestions for things to do. We had requested a couples’ massage in our apartment and Nico had it set up for us. We needed restaurant reservations and that was taken care of, too. When you get there, have Nico make a reservation for Florentine steak at Osteria dell’Acquacheta –You will love it!!!

You can stay anywhere in Tuscany and get an incredible view, but if you want to enjoy something extra special, then stay at Sant’ Antonio. After leaving Montepulciano, we traveled throughout Italy visiting Venice, Florence, Rome, and Sorrento. By far, our favorite and most memorable honeymoon days were spent at Sant’ Antonio.

Grazie mille, Nico!

Benny & Maria
Chicago, Illinois

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nico-SantAntonio, Owner at Sant' Antonio, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
Grazie tanto - your wonderful words makes all our work worth it however when we have guests like you two arriving with such a warm smile, to make your vacation a memorable one is a pleasure for us all! Grazie and best wishes from us all at Sant' Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temse
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

Where to go to when its still low season, already having good weather and spent some quality time with the whole family? I discovered just that place and its called : Sant Antonio. Easily booked on the internet, got 4 cheap tickets on Ryanair, hired a car and it only tooks 5 hours to get there from Brussels (1h20min flying time included). Sant Antonio is magical complex situated in one of the nicest areas of Tuscany. By car it only takes you 5 minutes to the city of Montepulciano and 1 hour to either Sienna or Firenze.
The complex offers plenty of distraction for the young and old and the scenery surrounding this place is breath taking. On arrival you're always welcomed by one of the staff or the manager himself and within 15 min all the neccesary paperwork is done.
What surprised me is that the owner/manager mr. Pannevis Nico speaks a variety of languages, including Dutch ! The manager knows the area well enough to sent you to the best spots in Tuscany, especially the non-tourist ones. Every house in Sant Antonio has its own style and all the luxury needed is provided. Towles are changed daily and even the fireplace when used gets cleaned on a daily base filled up with new fire wood !!!
After one week my kids didn't even wanted to return home yet...so i had to promise them that we will return there within the near future. I would like to thank mr. Pannevis,his lovely wife and great staff for helping us out when needed. Gracie for everything. We will be back !!!

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nico-SantAntonio, Owner at Sant' Antonio, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Thank you for your kind words and it was a pleasure to have you and your family staying with us this spring! Grazie - a presto, Nico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

Nico is one of the most accommodating hosts I've met. He instantly makes you feel like a welcomed local!

I stayed in Nico's apartment for rent in the centre of Montepulciano, steps from all of the restaurants and shopping in town. The large balcony affords wonderful vistas of the Tuscan hillside, and the apartment is fully stocked with all conveniences that you'll need, including a full kitchen and a computer plus wireless internet! There's even a nice Bialetti caffettierra if you like to wake up and make your own coffee Italian style.

Though I preferred to stay up in town, the agriturismo grounds at Sant'Antonio are also immaculate and I must say that if you're looking for a nice quiet agritourismo retreat, look no further!

Grazie Nico per la tua ospitalità!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nico-SantAntonio, Owner at Sant' Antonio, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind words. I am honoured and very happy to read that you enjoyed staying in our newly renovated accommodation in Montepulciano. I hope to be able to welcome you back soon again. Grazie tanto - Nico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sant' Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sant' Antonio

Address: Via della Montagna 6 / 8, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 800 year Franciscan Monastery converted into spacious accommodation in the heart of the Tuscan countryside with wonderful views of the Valdichiana on one side of the property and the famous rolling hills, forests and olive groves on the other. Sant’ Antonio is situated 3 kilometres from the Renaissance town of Montepulciano ideally located to visit Siena, Assisi, Pienza, Montalcino, Cortona and many other medieval towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sant' Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Antonio Montepulciano
Sant Antonio Hotel Montepulciano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sant' Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.