We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a .. phew!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meuble il Riccio

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montepulciano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Meuble il Riccio
Save
You added Meuble il Riccio to your Saves list
via Talosa 21, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Bucharest
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Room with a .. phew!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

First feeling is that one enters a mysterious museum, as the old mansion is impressive. But the place suddenly becomes friendly at the view of the hundreds of hedgehogs-toys exposed everywhere (il riccio, yes). And at the warm welcome of Mr. Gio, the owner, and lovely Simona. View was spectacular. Shortly: the most beautiful place we have ever stayed in. A true gem.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Igheorghita,
it is always a pleasure to have lovely guests like you . Our, is a work in constant progress and change. We always want the best for our guests.
We will wait you next time.
Ciao Ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    61
    13
    0
    5
See reviews for
56
298
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Meuble Il Riccio was our first stop of our honeymoon. We had a great room with a view of the Tuscan countryside. We woke, on the morning of May 1st, with the sound of the town band celebrating May Day. Unfortunately for us I had to be rushed to the hospital for what turned out to be a minor problem(nothing to do with our stay). Gio and his wife could not have been more helpful and kinder, not only to me but even more so to my wife. When I was released, Gio met us at the hospital to drive us back to town. Since we were not booked to stay that night at the Meuble and there was not a room available, Gio made arrangements for us to stay at another local hotel. He even went so far as to have our luggage with him so we could get on our way after he drop us off. Gio was our hero. The hotel is wonderful, rooms are spacious,the breakfast terrific and you are right of the square. This is the hotel to stay in when in the area. As for Gio, we would just like to say: Milli grazie!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear rjpf131,
we remember you very well. We hope that next time when you will come back, you will be able to enjoy the city and its surroundings. Thanks for the review.
Ciao Ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at Meuble Il Riccio for a couple of nights while doing the wine route in Tuscany. Great place! At the top of the hill, it's always a grind to get home if you've been out all day, but there are a few restaurants close by that are open for dinner up at the top hill as well.
Parking is available but getting to it is a fun challenge, if you're up for it.
The building is charming and guests are genuinely welcomed to the place. "Welcome to my home" was the line Giovanni used while shaking my hand when we first arrived.
The hotel is absolutely spotless, and is attended to like a super-yacht. Obviously Giovanni is very proud of his hotel. If nothing else, it was completely "Spic & Span". Furniture is solid, beds are comfortable (been on better but also way worse), bathrooms are very nice and well appointed, and the views are, of course, something to behold.
Breakfast… meehh. 8 Euros. For the money, consider tripping around town. Great delights to be had in the early mornings.
Mourning doves abound so sleep when they do. Internet's OK. Television? Who cares? You're in Tuscany!
We'd return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Jeff748,
Thank you for your review. We try always to do our best to satisfy our guests.
Hope to see you next time.
Arrivederci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Great little B&B with a fabulous view! Choose a room with a balcony overlooking the Tuscan countryside. The hosts are very friendly. Location and view couldn't be better. If you are driving, be sure to get a parking pass from the hotel in advance.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Susanna727,
thank you for your review. We try to satisfy all our guests. Hope you will come back in the future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This was by far the best hotel we stayed at in our multi-stop Italy vacation. The Suite was outstanding with plenty of room, amazing views of the Tuscan countryside, modern bathroom and a rich historical building. The owners and management were like family proving outstanding service and hospitality, great dinner recommendations and pleasant conversation. The view of the Tuscan countryside and town of Montepulciano at dusk from the rooftop pation was also great. I will definitely stay here the next time we come to Tuscany.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear EricSmd,
Your review gratifies us so much, and especially the title. We are glad that you had a good time here with us and next time we are waiting with the door open.
Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Giovanni and Ivana, the owners, feel more like hosts than like owners. They are justifiably proud of their beautifully restored hotel, once a seminary. The rooms are gigantic. The breakfasts are made and served by Ivana, the wife's owner. It is not possible to show in photographs how beautiful the building is. It is extraordinarily clean and has many personal touches. You feel that you are visiting a noble Italian family. Giovanni has many paintings by his father, who (I believe) is a professor of Vatican art. He will come pick you up when you give up trying to figure out where to park (a real problem). Ivana is the warmest and sweetest person we met in all of Italy.

Room Tip: Ask for the big room that includes a porch overlooking the central courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear bistroparis,
Your review makes us great pleasure especially for the fact that you appreciate the history of the building. At your description we should not add anything. We are very happy that you spent your time in a positive way here with us.
Thank you and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Superior Suite is a MUST. Our room was breathtaking and comfortable and clean.

The customer service was beyond perfect. Very accommodating staff that treated us as if we were visiting someone's home.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear CindySmed,
this is a review that gratifies in full all our efforts and hard work. The words start from your heart and come to ours.
Thank you and we will wait you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meuble il Riccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meuble il Riccio

Address: via Talosa 21, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caroti family is delighted to announce the opening of another new place to stay called "Riccio Suite" on the first floor of the family's palace where, on the second floor there is the "Meublè il Riccio" which has been open twenty-eight years ago.The "Riccio Suite" has five beautiful bedrooms with panoramic view and old fashion Tuscan style furniture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Meuble Il Riccio Hotel Montepulciano
Meuble Il Riccio Montepulciano
Hotel Meuble Il Riccio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meuble il Riccio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.