We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meuble il Riccio

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montepulciano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Meuble il Riccio
Save Saved
You added Meuble il Riccio to your Saves list
via Talosa 21, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 29 hotels in Montepulciano
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Best of Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We loved Il Ricco... Gio, Ivana and the staff were great. Our oversized corner room (35) had the most amazing view of the valley and the city. Gio proved to be the perfect host when we needed an emergency dentist visit. Grazia Gio. Ivana's home baked goods were the best. Their restaurant recommendations were perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Maria T,
we try to do the best for our guests. Sometimes they are happy sometimes a little less. But of course we are always at your disposal. In you case, we find a good dentist.
Thank you for your post and Arrivederci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    355
    58
    12
    0
    5
See reviews for
48
273
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We learned of Meuble il Riccio from my brother who stayed and loved it two years ago. Rick Steves continues to recommend the B&B, and we even saw his picture in the breakfast room! The name means "hedgehog" and there are hundreds of hedgehogs throughout the lovely medieval home. Gio and Ivana are gracious hosts, and Ivana's homemade tarts on the breakfast bar are TO DIE FOR! Each day I found a new favorite. Our room, #33, was the nicest of all the rooms we enjoyed in 19 days in Europe. The bed was firm and comfortable, the entire property was clean-as-a-whistle, and the view from our balcony was surreal. We love the small hill town of Montepulciano, and hope to return. When we do, we will stay at Meuble il Riccio.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear drlynn525,
thanks for " bucket list" and everything that you described so detailed.
We are happy when our guests are happy.
Hope to see you soon.
Ciao! Ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Saw hotel on a Rick Steves' TV show, and read up on it. We made a good choice. It was a great place to stay in Montepulciano. We had a room in the new wing. The view from our room (and bathroom) was fantastic. Our hosts were very friendly. The hotel is more like a B&B. Great small town to explore.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear NewOrleansBenmo,
we are glad that you have been well at Meublè IL RICCIO and you enjoy the town.
Yes is true: in a small town you may find great things to explore and to in a small hotel, great things to do.
Ciao Ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Il Riccio is situated in the heart of Montepulciano, a quick walk to anything in town you want to see or do. It is a lovely, old palace that has been lovingly and comfortably furnished by its caring owners. We were lucky enough to reserve one of the two superior rooms, and it truly was superior! The room had a very private balcony with a sweeping view over the city and out to the hills beyond. It was breath-taking! The bathroom is beautifully appointed and the bed was very comfortable. We slept soundly, since there was absolutely no noise at all, even though we were located near the breakfast room. And speaking of breakfast, the owner serves beautiful cakes that she bakes herself each evening. They are fresh and delicious! She is also more than happy to whip up a wonderful cappucino for you. We felt well-taken care of there, and when we left, we felt like we were leaving behind our new good friends.

Room Tip: We had one of the "superior" rooms. The view was astounding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear jomama55,
we are very glad that your stay here at Meublè IL RICCIO was great. Yes! the superior rooms with the balcony have an edge over ... without diminishing the other rooms, there are for all tastes. But especially if you come back, the delicious cappuccino Ivana waiting for you.
Thank you and Arrivederci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at Meuble il Riccio in October 2012, and had big expectations due to the good reviews on Tripadvisor. The hotel met our expectations in every way!

If you are looking for a traditional Chain hotel like Premier Inn (we have nothing bad to say about Premier Inn, we like that Chain too!), keep looking. You will not find a big buffet, a lift, or a swimming pool.

But what you get is a lovely, charming hotel with a very nice staff on top of Montepulchiano, with the world's best views! If you book a room with a view you will wake up to the fog slowly leaving the valley below... Need we say more?

Plus: Charm, great service, location, view and parking.
Minus: The breakfast has a limited selection and is for the sweet tooth.

Meuble il Riccio have our best recommendation!

Vi overnattet på Meuble il Riccio i oktober 2012. Forventingene var store på grunn av gode ord på Tripadvisor, og hotellet innfridde på alle mulig måter.

Ønsker du et strømlinjeformet kjedehotell, let videre, her får du kanskje ikke det en forventer av buffeter, heis, og svømmebasseng.

Men, du går også glipp av et utrolig søtt og sjarmerende hotell, med et hyggelig vertskap, på toppen av Montepulciano, og med verdens fineste utsikt. Bestill rom med utsikt, og våkne opp til at disen sakte forlater dalen under deg. Trenger vi si mer?

Pluss: sjarme, god service, beliggenhet, utsikt og parkering.
Minus: frokosten er litt for spartansk og av det søte slaget.

Meuble il Riccio har våre beste anbefalinger!

Room Tip: Velg et rom med utsikt. Koster mer, men er verdt hver krone! Choose a room with a view. A bit mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Anders1976,
thanks for " charming, great location" and everything that you described so detailed. What we can do.. is waiting you and your family next time in our small hotel.
Arrivederci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Amazing guest house in a perfect location right off of Piazza Grande in the center of Montepulciano. This walled city located on a cliff is a tourists dream of Italy - and a tourist drivers nightmare! Gio and his staff were so welcoming that they even came to the other side of town to lead us to the parking lot. The house has all of the necessities - wifi, aircon - at a great price. The breakfast was homemade and delicious and recommended a restaurant in walking distance for dinner. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear flojo 11,
we are always ready to accompany our clients if we have the opportunity. He's right our location is wonderful and worth visiting the city even if for the first time, sometimes, becomes a nightmare for drivers; but the town becomes "the dream of every tourist" as you wrote.
Hope to see you again.
Ciao Ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Hi, We stayed here for 2 nights. Let me start with the positives. The location was great. It was right behind the Piazza Grande, center of Montepulciano. The view from our room of the valley was stunning. Gio was a great host, and his wife made delicious muffins for breakfast. How, part of the breakfast was lacking. The drinks were from a machine and not very good (hot cocoa was basically hot chocolate syrup). The building is quite old & historic, but well kept, with good security. Wifi was free & signal was good. We had 3 main challenges while staying here, which made me give it just a 3 star. Firstly, there's no help with the luggage. When asked, they said its not a far walk from the parking lot. But it was challenging for us, as we had to drag the bags over cobblestones and then up 3 flights of steps. Secondly, our room was not cleaned on the 2nd day (supposedly a miscommunication with the maid), but they only work till 1 pm. And lastly, the shower (understandably small given the old building) had terrible water pressure and temperature control.

But, overall, the hotel is decent with a nice owner. Good price as well.

Room Tip: We loved facing the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meuble il Riccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meuble il Riccio

Address: via Talosa 21, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caroti family is delighted to announce the opening of another new place to stay called "Riccio Suite" on the first floor of the family's palace where, on the second floor there is the "Meublè il Riccio" which has been open twenty-eight years ago.The "Riccio Suite" has five beautiful bedrooms with panoramic view and old fashion Tuscan style furniture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Meuble Il Riccio Hotel Montepulciano
Meuble Il Riccio Montepulciano
Hotel Meuble Il Riccio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meuble il Riccio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.