We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely owner but characterless room.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Meuble il Riccio

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montepulciano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Meuble il Riccio
Save Saved
You added Meuble il Riccio to your Saves list
via Talosa 21, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 29 hotels in Montepulciano
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely owner but characterless room.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Great location just off the main piazza with parking not to far away.

The owner was extremely welcoming and the reception/breakfast area was full if character and personal touches which was strange considering our room had none. The place felt clean and the breakfast was decent.

Our room had the least character of all the rooms I have seen in Italy (and within this stay alone we have been in 16 venues). It was cleaner than some on our trip! the double bed was 2 singles pushed together, the shower was not powerful and the pressure changed throughout. We were also freezing during the night!

It was typical of a 3 star Italian bed and breakfast. I prefer my bed at home as it is comfier, warmer and has more character but the staff were lovely and it was clean.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear AlysandRich,
We are sorry that your stay was not to your complete satisfaction. But, viewing the other reviews written by you to other hotels, we think that the Italian beds can never be better than your house. Next time, if you want, you expect in a superior room, larger, more comfortable and at a higher price.
Ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    355
    58
    12
    0
    5
See reviews for
48
273
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broomfield, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

From the moment you arrive Gio and Ivanna see to your every need. Perfect location and excellent ambience. Rooms are good sized and priced right. The courtyard and terrace provided a nice surprise. Breakfast is not included but for 8€ it was worth the extra cost. We will definetly stay here again when in Tuscany.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Swamo7836,
thanks for your description and for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor.If you want to return, our door is always open for you.
Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Great atmosphere and care in Gio and Ivanas Tuscan home with marble stairs and friendly welcome. Gio and his wife make sure you are comfortable and satisfied in your stay. The roof top terrace with panoramic views is the best spot to take photos of Montepulciano and its surrounding hills and countryside. The rooms are cozy and warm at night for this time of the year. There are views from the room window and the amenities are modern. Breakfast is served in the main entrance room for around 8 euros and includes fresh cakes baked by Ivana and excellent expresso, cappichiano or American coffee if you would like. The location is city center so you may walk to all restaurants, church and winery's with ease. The value and comfort is here, we would not consider any other place to stay while staying in Montepulciano.

Room Tip: All are beautiful, clean and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Kare-M327,
"feels like at home" the title says it all.
We are obviously very happy for your review and for his positive comments regarding your stay at our small hotel.
Hope to see you again.
Ciao! Ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed. The owners (Gio and Ivana) and family were very pleasant and helpful. The room we had was clean and fresh. The location was equally prime real estate. A few yards from the hotel was the palazzio with a few restaurants and bars on the location. I would highly recomend this property for your next stay in Montepulciano, Italy!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Bruce S,
Thank you for your post and thank you for your words of appreciation.
We are happy to see that you had good time at Meublè IL RICCIO.
We will wait you next time.
Arrivederci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullica Hill
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Lovely family run hotel. Beautifully renovated rooms Ina house that is 7th generation family owned.
We had reserved the superior room that said it had great views. Well, that was an understatement. We had a huge terrace
With absolutely stunning views! The room was large and comfortable, and not too hot, like so many Italian hotels. The bathroom was a little small, but fine.
Breakfast was adequate. As long as they have cappuccino and filled croissants I'm happy, and they had both.
Highly recommend....definitely get the rooms with the amazing terrace and views!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Mrs Rebecca S,
we are very happy that your stay here at Meublè IL RICCIO it was great and thank you for having described so well our hotel.
Our door will be always open for you and your family.
Arrivederci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife and I had the chance to stay at MEUBLE' IL RICCIO in May of 2012. It was fantastic! Our room was just incredible, with a balcony overlooking the rolling farmland below the city of Montepulciano. Everything was perfect, from the bed to the incredible bath. Giorgio and Ivana Caroti were wonderful hosts. We enjoyed delicious pastries and cappuccino every morning.

On our trip in, we got delayed leaving Fiorenze, or Florence, and ended up finally arriving at Montepulciano in the dark and rain. I had no hope of finding my way into the old city. We stopped at an open restaurant and the owner called the hotel. Giorgio was kind enough to drive down and guide us in.

I just can't say enough good things about the owners and this incredible hotel. They make you feel at home and what a splendid home it is.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony, if one is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Mich M,
we thank you for your post and we are happy to see that you had good time with us.We are sure you will be back and we will be here to welcome you!
Our home is you home.
Arrivederci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Many thanks to Bill and especially Ivana for making us feel at home away from home. Marvelous, historic property (be sure to spend time on the rooftop deck), wonderful view of the city from our room, marvelous breakfast, and service throughout.

If you do nothing else in Montepulciano, make sure you participate in the market day and go to the restaurants that Bill reccomends, as each was more magnificent than the night before. Some writers complain that the showers are small and in fact, they are. This charming historic property is truly authentic!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
we are very honor to be for you "the best". We work hard to give a good impression to our guests and leave a beautiful memory. It seems that we have succeeded with you and for us it is a great professional and personal satisfaction.
Grazie mille.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meuble il Riccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meuble il Riccio

Address: via Talosa 21, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caroti family is delighted to announce the opening of another new place to stay called "Riccio Suite" on the first floor of the family's palace where, on the second floor there is the "Meublè il Riccio" which has been open twenty-eight years ago.The "Riccio Suite" has five beautiful bedrooms with panoramic view and old fashion Tuscan style furniture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Meuble Il Riccio Hotel Montepulciano
Meuble Il Riccio Montepulciano
Hotel Meuble Il Riccio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meuble il Riccio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.