We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Small Tuscan Winery Getting Top Marks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tenuta Valdipiatta

Tenuta Valdipiatta
Via della Ciarliana, 25/A, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
(+39) 0578 757930
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 32 Activities in Montepulciano
Type: Wineries, Factory Tours, Food & Drink
Activities: Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With the spirit of an elegant boutique winery, Tenuta Valdipiatta is pleased to welcome visitors who wish to acquire a deeper knowledge of wine and Extra-Virgin Olive Oil production process. To let our guests enjoy the time spent at Valdipiatta and to satisfy all the expectations connected to a high-level tourism, we develop different types of entertainment. We are always at our guest€™s' complete disposal in order to satisfy any personal request.
Toronto
1 review
“A Small Tuscan Winery Getting Top Marks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012



Drive down the long dirt road approaching Tenuta Valdipiatta and you witness the glory of the past and the taste of the future.
Acres and acres of vines, some decades old, some barely a year, roots finding a home in some of the most valuable terroir in Italy.
Everything about this place feels authentic. This is not product of good marketing. This is product of care, attention and excellent grapes.
We lucked out on this day because it was prime harvest time. The workers were hand picking the vines. Truckloads of fat juicy grapes were poured into the de-stemmer and the fermentation process begins.
We got a tour and tasting of four of their wines for 10 Euros. They have another tour that sounds sublime: a sensory wine tasting that guides you through the experience using natural and artificial aromas that lead you through the sampling of three of their fine wines.
I called at the last minute on the off chance they had an available time. Lucia graciously obliged with a tour of the estate and a tasting of some of their best.

It's one of the many things I love about this country. There is always something around the corner to discover that makes your life so much richer for having experienced it.

In this case, it was the Valdipiatta Vino Nobile Di Montipulciano 2009. And it wasn't just us. Robert Parker gave it a whopping 93 - not bad considering it is only 17 Euros a bottle.
We sampled the Rosso, the Vino Nobile, the Riserva and Lucia threw in a Super Tuscan blend of Canaiolo and Merlot for comparison.

Tenuta Valdipiatta bottles 140,000 bottles a year. And I am taking home four of them for tonight's dinner and four of them back to Canada. Such difficult decisions. Allowing you to bring back only four bottles is sheer torture. The signs that say We Ship Worldwide are so misleading. In Canada, it only valuable of you are buying crazy expensive wine. The base price for shipping 6 bottles in 110 Euros. Argh!

But Valdipiatta will make my final cut. And when I am sitting on my back deck with great friends, a plate of simple pasta and I pop open that bottle - it will bring back memories of another perfect day in the outskirts of Montepulciano, Italy - a glass in hand and a dream to return again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    15
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect timing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Having failed to find a winery to visit without pre-booking on previous holidays to Italy, this time we booked a wine tour at Tenuta Valdipiatta in advance! Lucia from the winery providing us with a menu of events from which we picked the 'Flavours of Tuscany' Tour which included a selection of typical Tuscan foods to accompany the wine tasting. On the day, Lucia was our guide and gave us a comprehensive tour of the facilities explaining the key elements of the wine production process at the winery together with the criteria for classification of the various wines they produce. The wines we tasted were excellent and the food was a simple collection of cured meats, Pecorino cheese bread and olive oil. Our highlight was that on the day we visited, the winery were just starting a grape harvest so to see the latest batch being brought in, de-stalked and crushed ready for fermentation. A thoroughly pleasant experience all round!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Just ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

We visited the winery as a recommendation from another patron in another town (Montalcino.). Unfortunately we were not impressed. We had heard that the owners were wonderful, knowledgeable, etc, but on the day we went they were not there. The tour guide was ok, but it felt as though she wanted to get done soon. In fact, when the tour was over and we did the tasting she had no input about the wines which is highly unlikely in such a small winery. Then, we ordered our wines and those were brought by someone else. Really! She disappeared without saying thanks or goodbye or anything. Something else that was somewhat distasteful was that they did not waive the tasting fee with a purchase, and we purchased 5 bottles.
My husband and I have been to dozens of wineries from California to Mendoza to Greece and we have visited many Italian wineries, mostly boutique, small wineries. This has been the only bad experience.
The wines were good and the ham and cheese platter were good, which I guess it's a good thing. But you can get good wine and snacks at better service (or make sure owners are in town.)

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth Beach, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wine Tasting and Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great tour. It was just my husband and I. Very personal and detailed. Wine tasting with crackers and cheese...Not to mention, GREAT WINE!!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Wine Tasting Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Wonderful visit. Beautiful property. Extremely friendly people. The wine tour was one of the highlights of our European vacation. The owners of the winery are accomodating and friendly -- we were in the area on a Sunday (they are closed on the weekend) and by working with them before we arrived were able to arrange a private tour of the winery with the owner. We will certainly be recommending Tenuta Valdipiatta to our friends and colleagues going forward.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tenuta Valdipiatta also viewed

Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Tenuta Valdipiatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenuta Valdipiatta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.