We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Poggiano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Poggiano to your Saves list
Villa Poggiano
Via di Poggiano, 7, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
New york
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and it was a fabulous experience. We chose the property based on trip advisor reviews, and we were so happy we did. The room we had was overlooking the valley, it was our own little cottage with a cute balcony. Everything was updated and modern, and there were a lot of little touches like a small heater in case we were chilled at night. The breakfast was by far the best we had in Italy. Everything was fresh and home made, from yogurt to bread, to cakes and muffins, biscotti and cookies. One day there was chocolate torte and tiramisu for breakfast, which were phenomenal. Even the eggs tasted better. The owner, Stefania, is very knowledable about the places to go and how to get there, she recommended a small village and a local restaurant for lunch one day. It was delicious with an incredible view from the terrace. She makes reservations for guests and wherever you go, you are treated well as a guest of Poggiano. It was great to stay outside of the hilltop villages, much more quiet and peaceful in the country, but just a 3 minute ride to the town. An enthusiastic thumbs up, I wish I could go back soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
72sfn, Proprietario at Villa Poggiano, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Mrs Susiiequesie,

first thank you to have choosen Villa Poggiano during your stay in MOntepulciano, and thank you for the wonderful review. I am happy that you liked the little room in the lodge and that you have appreciated our service.
Another thank you to all the staff of Villa Poggiano, they do a great job.
Hope to guest you again
Kind regards
stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    11
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
112
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Villa Poggiano set the bar for our trip to Tuscany and after 4 nights in the villa. The property is just minutes from Montepulciano and is in a beautiful setting on a hill surrounded by olive trees. The owner and onsite manager Stefania is an excellent host and made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived on property. Our room was on the first floor of the Villa and was a spacious suite. We had a nice breakfast included each morning and Stefania helped us plan our activities daily from scenic walks, visits to vineyards, lunch & dinner suggestions and reservations, and a cooking class. We were not disappointed by a single suggestion and she even came to pick us up when we got a little off track on a walk. Also, the cooking class at Villa Poggiano was one of the highlights of our trip as we learned to make a number of traditional Tuscan dishes and dined in the Villa. I really cannot say enough good things about our stay and service provided and we will be back the next trip to Tuscany!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
72sfn, Proprietario at Villa Poggiano, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Mr Aggie9797,

your review is the n.1 of 2013 and how to start better. Thank you very much for the wonderful words , it has been simply a pleasure for me help you and your wife in organize your daily activity.
I am very happy that you enjoy our cooking class, and I remember you have a lot of passione for cooking so I am pleased you learn something new.

I will be very pleased to guest you here again.

Sincerely
Stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The property itself is unique, well establshed and maintained, extraordinary pool. Very relaxing and I think if you are looking for a Tuscany experience, one of the best location to stay. Over looking the valley and the rural pastoral, palazzo itself has a dignity. The statues located on different corners and the landscape is great. Pool itself, makes you feel 18-19th century royal.

We stayed only 1 night here. Rooms are well decorated and wide. High ceilings, nice bathroom.

They welcome you very pleasent and the breakfast was great. They are on details that the selection of the music on the breakfast was one of the markable touch.

Room Tip: We stayed at a room facing towards the back garden. I think the rooms looking to the valley will hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
72sfn, Owner at Villa Poggiano, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Mr Gorhan,
this is a Christmas present, thank you very much.
I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Poggiano, and I hope you will stay longer next time. This area is one of the best of Tuscany and there are so many think that I would like to suggest to visit .
Looking forward to see you again,
Sincerely
Stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Tucked away, just off a main road into Montepuliciano, my Wife & I stayed 3 nights @ V-P in late September to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary & tour the area.
We had consulted Trip Advisor prior to booking & yes earlier comments + those most recently posted confirm the relaxed atmosphere & superb Breakfasts on offer.
Without question, Stefania was an added bonus as our "trip advisor", recommending local circular trips, restaurants, sights like Cortona & an excellent visit to the family run Dei Winery 10 minutes from V-P.

Room Tip: All rooms were sited to overlook the rolling Tuscan countryside. We had Villa 14 which ticked all th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
72sfn, Owner at Villa Poggiano, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Mtet96,
thank you for your wonderful review, thank you to have choosen Villa Poggiano during your honey moon journy in Italy and I am very happy that you had a nice experiece in our boutique hotel
Hope to guest you again, maybe one of your next anniversary trip
Sincerely
stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife and I travel to Italy every year. We had the privilege of staying at Villa Poggiano in Montepulciano two years ago and were immediately smitten with the bucolic setting of the Villa and the superb care we received from Stefania and her professional staff. We were so impressed that we returned this past October. Rarely is an expectation not only met but exceeded. Stefania has now accomplished just that on both of our visits. From the moment the gates to the magnificient entrance swing open to invite you down the cypress lined driveway to Stefania's contagious enthusiasm and expertise, you know you are in for a rare and memorable experience. It is as if you have been invited to stay in a private Villa where every need has been anticipated and flawlessly delivered. The suite we stayed in was marvelous, the views breathtaking and the experience one to be savored. In all the years we have been visiting Tuscany, we have had the privilege of staying in many wonderful locations but none more loved than Villa Poggiano! We will return many times to visit our dear friend Stefania and Villa Poggiano. When you think of Tuscany including the views, the people, the wine and the food, you can do no better than this wonderful, magical place called Villa Poggiano! Grazie mille Stefania!!!

Tom and Cheri Kelley

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
72sfn, Owner at Villa Poggiano, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
GRAZIE MILLE !!!!! Mr TCKLouisville,
thank you to came back a second time to Villa Poggiano and I will be more than honorated if you would like to stay with us again.
You are an expert traveller in Italy , you have been in hotel much nicer than the villa, so I am particulary happy to read your second review for Villa Poggiano

I am looking forward to see you and your lovely wife again in the future

Kind regards
stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Whatever your Tuscan fantasy may be, it will be surpassed at the Villa Poggiano. In addition to the beautiful property itself and its surroundings, Stefania (la piu bella Toscana) and her staff have raised the bar to a level of excellence rarely achieved in the hospitality industry. The attention to detail and the service lavished on each and every guest is usually reserved for royalty, or A-level celebrities, at other establishments. Here each guest matters, and that is the difference you will feel. If you're considering any other properties, put them out of your mind and book a stay here, now.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent; you cannot go wrong with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
72sfn, Owner at Villa Poggiano, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Helen K,
this morning I got up very early , I couldn't sleep because I was thinking about the bussiness.
You know, I was thinking: what can I do to improve the service, what can I do to satisfy with new inputs my guest, I am doing well what I am doing now? etc...
Well, when this morning I opened my black barry and I read your review, you gave me all the answer I needed.
You ( wich is generic , since I mean in this moment all the guest) are the reason of my job, you give me the inputs and the energy I need.

Dear Helen, really thank you for your wonderful words and I hope to see you again at villa POggiano

Kind regards
Stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Villa Poggiano exceeded our expectations in every way...from the warm welcome we received by owner Stefania to the staff and the beautiful suite we were upgraded to upon check-in it truly was a memorable experience!

We woke up to amazing views of the Tuscan valley with a variety of Fresh breakfast choices incl fresh homemade yogurt, eggs made to order, pastries and lots more...after roaming the neighboring tuscan towns we ended our day with a breathtaking view of the Tuscan sunset from our Villa grounds.

We will definitely be back only this time we plan to stay longer!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
72sfn, Owner at Villa Poggiano, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Rpatel82,
thank you very much for your wonderful review and that the time to write such nice word about Villa Poggiano.
I am very happy that your stay exceeded your expectation and that me and my wonderful staff satisfy all your needs.
I hope to see you again at the villa
Sincerely
Stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Poggiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Poggiano

Address: Via di Poggiano, 7, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Poggiano is a charming boutique hotel with 3 double rooms and 11 suites. Located in the beautiful south of Tuscany with its rolling hills, vineyard, olive trees. The villa Poggiano is a perfect spot to discover Tuscany and to relax in a unique setting, with professional staff ready to assist its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Escapio and Tingo so you can book your Villa Poggiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Poggiano Hotel Montepulciano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Poggiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.