We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great x4” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Poggiano

Save Saved
You added Villa Poggiano to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Poggiano
Via di Poggiano, 7, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 29 hotels in Montepulciano
Seattle
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great x4”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This was our fourth time a Villa Poggiano. Each time it just gets better! Stefania and her staff are very welcoming, excellent at what they do, and never seemed bothered by even the simplest request. This time we took the cooking class and discovered the joy of Tuscan cooking and how good it is. Will do again!

The room was excellent in size and very comfortable (we stayed in the second floor two room suite—quite spacious). The bathroom was immense by even US standards. The pool and grounds are pristine and only if it had been a touch warmer we would have used the pool. The benefit of being outside of Montepulciano is the quite and the view of the surrounding Tuscan hillsides out your window. Not to be missed! The breakfast is very good and eggs can be cooked to order. My wife took advantage of this each morning but I stayed with the salami, coppa, cheese and bread. There is a wide ranch of products including fresh baked cakes.

The person who makes this place so special is Stefania. She is always there with a smile and a laugh. Each time we would talk to her about our plans for the day it was like the first time she every talked about the antique fair in Arezzo. It was a wonderful day visiting this nearby city, which we would have never done had it not been for Stefania recommendation. She is also a VERY good read on were to eat in Montepulciano. Every recommendation this time and in the past have been first class.

Cannot recommend highly enough! Go—you won’t be disappointed!

Room Tip: Splurge and go for the suite room 3. Wonderful room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    10
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
99
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Finlandaise à Paris
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The villa is a little bit outside Montepulciano in an amazing surrounding. The villa and other residential buildings are nice and of good quality, too, but it is especially because of the views and the mind relaxing atmosphere that one should choose this hotel. We had a suite with a wonderful view. The hotel does not have a restaurant, but the personnel is very helpful and friendly, and they made us a reservation for a lovely restaurant La Grotta, where we had one of our best meals during our eight days tour in the Tuscany region The breakfast of top quality was served on a lovely terrace. The old swimming pool is especially beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at Villa Poggiano, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Dear Mrs Pauliina5,
thank you very much for the lovely words and review, I am very happy that you enjoy your short stay at the villa and I hope to guest you again .
Kind regards
stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Villa Poggiano is paradise! We stayed in the villa for three nights in June and loved every minute of it. The rooms were very spacious and well decorated. The view from our room was breathtaking. Each morning, we enjoyed our delicious buffet breakfast with made to order omelets, fresh pastries, cheeses, meats and more. The pool was a huge hit with our teenage daughters after a long day of touring the countryside. The proprietor Stefania was so wonderful and friendly. She was a wealth of knoweldge sharing restaurant and daytrip tips with us. This was one of the most beautiful places that I have ever stayed at on a vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at Villa Poggiano, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Dear Mrs Jackie,

I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Villa with all your family, that you appreciate the services and amenities of the Villa.

Hope to see you and your family again.

KInd regards
stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a beautiful suite in the main villa.the two room suite was a perfect space for my husband, 7 year old daughter and I. The property provided great privacy with a balance of excitement and life fom the other guests and staff. The property is in fabulous condition and extremely well maintained. We LOVED the pool and beautiful grounds. Breakfast was amazing with home made yogurt, lovely cheese, ham and sweets. We were lucky enough to be there one evening when a local operaschool performed on the property. We will be back!!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at Villa Poggiano, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Dear Mrs AnnMarie,
tha pleasure to had you here was mine. I loved your lovely, charming daughter and her enthusiasm for everything.

I am very happy you could enjoy our first concert at the villa, was a special start.

I hope to guest you soon

Kind regards

stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

When we initially arrived at Villa Poggiano (and announced our presence over the intercom) we watched the iron gates swing open revealing the long cypress lined driveway. Stefania waved us to the main villa house and welcomed us to Villa Poggiano. Her warm greeting let us know that we were expected to share this historic Tuscan estate as if it was our own.
There are rooms in the villa itself, but we stayed in a suite in one of the lodges on the beautifully landscaped grounds. The bedroom and sitting room were large and comfortable, and the travertine tiled bathroom was excellent.
The villa has a dramatic marble swimming pool, and is surrounded by park land, olive groves, and terraces offering long views over the Val d’Orcia. We were lucky to see Ring-necked Pheasant, and many beautiful wild flowers while walking the adjoining “white roads”.
An excellent breakfast includes fruits, pastries, yogurt, cereal, ham, cheeses --- and eggs cooked to order. Breakfast is served until 11:00am, allowing a leisurely start; but we were out early each morning. The Villa makes a convenient “base” to see nearby Montepulciano, Monticchiello , La Foce Garden, Bagno Vignoni, Pienza, San Quirico de Orcia; and daytrips further afield to Montalcino, Cortona, Siena, etc.
Stefania and Angela are knowledgeable and very helpful in recommending itineraries, suggesting sights to see, and making reservations for wine tastings and restaurants (don’t miss the tour and lunch at Avignonesi). But perhaps the best highlight is to bring a bottle of local wine back to the villa to enjoy on the terrace watching the sunset over Val d’Orcia (after all, this is the home of Vino Nobile di Montepulciano and the nearby Brunello di Montalcino), My next life will be as a Tuscan! Until then, I’ll just return as a guest to Villa Poggiano.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
72sfn, Owner at Villa Poggiano, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Mr Navygoat,

thank you for your Great review and to have shared your experience at Villa Poggiano with all the TA readers.

Unitl you won't have your home in Tuscany I will be very happy to welcome at Villa Poggiano

Sincerely

Stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Villa Poggiano for three nights in May. This was, in both of our opinions, one of the loveliest places we've ever stayed. Our only regret was that we hadn't booked for more than three nights. Each morning we were greeted with one of the best European breakfast buffets we've experienced, with fresh breads, homemade yogurt, fruit, jams, cheese and meat, fresh juices and coffee as well as cappuccino. And yes, for all you Americans who must have eggs, eggs made to order if you wish. From the Villa (did I mention it has been lovingly restored by the owner's family, with original ceiling brickwork still intact?) a short drive takes you to the town of Montepulciano. It was also a good central location for many of the other beautiful Tuscan hill towns. We will definitely stay at Villa Poggiano when we return to this area in the future (which we have vowed to do, since the entire Tuscan vacation was wonderful).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at Villa Poggiano, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Mr SandiegoBeachbum,

thank you very much to have choosen Villa Poggiano during your stay in the area of Montepulciano and I am very pleased that you enjoy our villa and your suite.

I will be very happy to welcome you again at Villa Poggiano

Kind regards
Stefania SAvini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

My wife and I recently spent 4 incredible nights at the Villa Poggiano in Montepulciano. I honestly cannot say enough about this amazing property and the proprietor Stefania. The suites and bathrooms were beautiful, spacious and comfortable. The main rooms of the villa are elegant yet inviting. The pool, grounds and pathways are magnificent and meticulously cared for. You could eat off the floor anywhere on the property! The views were spectacular, like some enchanted place. The breakfast selections were tops in quality and variety, with a lovely cook serving made to order omlets. We did a cooking class with some of our fellow guests at the Villa, again 5 star, fantastic. Stefania is devoted to her guests and is extremely knowledgeable about all the restaurants, sights and wineries and in the area. Her advise is spot on in all categories. Although I did extensive research before our trip, we could have easily done nothing, given Stefania's expertise. The Villa is in a wonderful location, only a few minutes to Montepulciano and easy driving from Rome and to the major attractions in Tuscany and Umbria. My wife and I have travelled extensively but this place is something very special. We look forward to our next trip to Tuscany, meeting Stefania again and the incredible Villa Poggiano.

Room Tip: Splurge for the suite, although all rooms are tops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
72sfn, Proprietario at Villa Poggiano, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Mr Reddoc,
I am very very pleased that your stay at the villa was better than your expectations.
Thank you for a lovely review and such nice words about me .
I hope to welcome you again at the villa.
Kind regards
Stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Poggiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Poggiano

Address: Via di Poggiano, 7, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Poggiano is a charming boutique hotel with 3 double rooms and 11 suites. Located in the beautiful south of Tuscany with its rolling hills, vineyard, olive trees. The villa Poggiano is a perfect spot to discover Tuscany and to relax in a unique setting, with professional staff ready to assist its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Escapio so you can book your Villa Poggiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Poggiano Hotel Montepulciano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Poggiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.