We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Autumn in Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montorio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Montorio to your Saves list
Montorio
Strada per Pienza, 2, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Houston, TX
1 review
“Autumn in Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My husband and I spent just over four months exploring all of Italy last fall (2012). We chose Montorio as a base for spending 5 magical weeks in Tuscany, from early November until mid-December. We rented the largest unit, and were very, very comfortable there. In fact, it was the nicest of all our rentals in Italy (and we had seen a lot!). Stefania was warm and gracious as our host, and helped us in every way, including tips on finding wonderful walking routes through the countryside. Our apartment was very tastefully decorated with two comfortable sofas, a large dining table, two spacious bedrooms and great beds. The bathroom was beautiful, especially the hand painted tiles. We were sad that the fireplace did not work, but the unit was cozy on all but the most cold and windy days, and afforded views of beautiful Tuscan country from all sides. We liked that we had outdoor space and a quiet, natural setting, but super-easy convenience of walking (OK, the walk is steep, but we are pretty athletic) or driving up to Montepulciano and other nearby hill towns. There were also two very good restaurants, a coffee bar, and a grocery within easy (no hills) walking distance from the property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
72sfn, Owner at Montorio, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Mrs LPuzio,

thank you for your wonderful review. It has been so nice to guest you and your husband at Montorio during the winter months and for so many weeks. After so long time you were part of the communicty, your progress in learning the italin language at the shool in town have been fantastic and at the end you could speak .
I am happy that you have appreciate the apartments and that you have founded comfortable.
I hope that you will be back one day

Kind regards
stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rabastens, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Montorio sits on a small hill with beautiful views, right next to Montepulciano, which is a few minutes drive (with easy parking) or a steep walk. The house and gardens are great, the only thing missing is a pool maybe for in summer. The apartment was big, nicely decorated, and even has a kitchen (why cook in Italy though?). It's an excellent place to visit Tuscany, lots of day trips. And the owner Stefania is very nice and will give you all kinds of tips if you are looking for restaurants or wine for example. A great place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
72sfn, Owner at Montorio, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Mr Seanb471
thank you very much to have choosen Montorio during your stay in MOntepulciano and thank for the wonderful words you have written for us.

I would like to respond to your question about the pool wich is one of the most frequent demand I receive from my guest. We would like to have a pool and if it could be possible we will do it for sure, BUT because of the peculiarity of MOntorio , its unique location in front of the church of SAn Biagio , it is no possible to built a pool. The area aroun the church has strick enviroment laws and one of them do not give the possibility to built a pool. I know that can be amazing it is for us too, but to be positive we have an incredible view with no pool:)

I hope to guest you again
Kind regards
stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
1 review
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Mt spouse and I were excited when we saw the picture of Montorio, before booking it, on the website, but the disappointment started from check-in. The apartment REDI was small, dark, and humid with a tiny tiny living room and an unconfortable bed. The place was supposed to be in montepulciano but it is actually on the bottom of a mountain, and montepulciano sits atop, one can only reach the city center after a gruesome uphill 30 minute walk. I will not return to Montorio

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
72sfn, Owner at Montorio, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear MR Huston,
thank you to spend the time to write on Trip advisor, all point of view are important even if not good .
I apologize if your experience has been not positive , I feel so bad to see the first one point given on TA for MOntorio after 12 years accomodating guestes from all over the world.

And since I know that trip advisor readers are very clever, they do not stop only to a point, but they carefully read all reviews before to choose a place, for this reason I would like to aswer at your respectable point of view.

1-
You had the apartment Redi wich was your choise at the time of your reservation .
We have only few apartments carefully descriìbed on our web site wich I think is very clear, On our web site under the page APARTMENT/PRICES : there is the name of the apartment, the description, square metres, and photos, the map of the aparmtment and I'll copy what it is written on the web about Redi apartment:

<:Holiday apartment Francesco Redi

The smallest of our apartments around 28sq.mt. is well furnished and welcoming.
It lends itself to short holiday stays and those travellers who love to spend the major part of the day discovering the area and the folk traditions and cuisine of Tuscany.
You access it from external stairs and from the front door you enter into the lounge/dining area with a cooking corner.
Adjacent there is a bedroom with a French style bed, stepping up two stairs you find a bathroom with a shower.>

Since MOntorio is a 1300 historical building and is protected by special laws, during the rennovation we had to preserve the original design , wich means also small windows, ( in the Redi apartments and in the others) this is a caracteristic of the place, could be a minus if you look for modern standard windows but If you choose an historical place this is part of it.

The apartment is not humid , it is cool , since MOntorio has big antique walls large 60 cm, but we have heating system wich you can use by your self, and in september is working.

I apologize for the bed , If you could let me know immediately after the first nigth I could change apartment or try to find a solution specific for your needs. I am here for that and I prefer to know immediately if there are problems so I can try to solve, but if nobody tell me I can't presume.

2-
I apologize that you write review not correct about the location. Probably at the time of your booking you did everything too fast because our web site give all correct information about our LOCATION, MOntorio is located just outside the town , on the top of a private hill overlooking the church of san biagio. And it is written that we are 15minutes by foot, wich is the time spent by the average of our guest. We write also that at the entrance we have our private gate wich is closed and at the time of check in we give a remote control to our guestes

Probably you even didn't read previous review of other guestes, some are very meticoulous, they wrote about location, distance to the town, so I feel surprise when you write a review wich looks to me more emotional than precise.

I saw that you have only 2 reviews at this moment in your trip advisor profile and the second is again not good to one of the most prestigious winery in MOntepulciano

I am sorry that your stay in MOntorio and MOntepulciano did not satisfy your expectation, I will be very please to accomodate you again

Kind regards
stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The location of the Montorio is great for many day-trips within Tuscany. But we also spent plenty of time sitting around in the garden and enjoying the view over the nearby church and countryside.

We stayed in one of the smallest rooms, fine for two people, and with a small kitchen. It was a bit dark, but that was fine for the summer as it kept it cool (there's no air conditioning), and we were out most of the day anyway.

One word of warning: the walk into the nearby town of Montepulciano can be challenging. The most direct way is up a large hill, which was even more of a challenge in 100-degree August sunshine. And the path is not lit, so the night-time return journeys are even more of an assault course! It might take 10 - 15 minutes in good conditions, if you're fairly fit. There is a longer way to walk around that isn't as steep, but there's a narrow bridge at one point where there's no sidewalk, which is really too dangerous for pedestrians.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
72sfn, Proprietario at Montorio, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Mr Lonys,
thank you very much to take your time to write a rewiev for Montorio. I love the title of your review, and I am very happy that you bring back "happy memories" from your journey at MOntorio.
Looking forward to see you again
Kind regards
stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Our time at Montorio was amazing and unforgettable. We spent our days touring the local areas with great ease and convenience, the location is ideal. After a day of driving and walking through the surrounding areas, we always looked forward to going home to Montorio to relax in our home away from home. The evenings were spent sitting in the beautiful garden, looking at the picturesque view, so peaceful and welcoming. The apartment was perfect. Beautifully furnished and clean. The fully functioning kitchen came in handy when our busy days were too much and a home cooked meal was needed. The delightful staff make the stay so easy and comfortable. I strongly recommend Motorio as a destination for those who want a glimpse into the beauty and simplicity of Italian life.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leinster, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Montorio is a truly magical place. This was our fourth consecutive visit and each time we leave, we promise to return again.

Picture this. A beautifully restored ancient building situated on its own little knoll just outside the hilltop town of Montepulciano. Stunning panoramic views of the southern Tuscan countryside. Simple and well maintained gardens and terrace overlooking the renaissance church of San Biagio. Mature cypress trees to keep you cool and plenty of room and sunbeds to laze about in the sun. Even on the hottest of days at the height of summer, a cooling breeze seems to create a natural outdoor AC system. Very tastefully designed apartments with Italian furniture and all the facilities one needs for a self catering holiday. Montorio really is a truly magical place.

If you can drag yourself away from Montorio, there are plenty of picturesque hilltop towns to visit nearby, for example, Montepulciano, Montalcino, Pienza and Montichello (go there in the evening time to see the sunset). Along the way, you will meander through the rolling Tuscan hills, a treat in itself. Florence is 90 minutes away and San Gimignano, Siena, Cortona etc are also within easy reach. You can even go to Rome by train on a day trip from nearby Chiusi station – about 20 minutes away by car - cars can be hired at the station also if you are coming from Rome or other cities and don’t relish the thought of driving on the A1.

The owner of Montorio, Stefania, is extremely helpful and friendly. She has excellent English and always has good suggestions for trips and restaurants.

A stay in Montorio will be unforgettable and no matter how long you spend there it won’t be long enough!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
72sfn, Proprietario at Montorio, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Mr Seirl,

thank you for your fantastic review, thank you to have been already 4 times at montorio, thank you for your lovely words and to love so much Montorio.

Looking forward to see you next year

Sincerely
Stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This Inn was recommended by a family member who had previously stayed there. It was all that we expected. Montorio was in a great location, centrally located in Tuscany which allowed us to drive to different towns during the day and return at night. The view from the inn was beautiful and the owner Stefania was very nice and accomodating. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
72sfn, Proprietario at Montorio, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Mrs Lisa,
thank you very much for your review. Hope to see you again maybe with all your family
Kind regards
stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montorio

Address: Strada per Pienza, 2, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montorio is an ancient residence constructed in 1300. The story goes that perhaps it was originally a convent inhabited by brothers who chose this suggestive and contemplative position in front of the parish Church of Santa Maria, in whose place today rises the Tempio di San Biagio, a work of Antonio da Sangallo the Elder, built in the 1500’s. At the end of the ’90’s, the property was in a complete state of abandon and decay, when my family bought this beautiful ruin, and which today has become a fascinating and elegant holiday house. Your unique locationSitting on a hill at the foot of Montepulciano, it has in front of it the imposing Church of San Biagio, behind it you see the gentle Sienese hills , with their beautiful vineyards, olive groves and wheat fields. Art, history, nature meet at Montorio, which with its exclusive position offers you the privilege of a stay in a country house on a step from the town. Today Montorio is subdivided into apartments, each one with an independent entrance, furnished in a Tuscan style, restrained and elegant. Each one has been given a name of an illustrious personality that has given prestige and splendor to this jewel of the Renaissance today called the ‘Pearl of the 1500’s’.To ensure privacy to our guests, at the entrance of the property there is a gate that we keep closed and at the time of check in we will provide our guests of a remote control ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Montorio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montorio Hotel Montepulciano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montorio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.