We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montorio

Save Saved
You added Montorio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Montorio
Strada per Pienza, 2, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

Situated at the foot of Montepulciano, this set of classic Tuscan apartments offers a wonderful setting, well maintained accommodation, and friendly service. The apartments are about 15 minutes walk or 3 mins drive from the centre of Montepulciano, and the property's terraces provide great views of the surrounding countryside, and stunning out door eating settings.

The owner Stefania is very welcoming and helpful, and justifiably proud of the accommodation. We stayed here for a week, touring by car and walking out with plenty to see.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
72sfn, Proprietario at Montorio, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear Sue-Tim,
thank you very much for your review and thank you to have spent a week in MOntorio.
I hope you will be back again.
Kind regards
stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We rented two of the self catering apartments for a family birthday celebration. Location is excellent with the town a 10 minute walk away (up a hill). Tastefully furnished and well equipped with help on almost any matter only a phone call away (to owner Stefania who also owns the beautiful Villa Poggiano hotel about 1.5 km away). The grounds, full of olive trees, are beautifully maintained. The apartments were serviced and cleaned daily. The availability of a laundry room with washer and dryer (no additional charge) was a real plus.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
72sfn, Owner at Montorio, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Mr Unter,
thank you very much for your review. This is very important for us because the only way we can have new guests is by "word of Mouth", and I am sure this will help.

I am very happy that you decided to spent your holiday birthday with your family in MOntorio and It was really a pleasure to see you again.

I hope I will guest you again , for your third time, at MOntorio or at Villa Poggiano.

Kind regards
Stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

This is the place to stay in Montepulciano and is at the foot of the city. We had a car and it was in the perfect location. The apartments were amazing. Nice kitchen, bathroom and bedroom. I prefer staying in apartments because I love to cook and get extremely excited buying fresh food in Italy. We found fresh truffles in the city :) There is also a really good cheese shop on the highway to Pienza that has truffle cheese. The villa complex had an area where you could take supper and eat it at night. It was extremely romantic. The villa is perched on a hill, so the views are nice.

I only recomend staying here in Montepulciano!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Or
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

We had a wonderful time here - in part because we had the place to ourselves. Why? Stefania explained that it is July, and most of the people traveling are Europeans with familes, so they want a pool and air conditioning. Montorio doesn't have these. But it does have a spectacular location. It sits on a hill just outside Montepulciano, overlooking the beautiful church, with a panoramic view of the nearby Tuscan hills, including Montepulciano itself. Our suite included a small kitchen, most of which worked. We prepared several meals and ate our on the grounds overlooking the views - this was fabulous especially since no else was there. The room was large, with a sitting area, bathroom, bed area and kitchen/breakfast table, and dining table. So lots of room.

Although it was very hot in Tuscanny, and the rooms don't have air conditioning - there is a nice breeze in the afternoons and evening in this area - so it didn't matter.

Stefania was very helpful and friendly - gave us good restaurant recommendations which, for the most part, overlapped with Rick Steve's recommendations. She speaks very good English as well.

We enjoyed walking back and forth to Montepulciano - up a steep dirt road past the cemetary. Probably a 20 minute walk to get into town that route, you should be in pretty good shape to do that one. Other routes are less steep - but will take longer. We had a car, but didn't use it since parking in and near Montepulciano is difficult. From Montario we also ventured out to Deruta, Todi, Montelcino, and other little Tuscan towns by car. So it was a great location to explore Tuscanny and Umbria. Siena is about 90 minutes away too.

The only negative - there were nearby barking dogs at night - a common thing in the counry. But with ear plugs we were able to sleep well. Also in the hot summer it would be nice to have a pool and or air conditioning.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leinster, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

Montorio is a former convent which has been divided into a number of self catering units. The one we stayed in was very comfortable, effectively a one bedroomed apartment with the necessary facilities. However, when you see the views this place has you will want to spend as little time as possible inside. For starters, it overlooks the church of San Biagio which was apparently designed by the same designer of St.Peter's in Rome, the view is just stunning. Montorio is perched on its own little hilltop offering panaormic views of southern Tuscany and beyond. There are tables and chairs including sunbeds provided allowing you to relax in the Tuscan sun. The owner Stefania is very helpful and has excellent English.

Montepulciano itself is a pretty town though hilly and is a great location to visit other southernTuscan towns such as Pienza etc. You will need a car as public transport is not good. I suspect the only reason why there are not more reviews about this place is that people want to keep it a secret!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2007

Montorio is located on a knoll above the church of St. Biagio and below the town of Montepulciano, so you have great views of both and across the countryside. Stefania, who owns a hotel nearby as well, is a great source of information. Her English is excellent, and she offers great advice for touring and for restaurants nearby. The property is a group of apartments, from small to quite spacious, with kitchens. That's good because sometimes you just get overwhelmed with eating in restaurants every night. We stayed in two over seven days, and enjoyed being in the top one. It's all spotless and very well maintained, and also gated, which is nice because the road below is quite busy.

  • Liked — Location, peace and quiet, suggestions
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2006

My husband and I spent 4 nights at Montario on our honeymoon. We had a 2 bedroom apartment with a kitchen and bathroom. It is a gorgeous old castle in the middle of Brunello wine country. From here we enjoyed beautiful sunsets in a very private setting. Montepulciano is close to Montelcino (vineyards) and a short drive from Cortona (cute artist town). The owner of Montario, Stephania, is incredibly friendly, helpful, and hospitable. All of her suggestions for restaurants and winerys were excellent! We felt very much at home and would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Liked — Felt like a real home.
  • Disliked — The steep driveway.
  • Tips/Secrets — Watch the sunset each night!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montorio

Address: Strada per Pienza, 2, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 65 Specialty lodging in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montorio is an ancient residence constructed in 1300. The story goes that perhaps it was originally a convent inhabited by brothers who chose this suggestive and contemplative position in front of the parish Church of Santa Maria, in whose place today rises the Tempio di San Biagio, a work of Antonio da Sangallo the Elder, built in the 1500’s. At the end of the ’90’s, the property was in a complete state of abandon and decay, when my family bought this beautiful ruin, and which today has become a fascinating and elegant holiday house. Your unique locationSitting on a hill at the foot of Montepulciano, it has in front of it the imposing Church of San Biagio, behind it you see the gentle Sienese hills , with their beautiful vineyards, olive groves and wheat fields. Art, history, nature meet at Montorio, which with its exclusive position offers you the privilege of a stay in a country house on a step from the town. Today Montorio is subdivided into apartments, each one with an independent entrance, furnished in a Tuscan style, restrained and elegant. Each one has been given a name of an illustrious personality that has given prestige and splendor to this jewel of the Renaissance today called the ‘Pearl of the 1500’s’.To ensure privacy to our guests, at the entrance of the property there is a gate that we keep closed and at the time of check in we will provide our guests of a remote control ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Montorio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montorio Hotel Montepulciano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montorio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.