We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, charming and breakfasts!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Il Marzocco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Il Marzocco to your Saves list
Albergo Il Marzocco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Savonarola 18, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location, charming and breakfasts!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

We stayed two nights here as part of a Tuscany cycle tour. We found the hotel in a very central, handy location to the main attractions of the old town and the staff were always friendly and professional. The breakfasts were really yummy and the chef makes a mean scrambled eggs over and above the usual Italian salami/ cheese affair. We had a big balcony, with deck chairs and a table, walls covered in vines and views overlooking the valley below, was a great place for cards and sundowners. The negatives would be the cleaning product they used smelt really strong and the rooms had no fridge.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    67
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
87
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

We loved our stay at Il Marzocco. The hotel is very well located- right inside the city walls. It is easy to walk to all the restaurants and shops inside the city walls. It is decorated with antique furniture from the early 20th century. I believe it was a convent previously. The same family has owned it for many years and they continue to operate the hotel. We really enjoyed talking to the family- very kind people. Very clean. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Very good location to start exploring Montepulciano, it is at the center of the little city. It is the oldest hotel in Montepulciano with admirable and interesting interior. The rooms did not have air condition, only had a fan, but surprisingly it was sufficient (although it was August), maybe because our room did not have morning sun.The hotel is supposed to offer a parking place for free without the need for reservation. But when we arrived, we were told that sorry, they don't have a place for our car. Then I waved my printed reservation paper at their face and told that I don't care about what they say, I am told (and it was written on the paper as well), that I must have the place. Then they let us park at the patio, were our very very little car fit in one millimeter in accuracy and the staff had to practicly step over it in order to get thru the back door of the hotel. So, have Your reservation printed and everything should be perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms with morning sun have a little balcony, the rooms facing the front side of the hotel, don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Following a disappointing experience at another establishment in Montepulciano, we were warmly welcomed to the Albergo Il Marzocco. Upon arrival we were offered three rooms to choose from - each had different furnishings, layouts and views, but all were spacious and clean. The hotel itself is unique in layout, maintaining the character and feel of its former life, and we enjoyed exploring the different common areas on the various levels. Above and beyond the nice rooms, convenient location and great service, the breakfast was hands down our favourite part of the stay. A huge spread of meats, cheeses, yogurt, fruit, breads, cakes, cereals to start and then eggs made to order, cappuccinos and freshly squeezed orange juice to top it all off - delicious!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

The location of this hotel is great, just inside the city walls which was ideal for us as we didn't have much time to explore Montepulciano. The hotel is full of character with huge rooms and antique furniture. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful. Unfortunately we had a room over the front of the hotel and it was really noisy from very early in the morning with traffic- maybe other rooms are better. I probably wouldn't stay here again for that reason.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

Very good location just inside city walls. The hotel is very traditionally furnished and family owned. The rooms are large, basic but comfortable. Unfortunately the walls seem to be paper thin. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choices. I don't know how many places there are to stay within the walls, but it's worth trying

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

This Hotel is family owned and just how I imagined a Hotel in Montepulciano should be. The furnishings are as original and in perfect condition. The bed was charming and we loved it. Clean, tidy and we had a fabulous terrace that overlooked the countryside. Breakfast was lovely with a wide range of food available and the only place where we were offered scrambled eggs. Breakfast was made the most enjoyable by the beautiful smile each morning from Roberta. We love this area and it was made extra special because we were there for the festival. The barrel racing through the street was very exciting. We would love to go back and stay there again. It also helped that a car park was available.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the countryside it is magic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Il Marzocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Il Marzocco

Address: Piazza Savonarola 18, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Il Marzocco 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind the Medicean column there is the Hotel Il Marzocco, the oldest in town. It was built in 1500 as a farm of the nearby convent. In 1860 it became a hotel and since the early 1900s it has been run by the same family. The hotel looks like a large house where the atmosphere of the old times is still kept. Its bedrooms open on wide lounges that, like the reading room and the sitting room, are furnished with genuine XIX century pieces. Some bedrooms have balconies or terraces with a view on the valleys, other ones have their windows over the Renaissance houses of the old town. The hotel has had important guests like actors, writers, politicians, all of whom are fond of the great view from its terraces. A free parking area is available, as well as comfortable relaxing spaces and a wide dining room where breakfast is served from a rich buffet with home-made bread and cakes, jams and pies. Among the roses of the garden, the Canada creeper climbs until the terraces and creates a pergola up to the roof, at first green in summer, than all red in September and yellow during the autumn. Red geraniums at the windows, together with the old lace curtains, add to the building a perfectly romantic touch. Wi-Fi Connection. We accept pets. Free Indoor garage for motorbikes and bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Albergo Il Marzocco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Marzocco Montepulciano
Il Marzocco Hotel Montepulciano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Il Marzocco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.