We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Il Covo

Ristorante Il Covo
S.S. 146 per Chianciano 1/3 | A 100 metri dal bivio di San Biagio, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
+39 0578 757228
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 78 Restaurants in Montepulciano
Price range: $21 - $70
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: The restaurant is characterized by its carefully chosen typically Tuscan menu, which re discovers the traditional recipes of old. Fiorentina steaks are cooked on its large open wood fire grill, special attention is paid to the fresh fish menu. Our pizza cooked in the wood oven is a trademark of quality.The panoramic terrace means our dishes can be enjoyed in a warm ‘al fresco’ atmosphere. Our menu is accompanied by a wide range of wines because “Il Covo” is also a Wine shop specialising in the best wines of the surrounding area which can be tasted in our wine bar but also bought at wine cellar prices. Next to the restaurant there is a splendid terrace where by reserving a table it is possible to taste some wine and enjoy local gastronomic dishes or hold private dinners, functions and special events. It is also possible to have private events inside “Il Covo” restaurant as well as on the terrace. We also organise wine tours to local vineyards which include a stop for lunch or dinner depending on the type of tour chosen.
Guildford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Its unassuming exterior tells you nothing about the fabulous local dishes on the menu.
The Chefs attention to detail and suggestions make for a delightful evening, the local wild Boar was beautiful and tender, and the Chocolate Parfait dessert a pudding persons delight!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    48
    16
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Our last dinner at the beautiful town of Montepulciano was here. Our meal was really enjoyable especially the onion soup. A very thick soup with almonds and saffron. This restaurant is run by a lovely couple. We had a nice visit with them.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to eat good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Great food. Pizza was great. Very friendly service.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceprano, Italy
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent food, warm friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

We ate here for the first time in the spring, and returned again twice on our trip in November. The owners are extremely nice and the food is excellent. Two in our group ordered the grilled steak with arugula, shaved parmesan and a honey balsamic glaze. The quality and taste of the meat was superb. Also very tasty are the ribollita, the traditional tuscan bread soup, the pizza and the pasta dishes. We'll be back on our next trip to the area.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Plain plain plain...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011 via mobile

I cannot recognise the place described in other reviews. The place looked more like a highway stop joint or a canteen, no charm or cosyness of any kind. The food was eatable, but boring and plain. Not a single dish left a memorable or positive impression.
The only surprise was the large amount of people.. Which also meant that it was very difficult to get waiters attention..

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Il Covo also viewed

Poggibonsi, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Ristorante Il Covo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Il Covo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.