We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, large rooms, and friendly owners” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Il Rondo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Il Rondo to your Saves list
Albergo Il Rondo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Di Martiena 9, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds, large rooms, and friendly owners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in May 2012. The family that runs the B&B were very nice and helpful. It was a great base location for touring Tuscany. It was an easy drive to Banfi vineyards in Montelcino, Siena and Cortona. The breakfast was very good and the gardens around the house were stunning. It was great sitting out there and drinking wine in the afternoon when we returned from exploring. I would recommend this B&B to friends visiting the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    43
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
125
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
90 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Small hotel, outside the historical center, but in a walking distance to restaurants. Very clean, quite and comfortable, free parking and free wi-fi. Our room was outside the main house. The breakfast was very good. There is no restaurant at the hotel, and you can't eat in the room. We used Montepulciano as a base to visit Tuscany cities. It is a nice family run hotel, and we were happy staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We visited some friends in Tuscany and we decided to spend couple of nights in this hotel. An ancient villa, amazingly refurbished, located just 5 mins walking distance from the old town. The bedrooms are all very nice, clean with mural decorations. Our bathroom, with a shower, was brand new too. Hotel has 7 rooms only, a familiar way to enjoy Tuscany. Let me add we got there with 3 kids, they fixed all of us in a junior suite without asking for additional costs. Value for money was extremely good. I reckon this a nice corner to visit for a short stay (no pool available).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Nice little boutique hotel, 10 minute walking distance from the old town. We had a car but if you have any reservations walking in the dark, the road was badly lit at night. But Montepulciano is said to be pretty safe. The hotel is run by a family, who were nice friendly people. The decoration of the hotel and the room was very pretty. The only two negative things I can say was, we both were bitten some kind of an insect and had itches. (the hotel is located among trees, so it could be anything) In general, the hotel looked clean.
The other thing was, The breakfast was O.K but when we asked if we could have eggs, they said "that it was not possible, and they only served omelet". The omelet was already almost finished, and that was the reason for asking for eggs in the first place. In any way, I have a hard time understanding the negative response for eggs.
Lets assume this was an accident, I still might stay there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJose
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

A very nice place. This is a place to stay even if you don’t want to visit Montepulciano which is only a 5 minute drive up the hill. Since it is too far to walk into town for most normal mortals, you have to drive up and park for dinner or to see the town. There is a circle as you approach the parking. Suck it up and drive slowly through the circle. My only recommendation other than that to stay at the Albergo Il Rondo. To stay in town might be a bit daunting since the main areas are pedestrian or local traffic only streets. And all uphill if you are dragging your luggage. We would definitely stay here again. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Again, a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Il Rondo is a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very clean. There is a lovely garden with roses, lemons and olives...a perfect place to have a glass of wine and enjoy the countryside. Breakfast is a feast! The innkeepers, Vanna and Amerigo, are most pleasant and welcoming. They live nextdoor and are available all day and into the evening. A walk into town takes about ten minutes. It is a good way to warm up for the delights of Montepulchiano!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I recently stayed at Albergo Il Rondo this August and enjoyed it so much, I had to share my experience. This small hotel in a renovated Palazzo is situated just outside the city walls of Montepulciano (a five minute walk.) It has a lovely garden in which we relaxed after checking in with a glass of the local wine. The rooms are tastefully decorated in beautiful antiques and are very comfortable. (We were lucky to have two rooms joined by a third room or salon.) The A/C functioned well, the towels and linens were superior. The proprietor was friendly but very professional. We had been traveling all over Italy and found this region to be our favorite. Amazing landscapes, fine dining, hospital people all in a serene setting. I highly recommend this hotel and Montepulciano for a visit. It offers an exceptional value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
2.0 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#4 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#7 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#2 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#6 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Terrazza di Montepulciano
La Terrazza di Montepulciano
#9 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Tre Stelle
Hotel Tre Stelle
#8 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Il Rondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Il Rondo

Address: Via Di Martiena 9, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Il Rondo 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Rondò Bed & breakfast is located near the historical centre of Montepulciano, in the middle of olive groves and vineyeards which distinguishes the countryside of the Renaissance town. It is surrounded by a large garden which grants its guests quietness and fresh air, even if it is only at 500 mt from the walls of the town, easily reachable by a short walk. The hotel has also a private car park which is reserved to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Albergo Il Rondo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Il Rondo Hotel Montepulciano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Il Rondo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.