We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food, reasonable prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Briciola

La Briciola
Via delle Cantine, 23, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
0578-716903
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 82 Restaurants in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $46
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Morris, Connecticut
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Tasty food, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Food is good; lots of typical Tuscan choices on the menu; nice atmosphere; good service. Our 13 year old had Ribollita here (one of many times during our Italy vacation) and she raved about it. Nice wine list with nice prices. Can walk in here in your street clothes--in other words after a day of sightseeing or Tuscan adventures-it's comfortable.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    255
    76
    33
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not great at all, but will try again...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Visited here in August 2012 with wife and two small kids. Started very hopeful with a lot of options on the menu. The kids both had veal steak and baked potatoes from the children's menu, my wife had a vegetarian pie with spinach and carrots and I chose the tagliatelle with porcini mushrooms with a glass of white wine. We waited for our dishes to be served eating some bread and like a lot of places in Italy, the quality of the bread was not very good.

The only dish that was good in all aspects was the spinach and carrot pie my wife had. The veal steak in itself was very nice, but the baked potatoes were not freshly made and either baked again or reheated. My tagliatelle was very nice and seemingly freshly made, but the sauce that was poured on it was basically baked porcini with a lot of olive oil. Even though I'm a fan of olive oil, it was way too much and became very greasy. The white wine was excellent though. Next time I'll try to arrive a bit later and try some other options to see if we can experience the same as other reviewers have.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunssum, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“La briciola”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

La briciolaLa has a few tables outside. The food was good, the tiramisu was heavenly. The service was very good. Although the menu was only in Italian, the waiter explained all in english and give us great tips what to eat and which wine to drink.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montepulciano, Italy
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“great, local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I have enjoyed my dinner at La Briciola, with a tabel outside, good bottel of wine (recommended by the staff) and excellent food. For starter we had a briciola platter (min2ppl) with an abondant selection of pecorino cheeses, meat cuts and crostini, a taste of panzanella (tuscan salad), celery chutney to compliment the chees and marinated veggies. We skipped pasta dishes, but looking at other tabels they looked tasty. For the secondon we had a chiannina beef stake sliced with herb garnish and grilled vegetabels. Meat was cooked perfectly and tasty.
For the finish we had a slice of ricotta/peaches home made cake - not to sweet to finish the dinner in a good style.
Will be back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The only disappointing meal during our trip”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

During our 10 day stay in Montepulciano we carefully chose restaurants in and around town and the Val d'Orcia. This was the only disappointing meal of the trip: This was the only restaurant that overcooked the pasta and the meats of our respective dishes were dry and bland. In short, the food simply did not present itself with the care and freshness that was the hallmark of literally every other meal we ate during our 10 day stay.

Regarding the comments about the rudeness? We have a pretty high tolerance for surly service and yes, we know that misbehaving tourists can often swing the needle towards misunderstandings. My wife and I between us, speak Spanish, Portuguese, French, German. and though Italian is not one of our language, we can read 90% of a menu in Italian. We were not forewarned that this was the only restaurant in Montepulciano that would bite your head off if you ask (in Italian) for a menu in another language. A simple "no" would suffice. Instead, we received a dressing down. The couple next to us evidently knew the server and a barrage of winks and eye rolling ensued between the three while the server put on a show/lecture for them at our expense. The jaded attitude and vehemence of our server was puzzling. We should have left, but it took us awhile to absorb what had just happened and we figured we would let the food do the talking. It didn't. We have to wholeheartedly agree with some of the previous reviews that this restaurant is to be avoided.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Briciola also viewed

Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 

Been to La Briciola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Briciola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.