We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Enoteca La Dolce Vita

Enoteca La Dolce Vita
Via di Voltaia nel Corso 80/82, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
39 0578 758760
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 78 Restaurants in Montepulciano
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Bitterly disappointed by our experience at this restaurant. I had been before, a few years ago, and been impressed by the food. Standards have dropped so far that I felt compelled to review this restaurant. We arrived at 9.15pm and had a lovely table outside. The waitress was friendly and helped us with the menu. We ordered at 9.30 and were still waiting for our drinks at 10.15. It was busy inside and they were clearly understaffed. Unfortunately, this is where the service was poor as no apology or explanation was offered at any point, we were ignored. The food arrived at 10.30, which was over an hour after we ordered. I'm all for the slow cooking movement and fresh food, but that would just be a lame excuse for under staffing in the kitchen and poor service. The bruschetta and crostini starters were very average. The burger was OK, though came with the wrong side dish. the riboletta and soup were both insipid and really disappointing. having just been to the sibillini mountains and tasted an authentic rustic faro soup, this was bland and lacking in vitality. we didn't have time for dessert as we had to leave at 11.15. the wine was good, though expensive. the cheapest glass was about 6 Euros..resulting in the wine adding about 45 Euros to the bill. in most good restaurants, they have a very drinkable local/house wine for about 8 Euros. not here i,'m afraid. all in all, our most expensive meal over our two week holiday was also our worst. In my opinion, avoid this restaurant - it is often the way that bad reviews are met with a defensive response from the manager, listing one-off explanations and blaming the customer for not understanding cuisine. all I can say is we have been to Italy every year for ten years, eaten in dozens of restauants of different styles, and never been so disappointed by our experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    79
    24
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
403 reviews 403 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
270 helpful votes 270 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Yes, this is a nice place. Interesting interior decoration. Refreshing approach. Warm welcome and efficient service. Their hamburgers are delicious! Fingerlicking good! Only their wines (you can choose between 'taster', 'half glass', 'glass' and 'bottle') are a little overrated and too expensive. In my view at least ...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great wine bar and restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This wine bar is not far from the main square and well worth the time to walk the short distance. It is really well designed, decorated, and filled with a excellent "local" wine selection, as well as other choices, with very fair prices. And best of all, we ordered and then browsed the shop to pick out our bottle for dinner, with it being served at your table - no corkage fee!! The owner will gladly explain any of the wines and his recommendations were great. Our meal was great (my buffalo salad was huge - and so fresh) and very reasonable for the amount of fresh food prepared right there. I remember my DH was an excellent local dish, but sorry, can't remember the name. In many ways, it seemed more of a local stop as we were there in April, long before the tourists and it had many in the bar both drinking and eating. We also picked up our balsamic vinegar there for a great price compared to other places. Highly recommend lunch, dinner, glass a wine - or our favorite, a bottle of wine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“poor service poor food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Ate here a few year ago gone down hill. Service slow food microwaved.....give it a Miss better nearby

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
braso, Direttore at Enoteca La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Really kind Mr.Peter,
I think that the slowness that you found in our service even if I’m not agree with you, is because we take care of the preparation of our dishes since 7 years at difference with other places where the service is so fast because they’ve everything precooked. We’ve the kitchen at sight at difference with other places and we don’t conceal what we do!!! Everyone can see what we prepare and how we do it. You don’t find microwave in our kitchen only , but in the other places where you usually go where the kitchen is covered by beautiful close doors and you see just the food when exit from there but you can’t see how it was prepared. Anyway this is your opinion and it’s just your opinion and we respect, but as you said there’re a lot of places where to go in Montepulciano , so I ask you to do it next time you’re going to come in our town.
Thanks for your helpfulness.
Cristian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Top Contributor
1,275 reviews 1,275 reviews
866 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 248 cities Reviews in 248 cities
445 helpful votes 445 helpful votes
“A great stop amongst the shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Was with family who was shopping and looking at wine shops.. Decided to catch some sites and sit out and grab some wine tasting and a caffe..they brought offer some snacks of olives, cookies and hard biscuits . The wine tasting was very good and the service was excellent

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enoteca La Dolce Vita also viewed

Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Enoteca La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enoteca La Dolce Vita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.