We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellently prepared local food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria del Conte

Osteria del Conte
Via di San Donato 19, Montepulciano, Italy
+39 (0)578 756062
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 78 Restaurants in Montepulciano
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Montepulciano is a magic city which offers its visitors unforgettable memories. A steep, winding road will lead you to a medieval hill town with a wonderful view over the surrounding valley. L’Osteria del Conte is situated in one of the town centre’s main streets, near the renowned Sanctuary of San Biagio and ontepulciano’s Fortress. After several years of experience in enogastronomy and catering, Lorena together with her son, Paolo, decided to open this cosy little restaurant in Montepulciano, where you will have the possibility of tasting the genuine, delicious dishes offered by the Sienese cuisine.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Excellently prepared local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our lunch here, sitting outside on a lovely fall day. It's conveniently located near the piazza, behind the church, at the top of the hill. We shared a wonderfully prepared bavette pasta with local black truffles, ravioli with pecorino, and a glass of wine. The service was friendly and we only wished we had had a chance to eat dinner here and sample more dishes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    197
    36
    14
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
America, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lunch in Montepulciano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Found by accident was this very good restaurant, Osteria del Conte, behind the Piazza Grande on via San Donato. The service was very friendly and the pasta con fuhgi was excellent! Perfect for a light lunch while exploring the beautiful hill town of Montepulciano - close by is Siena.
The bills was only 72 euros for four which included a liter of wine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food, great outdoor dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We went here our first night in Montepulciano it it was outstanding. We sat outside on their beautiful patio. The prosciutto with melted pecorino cheese was ridiculously good as was the homemade pici with tomato, basil, and garlic. Would get both again every time. We also had the bruschetta and the tagliatelle with wild boar, both excellent. At the end of the night we ordered 2 cappuccinos and they only brought one by mistake. We never said anything but the waiter figured it out and the owner then came out with complementary house made grappa and lemoncello. Overall great food and dining experience.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Lucky Find.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had chosen another restaurant for the night, but found it closed.
Buying a bottle of water from a nearby shop, we asked the owner for their recommendation, and here we were!
We went to book but by 6pm all inside seats were taken, so we settled on the terrace.
When we returned at 7.30 ish, the place was buzzing.
The food was great, the service impeccable, not least from the owners wife (who is Irish) and the atmosphere first rate.
We had the wine by the carafe, and the bill for the evening was unbelievably reasonable!
Not something you usually see!
Recommended!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Best dish I've ever eaten: vegetable flan. Lovely service, place, price. Lovedn loved, loved. Definitely recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria del Conte also viewed

Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Osteria del Conte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria del Conte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.