We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Diva e Maceo

Trattoria Diva e Maceo
Via di Gracciano nel Corso, 90/92, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
+39 0578 716951
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 78 Restaurants in Montepulciano
Price range: $28 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Warwickshire
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
“Average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We found ourselves in Montepulciano for the evening and hadn't booked anywhere for dinner so tried this place as it looked OK from the outside. I wish that we'd spent a little more time (on Trip) as it was disappointing - my steak was chewy. There were only a few other diners and 2 of these appeared to be friends with the owner. They had a dog with them which was allowed to roam around the tables and even went into the kitchen. Not good - avoid.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    83
    15
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“very good regional cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We came here for dinner on a winter night and really enjoyed our meal. It was way off-season so it was quiet. We had good pasta and split a wild boar dish -- wonderfully prepared and huge portions. Very satisfying in every way!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Danmark
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I had the pleasure to visit this restaurant the 28nd of August 2013. I ate very Tuscan and had both rabbit and wild boar. The dishes were rustic but very well prepared and all served in a nice atmosphere. This place is definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Innovative Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our tour guide arranged for a special meal at this trattoria. The chef, noted for "pushing the envelope" prepared a 7 course meal, highlighting the various foods and specialties of Tuscanny. Somehow, the idea of "tasting" was replaced with much larger portions. The pastas were simplly spectacular. Any sauce or accompaniment did little to mask the flavor, but rather enhanced some subtle hint that might have otherwise been missed. The wines were all of the Nobilo class, that is, the best of the vintage. Probably the only dish that was just OK, was the pasta cooked in a red wine. Unfortunately, it came out looking like a plate of worms - it tasted fine, but here, the wine overpowered the pasta.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I went to this restaurant because I saw some nice reviews on Trip Advisor.
The food was very good, the wine was excelent and the "antipasti" was the king of this lunch.
It's a nice place to have lunch, very discret and not expensive.
We try some chicken they had that day and we didn´t like it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Diva e Maceo also viewed

Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Trattoria Diva e Maceo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Diva e Maceo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.