We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very touristy and expensive place to eat” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Pulcino a Montepulciano

Ristorante Pulcino a Montepulciano
Strada per Chianciano, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
339 1403162
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 82 Restaurants in Montepulciano
Price range: $22 - $67
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Broadbeach, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A very touristy and expensive place to eat”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The food was very expensive (Euro 15 for a piece of t bone/rib steak). As it turned out my steak was so tough I had to return it - cold barely get my knife through it let alone eat it. They did replace it with a fillet steak but it was no better. The seating is more like a holiday camp and the service was at best average - no ice could be provided when we asked for it for our drinks. All up probably the worst 65 Euro meal I have ever had.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    94
    75
    83
    95
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Poole
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Simples but Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This restaurant provided an excellent Steak Florentina. Cooked perfectly. A great experience. The menu including wine list is limited. the service is good and the surroundings simple. A very enjoyable experience enhanced by a lovely local produce shop as you enter

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fattoria Pulcino: Bellissimo! -say it in Italian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were taking a break while touring few wineries in the Montepulciano area and our sommelier friend suggested this jewel of a ristorante. We encountered a site that has been producing wine, cheeses, oils, meats and many other local products since the 16th century. There, everything is fresh! We started with a cheese plate that had Pecorino from different aging times and it was delightful. You have to order the famous "pici", a thick spaghetti type pasta with meat sauce that is delicious. Also, don't forget the "ribollita", a hearty, thick beans and vegetable soup. Among great local wines and other plates, we ended up with a local delicacy which is bitter biscotti pieces dipped in Vin Santo sweet liquor. Just don't forget the expresso macchiato!
Our service was excellent, they kept coming to check up on us again and again.
I'm not sure if i enjoyed more the food or the view from the terrace…which is breathtaking. The valley, the farms, wineries, little villas, the town not too distance, with that smell of pure country air and flowers! We just didn't want to leave! I must say that food and ambiance was terrific! About prices…well, I say they are very friendly. All in all, if you are in the area, don't miss it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snoqualmie, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pulcino initially great but frustrating in the end”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My wife and I visited Pulcino in October of this year. We had a fantastic meal, truffle and porcini pasta and the wine was very good. As other reviewers have stated this is a very large place however our service was very good the day we were there. There were very few guests the day we visited.

We enjoyed it so much we had wine, cheese, pasta, truffles and olive oil shipped home. We paid around $200 for shipping and expected to see the same kind of service we received in the restaurant in what we had shipped home. That was not the case. Our shipment arrived soaked in a broken bottle of wine, which ruined several bags of Pasta. On further inspection of the packaging it was easy to see why this had occurred. Extremely poor packing and it was actually amazing that additional bottles of wine weren't broken. As we've opened bottles of wine its clear that the shipment was exposed to extreme heat as each of the reserve bottles we've opened have been bad.

We've attempted to contact Pulcino to rectify the situation on several occasions but have not gotten a response in roughly 2 months since we've been home.

Moral of the story, enjoy it while you are there but forget about having anything shipped home.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great hospitality in Tuscany”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

First of all the path to reach your table will whet your appetite, as you'll walk through magnificient products of their farm, like marmelades, oil, wine, cheese and so on. We ordered fiorentina rinsed down with an honest montepulciano wine, but before the great piece of fiorentina meat (1,3 Kg) arrived to the table, they let us taste some cheese, salame, bread rinsed down with tuscan oil. All has been really good, and when we went out from there we were reaaly happy with the complicity of the red wine. RECCOMENDED !!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Pulcino a Montepulciano also viewed

Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Ristorante Pulcino a Montepulciano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Pulcino a Montepulciano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.