We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscan heaven at Villa Mazzi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Villa Mazzi

Save Saved
You added Agriturismo Villa Mazzi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo Villa Mazzi
Strada per Pienza 32, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Arlington, Virginia, USA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tuscan heaven at Villa Mazzi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

The minute we pulled into Villa Mazzi and saw its stunning view of Montepulciano and the San Biagio church, we knew we had found our Tuscan paradise, and the place did not disappoint throughout our entire week there.

Our apartment (La Loggia) was immaculately clean, more than spacious for our family of four, well equipped, and very comfortable—a real home away from home. Among our favorite features, both the living room and the patio table on the loggia offered perfect views of the idyllic landscape toward Montepulciano, which inspired us every day. We drove all over Tuscany, and we truly did not find a better view anywhere. The scene transformed with the changing light, making us feel as if we were living in a constantly changing (and beautiful) postcard.

We found Villa Mazzi ideally situated for day trips throughout Tuscany and Umbria. We easily visited Florence, Siena, Assisi, Cortona, and many other small towns during the day—and we always looked forward to returning to Villa Mazzi’s tranquil setting to recharge and relive our adventures, usually while enjoying one of the farm’s fabulous products. We tried, and loved, virtually everything Villa Mazzi sold (at very reasonable prices), including its rosso and vino nobile Montepulciano wines and its honey, salami, marmalade, and olive oil. It was like having a market of the best local products right at our front door. We couldn’t believe our good fortune. (As a plus, the region's best pecorino cheese is produced and sold at the Cugusi farm next door.)

Loredana and husband Mario, Villa Mazzi’s owners who live on the property, were incredibly welcoming and helpful. Loredana answered our scores of questions cheerfully and patiently. She made dinner reservations for us. She arranged a doctor appointment for our daughter. She showed us how to make espresso and whipped up a batter in her kitchen so we could try our hand at cooking zucchini flowers one night. She even let our kids use her personal computer. We could not have wished for more generous, accommodating, friendly hosts. On our departure day, we felt like we were saying goodbye to good friends. (Thank you again, Loredana and Mario, for everything. You are the BEST!)

And last but not least, we fell in love with Leo (pronounced Lay-o), Villa Mazzi’s adorable dog. His enthusiastic greetings, gentle demeanor, and abundant personality always made us smile (and made us miss our own dog a little less). His presence made us feel more at home, and—in short--we wanted to take him with us when we left.

What else can we say? Our week at Villa Mazzi was a Tuscan dream, one we will carry with us the rest of our lives (even as we plot a return visit to continue the dream).

The Kisers
Arlington, Virginia, USA

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

We are seasoned travellers and frequent visitors to Montepulciano and Villa Mazzi made our experience the ultimate Tuscan holiday this summer. The hosts are warm and caring and very hospitable - the apartments are confortable and spacious - nothing beats the feeling and atmosphere of enjoying your own cooked meals in a unique post card setting.
It was very difficult to leave the Villa, Loredana and Leo (the family dog that adopted us) and we are already planning our return.
Sylvie & Michel
Montréal. Canada

Room Tip: We visited all apartments - they are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

The view from the Villa Mazzi was incredible, no doubt about it. It was in a great location, near Montepulciano. The place was spacious, and clean. Despite all of this, I would not come back. We were looking for a quiet place to enjoy Tuscany, and this was not it. Despite there only being a few rooms, and the location, we hardly slept. We had the apartment on the bottom floor, and had to listen to the party going on every night in the room above us. Even when they weren't partying, you heard EVERYTHING. I also was surprised that they do not offer breakfast, they leave you no soap, and give you one roll of toilet paper. I asked before we came for recommendations to make our honeymoon special, and she said she would help us when we got there. She was very nice, but we saw her on check-in and check-out, that's it, and were given no recommendations on what could make our trip special. I got the feeling that locals were treated much better, and maybe that was the issue? All in all, I was disappointed to say the least. Tuscany is beautiful, I just wish I could have enjoyed it from a nice and quiet place to stay. PS...the wi-fo doesn't work.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMazzi, Proprietario at Agriturismo Villa Mazzi, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
At Villa Mazzi, we want our guests to feel welcome and happy from the moment they arrive and throughout their stay. Traditionally, agriturismos do not provide breakfast, as we say on our website. Each of our rental apartments has its own kitchen, and we try to be clear on our website about which supplies we provide.
It is our desire to always provide excellent service to our guests. We reside on the property and we are available to assist with any need, including local recommendations, reservations, and special requests. We try also to be considerate of our guests’ privacy, and sometimes it is not always clear when a guest wants additional assistance.
Our agriturismo offers a peaceful environment and disruptive noise is unacceptable. In this situation, we did not know about the noisy guests, and we were not asked to resolve the situation. Regarding our wi-fi, we can assist any guest who has difficulty connecting by showing them spots on the property that offer the best reception. We are also happy to make our computer available for Internet and e-mail access, if necessary.
At Villa Mazzi, most of our guests are from abroad, and we welcome them all equally. We enjoy return guests from around the world. We will continue to make every effort to ensure that all our guests have an exceptional Tuscan experience at Villa Mazzi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed here for a week and thought it was a perfect location for exploring Tuscany. The view is incredible, the apartment was very comfortable and well equipped and the owners were so friendly and welcoming. We would definitely return here for our next vacation in Tuscany. So much better than a hotel and just a perfect place to enjoy the wonders of beautiful Tuscany.

Room Tip: Only 4 and each has its own appeal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Granby, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

Loredana is a wonderful host. Our accommodations were more like an apartment. We made tea in the morning and brought it outside to enjoy the beautiful views of Montepulciano and surrounding rolling hillsides. There is a herd of sheep wearing bells that sound like wind chimes. We had a rental car and easily drove to surrounding towns - Pienza, Montilcino and Siena. The value for this Agritourismo is excellent. Loredana speaks enough English to help with directions, and restaurant suggestions. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

Perfect place for an unforgettable Tuscany getaway and an unbelievable culinary experience. Loredana the cottage owner will make you immediately feel at home as they have created the perfect environment that replicates everyones expectations of what a Tuscany home should look like.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

In so many different levels, THIS is an excellent place to stay. The room (Il Cedro was ours) is BIG and beautiful. It's more like a little apartment since it has a kitchen and an area where 4 people can sit at the table to eat (AND a fireplace next t the bed!) Everything is PERFECTLY CLEAN, and you can really tell that not only in each detail of the apartment but all around in their property, that a lot of love and care has been put into it. Loredana, the owner, made that possible and even more, her personality is just beautiful. So easy to deal with, even my husband who is from the U.S. (and doesn't speak Italian) understood when she spoke because she made herself understood SO WELL. If you like dogs, they have a cuuuuute little one named Leo who can ran as fast as the speed of light, and it's sooo sweet. The views all around are just a dream....
They also sell home made products like oil, mermelades, and honey. Also, wines, and in the family's next door property, sheep's milk cheese! SO GOOD.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Agriturismo Villa Mazzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Villa Mazzi

Address: Strada per Pienza 32, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 65 Specialty lodging in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Mazzi is beautifully situated, immersed in the lovely warm colours of the Tuscan hills, surrounded by olive trees, vineyards and lush meadows dotted with the farm's grazing sheep.The farmhouse's position offers stunning panoramic views overlooking the hillside town of Montepulciano, the temple of San Biagio, Valdichiana and Cortona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Agriturismo Villa Mazzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo Villa Mazzi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.