We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borgo Buio Officina del Gusto

Borgo Buio Officina del Gusto
Via Borgo Buio, 10, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
+39 0578 717040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 78 Restaurants in Montepulciano
Price range: $24 - $49
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Specialized restaurant in certified Chianina Meat (beef steak and T-bone steak) and Cinta Senese. Tuscany cuisine.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Fabulous food, fantastic service and well worth a visit. Italian food with a little twist.
Kerri, Australia

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    31
    12
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tuscany at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

As a contrast to the old town of Montepulciano, you find this modern restaurant nestled slightly off the beaten tourist track. A great chef is showing his talents here, using the best of local ingredients like the most wonderful Chianina meat (beef) , fresh local Porcini mushrooms and truffles.

Service is very personal and extremely pleasant and the wine list impressive (as you would expect in this city). Your best bet is to go with the flow and don't try to decodify the wine list and the menu, just ask the chef what he recommends for your lunch or dinner and you won't be disappointed. That's what makes Italy such a great country !

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
1 review
“We went twice in a week it was so good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This restaurant was a special experience during our week in Montepulciano. We were so glad we followed the signs off the main street. Our meal began with a complimentary aperitif. It was wonderful opening a menu which was not traditional. The food was an amazing mix of local produce cooked and served in contemporary ways. One of the memorable dishes was rabbit with a sweet and sour sauce. Amazing and clever! The chef came to spend time with us. His background demonstrated great skills and passion. He was also an extremely generous soul. We hope to see him and his family in Noosa Heads one day. We loved the restaurant so much we went twice during our stay.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
“Excellent food and great service and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Best Chianina tartare and excellent Chianina rump steak I've tasted.

Everything we ordered today was just delicious: fromt he starters to the main courses... tagliatelle with shaved porcini and truffles, spaghetti with truffles and everything else. The staff was great and service was fantastic. Always appreciate a restaurant where the chef takes the time to come around and ask the guests how was their meal. Wine list is excellent too.

Really superb service!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“MUST check out this new place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

This is a new restaurant at the north end inside the walled city. The atmosphere is amazing ...food is outstanding. The chef is internationally trained and has created a place that is magical.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borgo Buio Officina del Gusto also viewed

Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Borgo Buio Officina del Gusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgo Buio Officina del Gusto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.