We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owner obviously not there that night” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Villa Nottola

Ristorante Villa Nottola
SS 326 Loc. Nottola, 15, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
0039 0578 707247
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $34
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Ristorante situato all'interno di una struttura agrituristica a soli quattro chilometri da Montepulciano, circondata da un panorama mozzafiato.La cucina e quella tipica del nostro territorio, sapori semplici e genuini che si tramandano da secoli. Le nostre specialita sono create tutte con ingredienti schietti prodotti in questi luoghi, i vini che offriamo sono anch'essi tipici della Toscana, molti dei quali prodotti direttamente dalle vigne della nostra azienda. Il ristorante puo accogliere sia numerosi commensali che coppie in cerca di tranquillita e romanticismo, grazie alla struttura che dispone sia di una grande sala e sia di una romantica saletta dove poter cenare in tranquillita a lume di candela.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Owner obviously not there that night”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

When we arrived the waiter asked my girlfriend (who is Italian) why we had come there as it was just for tourists and then went on to tell us about two other restaurants that were better? Kind of killed the mood from the beginning. He then would make comments about the food, other clients and the menue which non of were complimentary. I read the other reviews and that is why we went. Must be if the owner isnt there then the staff dont care!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    84
    25
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
2 reviews
“To discover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Over the past two years we have eaten almost ten times at the restaurant of 'Villa Nottola'. Each time we have been impressed by the quality of the food, the impeccable service and the warm, personal welcome by Cristiano (who really makes the difference). He is also a very good cook and gives suggestions as what to eat if there is something special on the menu (which regularly happens).

If you are in the neighbourhood of Montepulciano, this is the restaurant to discover !

Ann & Alex , B- Leuven

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Go out of your way if you have to, but definitely eat here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

Four of us landed here last night on our way back from Pienza. Chose it from Tripadvisor ratings, found it easily , and Enjoyed it immensely! We arrived in jeans, tired and hungry and a little before opening time for dinner. Christiano welcomed us in, showed us around and made us feel right at home. He has decorated the dining room with beautiful wood sculptures from one artist friend, paintings from another, and all complement his choices of colors, linens , and furnishings to add up to a beautiful, relaxing, and inviting space. Christiano's recommendations for food and wine were all superb!!! The 2 vegetarians were very happy, as were the 2 omnivores! The soup, the antipasti, the house-made pastas, the veal and the duck were all to die for!!! We ate like kings for a very reasonable price, and left feeling like we'd made new friends. We will go out of our way to go back!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Definitely eat here! Great food, wine, service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

This was one of our best meals in the month we have spent in Italy. The restaurant was recommended to us by an olive oil producer we stumbled across, and we were thoroughly impressed! The waiter doesn't speak English, but his passion for food and service is very clear. He treated us like family.
The prices are very affordable for great portion sizes. The pasta is fresh, made in house and the house wine is produced on site. The duck is phenomenal! The atmosphere is wonderful too - clean, cozy and rustic. The waiter brought us bread with their own olive oil to start - delicious. Then we had the pici with asparagus and pecorino, ravioli with butter and sage sauce, ravioli with raddicio and walnuts, and ravioli with truffles. All were amazing. Second courses were the duck - must try! - and a filet of beef, which was cooked perfectly. The biscotti were made by the head waiter, Christiano. Best we've had, ever.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

My family and I enjoyed a wonderful Christmas lunch at Villa Nottola. The set menu for 35 euro was extremely generous: the mixed starter included all the classic Tuscan antipasti with crostini, meats, cheese and a really delicious salad of boiled cappone chicken. The pasta was homemade and incredibly fresh, and the highlight to me, the roast duck, was incredibly flavoursome and with a wonderful light texture. The dessert pleased the chocolate lovers immensely. All of this came with 2 bottles of excellent local Rosso di Montepulciano wine, a glass of bubbly on arrival and a bottle of spumate to toast at the end of the meal. Absolutely amazing value in terms of the quality and amount of food, and the drink accompaniment. The place is lovely and in a very pretty location. This restaurant is a great discovery and recommended to anyone who happens to be in the area!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Villa Nottola also viewed

Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Ristorante Villa Nottola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Villa Nottola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.