We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with lovely staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Nottola

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Nottola to your Saves list
Villa Nottola
S.S. 326 | Loc. Nottola 15, Montepulciano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 39 Montepulciano B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place with lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Villa Nottola. Good rooms, nice breakfast, pool, wine tasting and best of all - a friendly and service minded staff. Highly recommended! The restaurant on the premise is also very good. Well worth a visit. Montepulciano is a lovely area for a vacation!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    18
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
62
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bruxelles
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Villa Nottola is perfectly located in the middle of ancient wineyards. Few KM from Montepulciano, an excellent position to travel around and discovery Tuscany . Pienza, Siena, Orvieto and severals others are all within 50Km from Nottola Agriturismo.
Buildings are few centuries old . The place was formerly belonging to the Antinory family . Rooms are then impressive for the big volume and the charming internal structure.
There`s the possibility, that I definetely suggest, to visit the caves and see how the wine is produced, kept, worked, shipped . Of course , you are going to have the chance to taste it ...and bring home some delicious souvenirs . Go for the Nottolino...excellent !
If you feel lazy and do not want to have dinner outside, spend a visit to the Villa Nottola restaurant . The chef will be pleased to lead you trough tuscanian gastronomy .
Last but not least, let`s not forget the wimming pool. Based right in the middle of a bunch of olive trees . Being the only guests willing to swim, we could enjoy the pool without sharing .
So all perfect ? Maybe not...in my opinion more can be done on different fields.
Rooms are great but poorly equipped , or with basic comfort . We had to ask for a deeper cleaning of the bathroom because was a bit neglected. The walls between rooms are newly made and pretty thin. You hear more than you need of your neighbours .
Price is fair , at least in summer season .
At the end , It worths it and/but also worth a bit more of investment by the landlord.
Ideal for couples, families and groups of friends .

Room Tip: go for the one with a terrace ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Villa Nottola is a very well kept winer & agritourismo just east of Montepulciano. We booked room #22 for four days in mid-May, 2013. Julia greeted us and showed us to our room which is in an adjacent building (the restaurant makes up the ground floor) up a flight of outside stairs to a locked door (a key for this is on the key ring). It brings you to a hallway that goes completely dark when the door closes behind you. You must tap the dimly lighted switch nearby to get any light. A skylight would really help here. The room was spacious and the bathroom was enormous even by US standards. The double windows overlooked the valley to the north. There were only two other couples staying there at the time but we never really got the opportunity to meet them since they too were taking all-day trips in the surrounding area. The morning breakfast opens at 8 AM and is very nice. I was surprised to see that a machine is used to generate your coffee, which was not very good. Hot tea was handled by a server – a better choice.
Julia gave us a private wine tasting of three of Villa Nottola’s wines, explaining each wine’s history. The restaurant was excellent even considering we were among the only patrons on our first night there. Try the pasta with asparagus and pecorino cheese – absolutely amazing dish!
The weather was bad during our stay (rain, cold, wind) and the winery was not in operation since the busy time is in the fall. Needless to say the beautiful pool surrounded by olive trees went unused. We returned to our room each evening to avoid driving the Tuscany roads at night. Our room had very poor lighting (low wattage florescent bulbs) making it almost impossible to read in the evenings. On the plus side, there is a self-service laundry in nearby Montepulciano Statione (3 km drive). The only wifi access is in the wine shop/breakfast area. We decided to check out 2 days early to find a hotel with walking distance to a town center/piazza and choose Pienza (separate review to follow on that forum).
Villa Nottola would be a good choice during the harvest, especially if there are lots of other guests there. I would suggest that you consider one of the apartments instead of a room. Perhaps the lighting is better there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The location is outside Montalcino and is not convenient for the first time traveller. Even our Italian coach driver had to ask a few people before he made it to the agriturismo. The pathways around the reception area are filled with stones and pebbles making it almost impossible to cart your bags. And if your room is on the fist floor like mine was, you have a serious logistics problem on hand. The approach to the room thru a long, dark ally was dingy and the rooms though big are quite ordinary-even for an agritursimo. Breakfast is simple but adequate. The two ladies on duty were extremely friendly, if not as efficient. You need to give an extra day to get accustomed to this place!

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor if you can get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stollhof, Austria
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Located in the outskirts of pretty town of Montepulciano, this agriturismo/winery/hotel is the perfect place to stay and appreciate Tuscanian wine, food and surroundings. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Room (we had suite) is spacious and the furniture an appliances are of the highest standards. The only thing that bothered us a little bit was the radiators in the room which were electrical rather than hot water based, with all pros and cons coming with it.

Room Tip: Suites are worth paying a bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in September. The rooms were very spacious, clean and nicely decorated. The location is very quiet and was actually very easy to find and is a short drive to Montepulciano. We ate in the restaurant and the food and service was excellent although we were the only people in there. The breakfast was good with a nice selection of cold items as well as bread for making toast. They were harvesting the grapes so we were unable to take a wine tour offered at the B & B. They don't start serving breakfast until 8:30 which is a bit late for us and the office didn't open until 9:00 so if you need to leave early checkout the night before. Nice place to stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monza
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed at Villa Nottola for 3 nights in July. It is located a perfect location to explore all the nearby towns. The restaurant there has great food for both lunch and dinner. Our room was clean and comfortable and there was air conditioning unit in the room. The wine and olive oil they produce are excellent and we were able to taste many wines before deciding which bottles to take home with us. They also have tours of their cellars but we did not have enough time to do that. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Nottola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Nottola

Address: S.S. 326 | Loc. Nottola 15, Montepulciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Nottola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Nottola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.