We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Modern Hotel ~ Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mioni Royal San

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mioni Royal San to your Saves list
Hotel Mioni Royal San
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazzale Stazione 10, 35036 Montegrotto Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Montegrotto Terme
Koloa, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice Modern Hotel ~ Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This Hotel was booked through RCI exchange. It was in a good location to travel to the nearby cities of Venice, Verona, Padova etc...My room was very nice with a balcony and view. I did the Half Board program and food was fabulous. I have to say that it was some of the best food I had in my one month stay in Italy. Breakfast buffets and 5 course dinners different every night. It was very nice to come back from a day of touring to a delicious meal. The servers in the restraurant were very friendly and gave great service. I work in a 5 Star Hotel in Hawaii, so I am a hard critic. The spa was just ok for me. I suppose things are a little different in European spas.The pool was very lovely but you have to wear a bathing cap! :~( They sell very pretty ones in the local town. NO, I didn't buy one. I used the shower to cool off. The front desk staff was usually helpful it depended on who I got that day. I really liked that it is literally next door to the train station. The sound of the train didn't bother me at all. I rarely noticed and it didn't seem to run at night and I slept with the windows open. The local town is very cute. If your looking for a nice place to stay that's clean and close to nearby cities this is a great choice. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    336
    101
    42
    28
See reviews for
132
393
30
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here through RCI and did the half board. It was great to come back after a long day of traveling and have a wonderful meal. The meals have several courses and there is always fresh fruit. They accommodated the gluten allergies and the restaurant manager Angelo went out of his way to help us. Lorenzo is the desk manager and he has great customer service. The hotel is across from the train station and great for travel to Venice, Padua and Florence. There is a awesome salami/cheese store across the street. the spa is lovely and the pools are warm. The only down side is the mattresses are very hard. We finally got a soft small mattress to put over the top of the mattress. Air conditioning great. It is an energy efficient place. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mioni, resp. Commerciale at Hotel Mioni Royal San, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Markrosie,

thank you very much for your review: it is a really pleasure reading such as good compliments.
all our Staff do its Best to feel our Gests at Home.
We note, furthermore, the small complaint for the wi-fi and we do our best to improve it.

Hope to see you next year as our kind Guest, i'll remain at your disposal and send
Best wishes
Valentina Ventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed here for a week through an RCI reservation with friends/family. As stated, the hotel is across the street from the train station, which makes it really convenient. You need convenience when you want to go different places. Venice is 45 minutes via train. We had a car and took excursions so it worked out for us to stay here. It's out of the way and while the town is quaint, there really isn't much to do but stay here. Good location IF you are going different places and don't wan to stay in the cities you visit.

Pros: Convenient to train. Food good, limited wine selection. The staff is very warm and helpful, food good and plentiful. The spa is nice and we enjoyed several services. Warm and large pool was nice after the evening.

We stayed on te train side and really didn't find the noise an issue with sleep at all. The rooms are basic - beds/pillows more on a 3 star level. Bath ok, water pressure good and no problems with hot water or essential things.

Cons: The internet was pretty awful - inconsistent at best, so it's difficult to make last minute reservations on line or get online. The carpet is pretty worn is areas, but the overall shape of the hotel is good.

I stayed with friends who have the RCI membership. My preference would to stay in the cities I visit in the evenig to experience the ambience (Venice, Florence). You must come back here for dinner, so it cuts the excursion short, as they don't allow changes in the meal plan.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I booked a week through our RCI timeshare and were absolutely delighted with the hotel, the service, the facilities, food and the accommodation. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the half board was well worth the price as the food was really good, plentiful and varied.

We did not have any issue with being next to the station which in fact made our travelling around so easy and relatively cheap. Whilst you could hear the odd train the hotel grounds more than made up for this little downside. Overall no complaints whatsoever. We would definitely use this hotel again and would recommend it accordingly

Room Tip: Apart from the pool we id not use the spa but it looked wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I was in a room full of flies, when I picked up the towel after the shower flies flew out of the towel. The hotel is located adjacent to the train station so if sleeping on the side of the station every half hour you have a train passes so loud even late at night.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mioni, Marketing manager at Hotel Mioni Royal San, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear MR. Gill,
We are really so Sorry to read such a review like this because all the others underline our cleanness and the facilities to have the train station near us.
It could be normal that flies enter into a room if the window will be open and if outside the weather will be cold in May....
in any case it is a very strange review Mr. Gill, due may be,at your resentment at the end of your journey (16.00 pm instead of 10.00 as usual)to pay the late check out on Saturday 25.05.2013.
Remaining at your disposal
Best regards
The Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We booked through RCI. Getting to the hotel is easy by train which we did. From Venice SL or Mestre local trains stop at Terme Eugenee Abano Montegrotto where the hotel is just adjacent to the station.It proved a great location for visiting Venice, Padua, Verona which we did all by train.(a great way to find train times and destinations is to use the www.trenitalia.it website. Click the union jack to get english version . We got all our train times and destination from this )
With Rci you have to book half board with evening meals (48 euros/day per person.) This proved very helpful as it saved us finding somewhere to eat in the evenings. The food in the evening was very good and was a 4 course meal, with different menu each night . The hotel breakfast was a buffet with the same things each day . The decor and rooms were excellent and the spa great . Tip take your swimming costume. You will also need a swim cap. The water is very warm and don't be suprised to see everyone wondering around in bath robes., which are in your room.
The only downside apart from our weather which was cold and rainy, unusual we were told for late March - was that the hotel didn't have tea/coffee making facility in the room.
Staff were kind and very efficient - We highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Try to avoid the station side as niose from the trains may disturb you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We booked this through RCI. The room was very nice, however, the bathroom towel heater/radiator was turned up so high that the heat from the bathroom made the bedroom very warm. Also, there was no clock in the room. While other travelers complained about the noise from the nearby train, we did not find this a problem and loved the convenience of having the train right outside the door. Each day we got on the train and explored another city. Our biggest complaint was with the board package. The dining experience reminded us of being on a cruise without the option to change dining rooms The food was not worth the price and was very average. The dinner appetizer and dessert buffets were the same each evening except for one item. The entrees were mixed, some good, some OK, some not edible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mioni Royal San? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mioni Royal San

Address: Piazzale Stazione 10, 35036 Montegrotto Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Padua > Montegrotto Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Montegrotto Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mioni Royal San 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Venere, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mioni Royal San reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mioni Royal San, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.