We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't think about it, just book it!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Da Vinci

Save Saved
You added Hotel Da Vinci to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Da Vinci
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Bicchierai, 31, Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 109 hotels in Montecatini Terme
Manchester, UK
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Don't think about it, just book it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

I am writing this as we are sat in the hotel lounge on our last day waiting to leave for the station - it's 36 degrees outside, but the hotel is lovely and air-conditioned and the lounge is a pleasure to sit and spend time in.

We booked through ba.com on their deals page and, having also seen other hotels in the area, are very glad that the Da Vinci hotel found us!!

The staff have been nothing but attentive and a special shout out has to go to the restaurant girl who works breakfast and evening dinner, our fantastic cleaner and the night staff, all of whom went out of their way at some point to help us out.

Rooms are best described as quaint but definitely fully functional. The only thing that I was missing was a waste paper bin in the room (though there was a bin in the bathroom, so it wasn't a problem!).

WiFi is in the lounge only as others have noted but it is fast and stable and only a minor inconvenience to keep bobbing down every time you need to use it for checking train times etc (incidentally, it currently costs around €5.70 to get here by train from Pisa Airport). There is also a fixed terminal computer provided for those without smartphones/tablets etc.

Clientele are mainly older people, haven't seen any children since we have been here, and there are a broad mix of nationalities represented. We are a gay couple (received a warm welcome) in our mid-twenties and are the youngest here by some stretch at the moment!!

Breakfast is good but has no variety - advise not to go for the cereal as it appears to be left out overnight when they set for breakfast the evening prior. Not sure if I would have paid for the breakfast option had it not been thrown in with the room...

Mini bar in the room, check it when you check in as we noticed half way through our stay that we were missing a can of coke and that some cheeky beggar had opened the other one, taken a few sips of it and put it back. At €3 a can, they're not charges you want to be landed with!!

Long review (sorry) but we have had an absolutely fantastic stay with hotel Da Vinci and are already looking at coming back in a few weeks from the UK - it really has made a fantastic impression on us both!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    58
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
23
87
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed three days at Hotel Da Vinci, early June and we were lucky to have a newly renovated room (No. 105) at the rear of the hotel, which had a good-sized but shaded balcony. There are some other renovation works proceeding at the hotel, but these did not bother us. Nice public areas, but the small bar area seems to be rarely used, and is covered by the reception staff. Cesare (manager?) nice, helpful and with good English. The breakfast is good, with a hot food option available. As with most Italian hotels in our experience, the breakfast fruit juice offering is poor, being essentially of the "Mi-Wadi" variety! The restaurant does not open every night. The hotel seems to do a lot of bus-tour trade, as do several other hotels in the town.
The swimming pool is on the rooftop of the hotel annex, some 50 metres from the hotel. No towels available, which seems strange. The pool itself is nice and was open during our visit.
Overall, great value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for room 105 and maybe 107. Rooms at the back are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

First of all the hotel was very easy to find. Having looked at various people's reviews beforehand and also different maps giving directions from the train station to the hotel, my partner and I were a bit worried that we'd have trouble finding the place and with limited Italian between us we had visions of wandering lost around Tuscany trying to find our accommodation, but it was very straightforward in the end. The trains are fairly easy to understand in terms of their destinations and Montecantini is served by two train stations which are literally 10 minutes walk from the hotel. The staff all speak English so if like us your Italian is not too great you don't have to worry about embarrassing yourself by mangling the language. They're all very helpful and friendly and if you want to see the local sights they're more than happy to help and advise. Montecantini makes a great jumping off point to Pisa and Florence, and the trains as I mentioned earlier are very easy to use to get to either of these locations from the hotel. The room itself was ok, not 4 star but clean and tidy, which is all you need as you're travelling around for much of the day. We did this on a deal with the flights as part of the package and for the price we paid it was good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Da Vinci mid April and were very impressed. the room was very clean, spacious and quiet with a great view across Montecatini. Everything was spotless, beds changed and fresh towels daily. Breakfast was excellent also.The staff, especially Cesare were very friendly and helpful, Cesare even posted back to me my iPod I managed to leave in my room. Great location for Montecatini and the best places in Tuscany. The station was close by and rail travel was easy and affordable. Plenty of places close to the hotel to get a drink or coffee.will definitely stay here again. Recommend to anyone wanting a great base for Tuscany.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biondi-Claudio, Proprietario at Hotel Da Vinci, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

first of all I want to thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay with us at Hotel Da Vinci.
Truly delighted that you enjoyed our property overall, the location, the room, the staff and also the fact that you appreciated to create relationships with some of our employees.
Thank you very much once again and I look forward to meeting you in the near future here in Hotel Da Vinci.
Arrivederci!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Booked 5 day break via B.A. Hotel very clean & well maintained. Alesandro, Cesare, Seraphina & other staff very friendly, helpful, polite & efficient. Breakfast delicious & staff obliging with requests. Disappointed that pool not open - we suggest pool opening date should be specified. Furnicular railway trip to Montecatini Alto is wonderful. Ideal base for visiting Lucca, Florence, Pisa etc. Trains are frequent & cheap.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking garden are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olvera
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My daugher and I had a 4 day break in this hotel which is delightful and as we booked on the internet, having never seen the town, we were thrilled with our find. It is spotless,The staff are helpful and pleasant. The rooms are comfortable and airconditioned. Breakfast served until 10am. Perfect spot for accessability to all shops, restaurants, the market and the railway station which has regular, inexpensive trains to pisa and Florence. No need for a car. Beautiful upmarket spa town. Loved and would return

Room Tip: The pool was closed as it was April but it looked lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The location is good but you have to be compromised to the noise at night if you open the door to the balcony. Loads of buses from Poland will drive through the road close to the rooms at the end of corridor from Lift A. You may not want to choose this hotel as the WIFI is only available in lobby and you need to login again EVERY SINGLE TIME. The €7 daily parking fee is a bit expensive as not a lot of cars are in the park so I suggest they should make it free.

Room Tip: Try not to choose rooms facing to the main road as it could get noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Da Vinci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Da Vinci

Address: Viale Bicchierai, 31, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#12 Business Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#14 Luxury Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Da Vinci 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Da Vinci is an elegant and comfortable 4-Stars Hotel located in the centre of Montecatini Terme, a perfect place where you can have a pleasant and a regenerating stay in the heart of Tuscany. After a day at the local spas, or a visit to the historical and artistic places surrounding the town, your return to the newly- refurbished hotel will make you feel the warmth of being back home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Da Vinci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Vinci Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Da Vinci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.