We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ist Visit to Italy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Da Vinci

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Da Vinci to your Saves list
Hotel Da Vinci
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Bicchierai, 31, Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 109 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Grover Beach, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ist Visit to Italy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised at the coziness and cleanliness of this hotel especially as it was reasonably priced for such a location - in the middle of town. The front desk staff were always very pleasant and helpful too. The food was also excellent and although the hotel was on a busy corner of the city we slept very well on comfy beds with no disturbances. The only negative was that the first night we had to stay in an annex to the hotel and the rooms were quite small. We were able to move to the main hotel when some of the other guests had departed from it. We would definitely stay in this hotel again and can highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a great room on the 3rd floor at the end of the corridor. We also had a balcony overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    65
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
31
92
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bartlett, Tennessee, United States
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Not knowing what to expect we were pleasantly surprised with this charming hotel. It is conveniently located near restaurants, train station, and flea market. We stayed for 7 days with a tour group which made it convenient for trips to San Gimignano, Florence, Lucca, Pisa , Carrara ,Portofino and Siena. We stayed in room 124 which was very quiet. Mattress is firm but somehow comfortable. Room was cleaned daily and fresh towels (but no washcloths) put out. The breakfasts were perfect for us with lots of sweetrolls, eggs, bacon and proscuitto and cheese. Coffee is really strong so we drank Hot Chocolate which was delicious. Cesare, and Michelle were most courteous and helpful with any thing we needed. We were a little disappointed in the German -slanted food at dinner. Tuscan Italian food is not like American Italian is-not spicy or garlicy! Americans are not used to eating five course meals. I would recommend that when American tourists come, to serve Salad, entree with vegetables, and dessert. Be prepared to pay for bottled water thoughout the trip. We filled our bottles each day with the tapwater which is delicious! Never got sick. Also when you check into your room you must use your door card to turn on the lights. There is a slot for your card. We didn't know this and fumbled in the dark! We felt very safe in this beautiful town. Most speak a form of broken english, enough to communicate! Restaurants along the main street are excellent. Lots of pannini and pizza places. Great location for day trips!

Room Tip: When you check in ask Ceasar or Michelle to recommend a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and spent the week ending 10-31-12 at the Da Vinci. The hotel is charming, clean, comfortable and conveniently located to shopping, transportation and restaurants. The staff was very helpful and friendly and we had no trouble communicating. Our room was small but adequate for our purposes as we were touring, sightseeing and shopping during the day. Breakfast was provided each day and offered a variety of cereals, pastries, breads, eggs, cheeses and meats. All were very good. We had no problems with hot water for showers. My wife thought the bed was too firm but I found that I felt better sleeping on it than our bed at home. We would certainly stay at this hotel again. The hotel will also exchange $ for Euro at the going exchange rate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Our room included a king size bed, a balcony, high ceilings, and a nice bathroom. It was a very pleasant room. The hotel was a great central point for our daily excursions into other cities in tuscany. The staff were excellent. Most spoke English and my minimal Italian was sufficient to communicate with those who did not. The hotel is in a very nice quiet location. Easy walk to train, spas, restaurants and the funiculare to Montecatini Alto. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Some rooms were smaller and darker. Ours was a corner room on the front with a balcony and lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingleby Barwick
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just returned from a glorious week in Tuscany! I can recommend this hotel. The staff were so helpful and friendly. The bedroom spotless clean... breakfast Italian style but perfectly adequate. This hotel is well situated... near plenty of reasonably priced and good food restaurants. We booked with Lowcost Holidays/Jet2 ... tremendous value for money!
Montecatini Terme is an elegant Spa town/pretty/safe/nice shops and bars...it is also a great base to explore Tuscany. Get on the train in the centre of the town head for Florence it's just under an hours journey. Now is the time to go to Tuscany the weather is warm and mild.. can rain but not for long and prices are low! Enjoy!

Room Tip: quiet rooms at the back of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geleen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

nice and clean hotel in the neigbourghood of the trainstation . easy to go to Florence or Pisa.
The staff is very friendly always liking to help Yuo and most of them spoke several languages
For the first time in Europe we found our room always cleaned after breakfast lovely Brekfast and diner where nice often very good. Our rooms where spacious and we could change to a room with a nice balcon when it became available everybody was helpfull to print out itenaries traintimetables and so on so we enjoyed our stay there very much

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Montecatini Terme has presumably outlived the role of holiday spa town (Although the surviving spas seem to still have plenty of custom for alternative therapies), and is now a town where tourists go to bed down when they see Tuscany. I understand that there are about 240 hotels, and seemingly no churches. Many of these hotels deal with parties of coach tourists, and the roar of large coaches in narrow streets is one of the features of the town. Indeed, the street where this hotel is based is clearly full of establishments catering to the tour parties.
But ignore that, because this relatively small hotel manages to avoid the appearance of a sausage factory for Tuscan tourists (possibly because of the lesser number of rooms and the higher prices. Most of the hotels in Monetecatini are 3star, but this one boasts 4.
When in Italy, I usually subtract a star from the claimed rating. I would almost award this a four star rating.
The position of the hotel is excellent. It is near the main road through the town on a side street, that is conveniently positioned inbetween the two railway stations which are a short walk away (less than ten minutes). The street is busy, and there can be a bit of noise from the street and surrounding establishments. There are many eating establishments within a similarly short distance, and whilst there is a restaurant in the hotel, it has a short set menu mainly focussed on the half board coachers.
Decoration is bright and fresh, and the photographs elsewhere on the site do the hotel justice. The swimming pool is across the road in the sister hotel (Boston). By Italian standards, the room are sizeable, with plenty of room to move and a good sized bathroom with a small shower cubicle. Strangely enough our room had no drawer space for clothes although there was plenty of hanging space, and shelves were inadequate for a several day stay. There is a minibar with a limited selection. Towels are adequate, but the toiletries reflect the current trend to minimalism, so you may be advised to carry your own. The floors have a slightly strange layout, with even numbers at one end of the hotel and odd at the other on a staggered level.
The star of the piece is the concierge, Cesare, who has been mentioned elsewhere. He has an excellent command of English, is polite and helpful and make everyone welcome. We decided that we did not risk the trip back to Pisa airport on a train (There do not seem to be as many trains as in previous visits) and provided an excellent driver at a reasonable price.
The breakfast at the hotel is Italian adequate. For a country where one imagines that the standard breakfast is a cigarette and an expresso, one is pushed to find magnificence in a meal which is clearly of no interest to the nation. This seems to be universal, and I have stayed at far more expensive destinations where the breakfast was similarly minimalist. There is coffee from a machine, cereals rolls, meat and sliced cheese. For a country which has an excellent tradition of cheese, I am continually surprised that hotels persist in just serving slices of the same processed cheese everywhere. Come on Italy - you can do better. There was a container with scrambled eggs and bacon, which on the first day was stone cold. A complaint resulted in special treatment, and fresh eggs were prepared for me for the duration of our stay. That was impressive.
All in all, this was a good place to stay. It was comfortable, clean and most things worked. Staff were friendly and polite and the position is excellent.
I booked the room via booking.com via Tripadvisor. For reasons that I could not control I ended up in Montecatini on the Italian May holiday weekend, There were not many hotels available, and the prices were expensive. For four nights bed and breakfast, I paid about 600 euros plus local taxes.

Room Tip: Book early if you want a room at all. Montecatini is very popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Da Vinci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Da Vinci

Address: Viale Bicchierai, 31, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#12 Business Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Da Vinci 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Da Vinci is an elegant and comfortable 4-Stars Hotel located in the centre of Montecatini Terme, a perfect place where you can have a pleasant and a regenerating stay in the heart of Tuscany. After a day at the local spas, or a visit to the historical and artistic places surrounding the town, your return to the newly- refurbished hotel will make you feel the warmth of being back home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Da Vinci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Vinci Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Da Vinci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.