We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed after staying at Hotel Belvedere in New York City!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Save Saved
You added Hotel Belvedere to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Fedeli Fedele, 10, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 108 hotels in Montecatini Terme
Batavia, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed after staying at Hotel Belvedere in New York City!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed here as part of an Air Transat tour group. The rooms varied greatly, some were slightly larger than the closet in our room!! Our room was very spacious but strangely layed out and the furniture was as others have posted strangely ecclectic!! It looked like something from the 70's at best!

Breakfast was O.K. (it was funny how they relocated the coffee and juice makers each morning)!

We had such a wonderful hotel the first couple days of our tour in Venice that this was indeed a disappointment! Apparently, they're not part of a chain because there was no comparison to the Belvedere in NYC!!

Dinner was very formal which we did not expect after seeing our rooms!! While gym shorts, hoodies, sweatpants and sneakers were allowed Men wearing Michael Jordan beach type shoes were not!! Women were OK, but not men!! We got the biggest laugh from this! The dinner food was excellent; however I felt badly for a couple in our group that ate "no pork" because it seemed no matter where we went they were served Mozzarella & tomatoes instead!!
I believe they finally asked for chicken and were given that here! The restaurant was one of the only good parts of this hotel besides the nice lobby and patio/bar area. There were many small children playing and running around in the bar so we were fortunate to be able to sit outside.

As I said, we were part of a tour and had no choice of hotels. Unless the price was very cheap I would choose a different hotel if booking for a return trip.

Elevators were not only slow, but very small taking forever to get luggage to rooms. AC not functioning; glad we traveled in May!

Front desk staff very unhelpful! All we wanted to do was call the Vodaphone store to get their hours of operation for the next day and they drew us a map of how to get to the store - this did little good at 10 p.m.!! Would not even look up the phone number for us! The restroom was hidden behind the front desk area in what looked like a closet next to an office.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    31
    36
    20
    12
See reviews for
21
28
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nova scotia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed here two nights end May 2012 during our DaVinci tour offered by Transat Holidays; our room 'Tron' as the headboard had twinkle lights inset in it that changed color and an overhead ceiling mounted TV (which did not work); room was clean but dark and the bathroom was large with shower only. Nice pool; older elevators that took forever. Included breakfast was typical European fare, great coffee. It seems the staff do not like to put out too many pastries at any given time, so did not look like there was a variety for breakfast. We had two included dinners while staying here as well. The first was their BBQ night which was quite good with plenty of variety; second night was pizza, pasta and sliced pork and mashed potatoes... pasta was one of the best I experienced during my entire Italy trip.
Not sure what theme they are going for... cannot even call it 'shabby chic', it was just plain garage sale and shabby.
Free internet when you can get on it... people can be so inconsiderate... using wifi on their phone AND taking up the computers... you rude ones know who I am talking about - must be a cultural thingy.
Short walk downhill to take the cable train up to Montecatini Alto, a nice little town atop the hill with great views, a little more costly shops than down below, and a nice restaurant square - well worth the 7 euros it costs for a round trip - leaves every half hour.
Hotel located approx 30 minutes from Pisa and 45 mins from Florence; its sister property across the street is the Grand, rated 4*, but rooms still on small side and has a smaller pool.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We spent four nights at the Belvedere, arranged by our groups travel planner thoroughly enjoyed the staff and food services. For those used to staying in the fully stylized and coordinated big box hotels, this will take some getting used to. The furniture can only be described as eclectic but look beyond it. Our stay included meal service and for the duration of our overall 2 week stay in Italy this was the best bar none, fantastic, friendly service and a wonderful barbecue Tuscan style was enjoyed on our final night.

Room Tip: Best to choose a room off the main street.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed here with an Air Transat tour. Room was a good size with a jacuzzi tub, unfortunately the jets didn't work, also no shower curtain which made it hard not to have water all over the floor. Breakfast was very good as well as the two dinners we had there. Hotel was like going back in time, but somewhat quaint. We didn't have a chance to explore, but another couple on our tour walked to the town centre & enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramnicu Valcea, Romania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

First we had a reservation to Golf Hotel Corallo, who booked us a room to this hotel, saying that they were booked up, although we made the reservation there three months in advance :(
Anyway, let's talk about our stay at Belvedere. The location wasn't so far away from the center, but Corallo was in the center. The room was really big, but unfinished: there was missing the wall that separates the room from the jacuzzi space and you could see the metal beams, but it was clean and had all the necessary things, except a minibar.
The big problem was sleeping, because you could hear everything: the people talking on the hallway or in another room, people making a shower in the next room, the jacuzzi from another room, not quiet at all! and the bed wasn't a double, but two singles put aside.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

Hotel was booked by tour guide and it was the worst Hotel i have stayed in Europe to date. The shower went all over the floor making it a hazzard. the room had not been dusted in forever. The decor was miss matched. We were told by the staff that we were not allowed to have a good time as we were too loud! And we were paying them?

Stayed October 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

The Belvedere is an odd hotel - it looked like it was in the middle of an overhaul, but no work was done during our week there. Perhaps the money had run out, which would fit with the whole feel of Montecatini - a place whose best times are in the past.

Of course that's not necessarily a complaint - it's true of all of Italy. For its size, Montecatini has more than its fair share of nice buildings, tho' from the Grand Tour period when the spas were in their prime rather from the Renaissance. Cheap and regular trains are available to Florence, and Pistoia, the next town in that direction, is very much worth a visit (but beware the staff at the train station - a woman working in the ticket office tried to diddle us).

Back to the hotel. Staff were always friendly and helpful, the restaurant was very pleasant and the dinners were mostly 'good', with an excellent salad buffet. At least three large school orchestras came and went during our stay, which lent dinner times a particular ambience that might not be to all tastes, and once or twice when things got very busy the service slipped a little, but that was due to overwork rather than laziness. The breakfasts were less inspired, with much the same very limited cold buffet every day. The orchestras practiced in the basement, which we enjoyed - the Oxford County Youth Orchestra in particular were very good. There is also a pool that is half inside and half outside, even in June it wasn't particularly warm but was otherwise very nice. From there, steps go down to a corridor that runs under the hotel to the main lifts. This corridor is very odd, and is the source of my comments about being overhauled.

The room was a bit disappointing - it had been renovated, but not with flair, and tho' reasonably large, the extremely high ceiling made it feel like a corridor, with plain decor enhancing rather than minimising the effect. It was however clean and comfortable, except for the bed being somewhat hard.

Parking is free, but driving in the area isn't for the faint hearted - most people know that Italian drivers aren't the best in the world, but around Montecatini they're worse than usual, seeming to want to die young, or kill others in trying. Once you get into the country things are somewhat better, but in most directions there are lots of small towns joined together in an urban sprawl that can take an hour or two to work through. GPS is pretty essential too, but what out for the pronunciation if you have one that does text-to-speech: mine rendered Via Puccini as 'Vya Puck-Cheeny'!

The Belvedere is 2 or 3 minutes from the most impressive of the spas and 2 or 3 minutes more from the main drag, so it's fairly quiet but easily accessible. It claims 3 star status but in some respects is closer to 4, especially the restaurant. As most hotels fail to match up to their rating (and I do understand that some top Italian hotels keep their rating down for tax reasons), it's nice to get one that exceeds it whilst also being good value.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Address: Viale Fedeli Fedele, 10, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 108 hotels in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belvedere 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Montecatini Terme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belvedere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.