We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under new management, so judge for yourself” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Miro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Miro to your Saves list
Hotel Miro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Bicchierai, 82, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 109 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Newport, South Wales, uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Under new management, so judge for yourself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel staff are excellent. Simione, who presides over the front desk, is extremely efficient, very polite, welcoming and friendly.
Both Giuseppi and Nunzia, who look after the guests in the dining room, were also very efficient, polite and friendly. Giuseppi spoke a limited amount of English, which was very helpful as my wife and I know very little Italian. Nunzia spoke excellent English, which helped especially when it came to choosing the evening meals.
We booked for half board, plus a free packed lunch. There was a reasonable selection for breakfast with croissants and preserves, bread rolls, cheese and ham, cereals, pears, apricots, yogurt, orange juice, tea, coffee and water. My wife found it a little difficult as she has several food intolerances. A selection of fresh fruits and an assortment of different meats would have been nice. Lunch was quite substantial with two large bread rolls filled with ham and cheese, an apple, a sweet filled croissant and a bottle of water, which was more than enough to fulfill most appetites. Dinner was ordered the night before, and was usually very good. Sometimes it came as a surprise as we couldn't remember what we had ordered, but it was fun guessing what we were having as it wasn't always obvious. The desserts were very good, unless you happen to be intolerant to dairy produce. Although there was always fruit available.
Most of the hotel is very clean, particularly the dining room, reception and lounge area and the pool area. Unfortunately the cleaning crew are poor when it comes to keeping the corridors, stairs and guest rooms clean. On our first night we had to clean the wash basin, soap dishes and shelf in the bathroom as all were caked in soap scum. Under the air-conditioning unit was thick with fluff and debris. My wife noticed that the bidet wasn't being cleaned and complained to our holiday rep. This was soon rectified, and the bathroom received a more attentive cleaning regime.
The good points about this hotel certainly outweigh the poor cleaning. It's in an excellent location, close enough to the town centre, the railway stations from where you can visit Pisa, Florence, Lucca and many other locations. The Terme Spa, the gardens and the funicolare which takes you up to Montecatini Alto are all within walking distance. If you get an opportunity to go to a night time concert at the Terme Spa, then go along as the Terme is beautiful at night. We certainly wouldn't hesitate to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3MGsrl, Direttore at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Sir,
I'd like to thank you for sharing his experience with users of Tripadvisor and spending his time to talk about our merits and our failings.
The management and all the staff are grateful for the compliments and are grateful for reporting that he wanted to do and that helps us to improve day by day.
Thanks again for your stay and ... see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    27
    9
    6
    20
See reviews for
25
14
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I recently stayed at the Miro Hotel with my family.......I found it to be very nice. The hallways have been redone and everything looks to be O.K.....I found the staff very friendly and the food was very good!!!!! I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almen The Netherlands
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

The bathroom is very bad, it stinks, breakfast is very bad, dinner also. Very noisy outside!
The garden is full of parking cars. The bread and croissants are black, the cups are from plastic, the flooring is worn with dirty spots. The shower tiles are painted
so that the mold is not visible. Unfortunately, the smell of mold or rotten smell.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

To be honest the hotel was tired and worn down. However, we had a great time there and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel location is perfect, next to a wonderful park, very near a small market, close to all transport, easy reach to spa facilities and excellent bars/ restaurants.
The hotel has a reaonable pool and outside area but lets itslf down in the shabby bedrooms. The bathroom was very disappointing and really unacceptable in standard.
The food was ok but not outstanding in any way.
Staff were fun ,friendly and wecoming , Made up for any downsde, We would stay there again (strangely) plus it was great value (always helps)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

I arrived on 29th June on a very warm and humid day. The initail room had a problem with the shower, but I was speedily relocated to another room. The air conditioning was excellent. The hotel is located in a quiet part of town with its own pool. Initial map location suggested that it was located a good way from the sights and shops, train station etc. but this is not the case as the town is very compact and most locations are within a ten minute walk.
The rooms, although rather tired in the bathroom, are clean and very comfortable. Meals are selected from a menu giving three choices for each of the courses. 3 courses plus a generous salad selection. The meals are generally freshly cooked and of adequate proportions, though the menu replicates itself on a weekly basis and the dessert menu needs exapnding, certainly the variety to ensure full satisfaction.
The staff are very friendly and helpful and although the hotel provides a trainee environment, I found the overall interface to be just right.
Whilst this is not a chic hotel, its a lovely place to stay, have a relaxing time and be well looked after. I travelled with Inghams and got a free packed lunch and could have had free bike hire too.
This made my stay even better and inexpensive - so what are you waiting for?

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

You have to get this in perspective; this is a 3 star hotel in a busy tourist area. If you are expecting luxury and opulence don’t stay here.

The lobby and public areas are what you would expect from a hotel of this standard. The rooms however are a bit run down and rather dowdy, but reasonably clean. They are air conditioned but ours did not cope very well and the room did get quite hot at times. There are no balconies either so it wasn’t possible to get out of the heat at night. There was a fridge in the room that was an unexpected bonus. (but not in the children’s room)

The location is very good. The railway station, spa, funicular and town are all within easy walking distance.

The pool area was very pleasant and well maintained but the bar was unstaffed during my stay here.

The food (we stayed on a package) was again about what you would expect but a bit repetitive. I don’t want to see another Creme Caramel in my life !

The staff are great. They are all friendly and helpful. The dining room staff work really hard and do a really good job serving people quickly whilst remaining very pleasant. This is a smallish hotel so you tend to see the same staff everyday so you sort of get to know one another - which was nice.

We got this hotel on a late availability package, and were very happy with what we got for the price we paid. It would have been different had we paid the published brochure price - I think we could have done better.

Overall though, a good experience

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

For a three star hotel it was very good. The staff were welcoming and very helpful. I was in a touch group 40 strong with very early rising always to be greeted by smiling faces. We arrived at 10.00 pm at night and the only hiccup with the hotel was the night porter who seemed to be a bit confused by the large number of people, it soon got sorted out though, the bar was opened for us and from there on they could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Miro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miro

Address: Viale Bicchierai, 82, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 109 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miro 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Miro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miro Hotel Montecatini Terme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Miro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.