We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Marco Hotel

Save Saved
You added San Marco Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Marco Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Rosselli 3, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 108 hotels in Montecatini Terme
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    14
    11
    3
    7
See reviews for
8
15
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We spend in this hotel 2 nights, I have to say, that the hotel was pleasant, food was good and sufficient. The staff always was helpful and spoke good english. Spacious room was clean and comfortable. I can advise all people, who want spend their time in a pleasant hotel in a beautiful spa resort.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

I have just recently stayed at this hotel and NEVER again! From start to finish it was a nightmare. After a long trip I just wanted a nice room and a shower. I had a single and believe me it was a single. The room was very small and was dominated by large wardrobe. I went to the toilet and had to clean the bowl myself, even though it had one of those hygene labels on it. As I went to flush the toilet to clean it large pieces of brown waste washed out of the cystern. I took one look at the shower head and it was heavily encrusted with dirt. So much so that as the water dripped from the shower head it was leaving a light brown stain on the shower tray. I subsequently found out, from the receptionist, that they were having a problem with the plumbing and that said problem had meant that various rooms were uninhabitable.

The room was dirty. The dirt in wooden fretwork was a clear indication that the room hadn't been cleaned in a while. I ended up sleeping on top of the quilt as it was the only clean piece of bedding. I didn't bother trying to identify the stain on the pillow

No one seemed to know what they were doing. I got two single rooms when I only needed one and if you are a family don't assume that you will get rooms on the same floor. Come dinner the waiters had to look at the menu so they knew what to serve us. The food wasn't anything special. I had chicken and carrots in some sort of buttery sauce. The chicken was OK but the carrots in sauce looked like someone had thrown up on the plate.

This was the first time I have ever had complained about a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montecatini Terme hotels

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

We stayed at the San Marco Hotel in Montecatini for 3 nights in early June. The hotel was dead! Each morning at breakfast there were usually only a handful of other people present at the most!
The hotel is only a 5 minute walk to the centre of Montecatini, and a 10-15 minute walk to the cable car to go up to Montecatini Alto.
The rooms are large, and although once probably very nice, do need refurbishing, as they are looking old. However, they are perfectly clean and were acceptable.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast itself was fine (cereals, breads, etc.), but we never ate dinner in the hotel as there are plently of restaurants nearby in the town.
Overall, pleasant but nothing special!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

The pictures of the hotel do not reflect reality. The pictures create high expectations of the hotel interior. But in fact the furniture is old and the rooms should be redecorated. We had the idea that for sure it should have been a beautiful hotel years ago.
But other than that we had a pleasant stay. The staff is very nice and client oriented, the hotel is clean and has spacious rooms. Furthermore its location is near to the city centre in a beautiful neighbourhood. Oh ....and a very important thing is that you can make use of the facilities of a very nice grand hotel, just 2 minutes walk. Enjoy.
John, Amsterdam

  • Liked — The staff and location
  • Disliked — The hotel furniture
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

This hotel was a substitute for a much nicer one that we had booked, so we were somewhat disappointed. The rooms were ok, clean but older furnishings. Desk staff helpful, food good but meals were small and not many choices. We had a major plumbing problem in our first room -- sink turned into a geyser -- but were quickly given another room and the staff moved all our stuff.

  • Liked — friendly staff, tasty food
  • Disliked — rooms only average
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Marco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Marco Hotel

Address: Viale Rosselli 3, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 108 hotels in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Marco Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your San Marco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Marco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;