We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good traditional hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio to your Saves list
Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Matteotti 42, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 109 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good traditional hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

This is a hotel which has preserved a 1920's 1930's feel but with a sympathetic modernisation. Rooms (x2) were good with some period features but modern air conditioning and large refurbished bathrooms with marble finish. Relatively inexpensive (by Roman standards) local restaurants - see Trip Advisor reviews. Hotel restaurant a bit more expensive but good and traditional Italian fare.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    35
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
32
39
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed with a tour group and was assigned a room near the back of the hotel. Very quiet there, not sure where the previous reviewers were staying in the hotel. The food was good, and we did have eggs with our breakfast. A small bar near the lobby was very convenient. It is situated in a great area of town with lots of shopping and places to eat. You are in the very center of activity, but felt quite comfortable. The personnel were friendly and we were quite pleased with our stay.
Take a small walk up the hill to the funicular for a ride to the top of the plateau. Fantastic views at night and several small restaurants to sit outside of to enjoy a glass of wine.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room in the back is quieter?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel has some very nice things going for it, but the one thing that I have to say on the negative side is that the beds are horrible. I woke up in physical pain after sleeping on the bed at this hotel. I could barely walk the next day. The positives are that it has a BEAUTIFUL view. If you are lucky enough to get a room with a balcony- my daughter did- it is lovely. My room had a view of a brick wall. Also, as far as I could tell, there wasn't an air conditioner. Not unusual but still would have been desired. However, we did have a nice window that could be opened and the room was quite large, though extremely bland. All of the rooms were decorated differently and gave me the feeling of a not quite renovated hotel but it seems like they might be trying to do some upgrades? The halls and common areas are beautiful but the elevators are so tiny that if you have luggage, you practically have to ride alone to fit. We had a meal in the dining area- it was part of our group tour. Can't say much for the meal- very average.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This hotel seems inside and outside luxe and richfull. The rooms are good for Italian principes. Good bathroom and bedroom. The dinner was so good. Nice dishes and fresh food. Good crew and help you by a problem. And if you don't like a dish, the make an other dish to make you a happy dinner. The breadfast is not so good as dinner. Some breads are so hard. You can kill somebody with it! And you must pay for the wifi :(

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billund, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I was staying at the Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio with some friends for the third time this summer. And it was again the best experience for us!
The hotel has a very good location with plenty of shops nearby and just a few minutes walk to the railway station. The room was excellent, very clean and tidy with real Tuscan atmosphere. From the moment we arrive, staff was helpful and very friendly providing great service. And again we could enjoy the delicious Tuscan food, good home made meals of the best quality, what makes this hotel even more unique.
We also love Montecatini Terme, a famous spa town which is different from sometimes too noisy and crowded places like Florence or Pisa. So Montecatini Terme will always be our favourite destination in Tuscany and Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio our absolutely favourite hotel there.
This hotel on its own is really worth the recommendation. We will surely come there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed in this hotel as part of a National Coach Holidays Rome and a Taste of Italy. It was the best hotel of the trip, the Comfort Inn in Metz was unwelcoming to say the least so this hotel made such a difference. Very central, friendly staff and extra helpful for my sister who is Coeliac and daughter who was ill. Food was more than plentiful, they even came around with seconds. We had a room with a balcony and a fridge which was a godsend as it was extremely hot. Monte catini is a lovely place and worth a visit on its own.

The travelling even though it was expected was quite tough. I was not impressed with the Rome tour and wished we had got the hop on hop off bus as I felt we would have seen more. The Florence walking tour was good and had an amazing start being taking to the Pizza Michelangelo, superb views.

Our drivers Ian and Peter were great and really knew their way around.

Fantastic value for the money and if you can cope with being on the coach it is a great holiday.

Room Tip: Room 207 has a balcony, and if you ask they will put ice packs in the freezer for the return journey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billund, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I have visited the famous spa-town of Montecatini Terme four times, and every time I have stayed at Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio. Definitely a hotel worth visiting! A family-run hotel where guests are at the center and where staff do their absolute best in terms of providing good service and make the guest feel at home. The hotel has an excellent kitchen and the hotel's kitchen staff is very focused on creating the best of Tuscan cuisine. Located in the center of Montecatini, you step right in to Italian evening atmosphere when the night approaches – characterized by pleasant street and cafe ambiance and pleasant Italian hospitality, which is also very characteristic of the hotel staff. I look forward to visit the hotel again this summer.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio

Address: Corso Matteotti 42, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 109 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.