We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio to your Saves list
Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Matteotti 42, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 110 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed with a tour group and was assigned a room near the back of the hotel. Very quiet there, not sure where the previous reviewers were staying in the hotel. The food was good, and we did have eggs with our breakfast. A small bar near the lobby was very convenient. It is situated in a great area of town with lots of shopping and places to eat. You are in the very center of activity, but felt quite comfortable. The personnel were friendly and we were quite pleased with our stay.
Take a small walk up the hill to the funicular for a ride to the top of the plateau. Fantastic views at night and several small restaurants to sit outside of to enjoy a glass of wine.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room in the back is quieter?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    52
    25
    7
    7
See reviews for
41
60
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel has some very nice things going for it, but the one thing that I have to say on the negative side is that the beds are horrible. I woke up in physical pain after sleeping on the bed at this hotel. I could barely walk the next day. The positives are that it has a BEAUTIFUL view. If you are lucky enough to get a room with a balcony- my daughter did- it is lovely. My room had a view of a brick wall. Also, as far as I could tell, there wasn't an air conditioner. Not unusual but still would have been desired. However, we did have a nice window that could be opened and the room was quite large, though extremely bland. All of the rooms were decorated differently and gave me the feeling of a not quite renovated hotel but it seems like they might be trying to do some upgrades? The halls and common areas are beautiful but the elevators are so tiny that if you have luggage, you practically have to ride alone to fit. We had a meal in the dining area- it was part of our group tour. Can't say much for the meal- very average.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This hotel seems inside and outside luxe and richfull. The rooms are good for Italian principes. Good bathroom and bedroom. The dinner was so good. Nice dishes and fresh food. Good crew and help you by a problem. And if you don't like a dish, the make an other dish to make you a happy dinner. The breadfast is not so good as dinner. Some breads are so hard. You can kill somebody with it! And you must pay for the wifi :(

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billund, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I was staying at the Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio with some friends for the third time this summer. And it was again the best experience for us!
The hotel has a very good location with plenty of shops nearby and just a few minutes walk to the railway station. The room was excellent, very clean and tidy with real Tuscan atmosphere. From the moment we arrive, staff was helpful and very friendly providing great service. And again we could enjoy the delicious Tuscan food, good home made meals of the best quality, what makes this hotel even more unique.
We also love Montecatini Terme, a famous spa town which is different from sometimes too noisy and crowded places like Florence or Pisa. So Montecatini Terme will always be our favourite destination in Tuscany and Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio our absolutely favourite hotel there.
This hotel on its own is really worth the recommendation. We will surely come there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed in this hotel as part of a National Coach Holidays Rome and a Taste of Italy. It was the best hotel of the trip, the Comfort Inn in Metz was unwelcoming to say the least so this hotel made such a difference. Very central, friendly staff and extra helpful for my sister who is Coeliac and daughter who was ill. Food was more than plentiful, they even came around with seconds. We had a room with a balcony and a fridge which was a godsend as it was extremely hot. Monte catini is a lovely place and worth a visit on its own.

The travelling even though it was expected was quite tough. I was not impressed with the Rome tour and wished we had got the hop on hop off bus as I felt we would have seen more. The Florence walking tour was good and had an amazing start being taking to the Pizza Michelangelo, superb views.

Our drivers Ian and Peter were great and really knew their way around.

Fantastic value for the money and if you can cope with being on the coach it is a great holiday.

Room Tip: Room 207 has a balcony, and if you ask they will put ice packs in the freezer for the return journey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billund, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I have visited the famous spa-town of Montecatini Terme four times, and every time I have stayed at Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio. Definitely a hotel worth visiting! A family-run hotel where guests are at the center and where staff do their absolute best in terms of providing good service and make the guest feel at home. The hotel has an excellent kitchen and the hotel's kitchen staff is very focused on creating the best of Tuscan cuisine. Located in the center of Montecatini, you step right in to Italian evening atmosphere when the night approaches – characterized by pleasant street and cafe ambiance and pleasant Italian hospitality, which is also very characteristic of the hotel staff. I look forward to visit the hotel again this summer.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Would never recommend this hotel to others. Best thing that can be said is that it's clean. Food average minus. Okay, its a "continental" breakfast, but anything but inviting - not one piece of fruit or a hard boiled egg to be seen. Resorted to taking in own food. Dining room long and narrow with no windows and tables set together down each side - thought we were in a school canteen. Hotel very tired looking, walls all need a coat of paint. There is no outside space other than the pavement. Others have mentioned the noise, so I won't reiterate. Terrible hard pillows on the bed and when we asked them to be changed, we were given more of the same. Booked this holiday through Mistral - first and last time.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dario B, Proprietario at Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear Ledies and Gentelman,

Thank you for the compliments on the cleanliness of our Hotel.

About your restaurant review, we are sorry that you did not enjoy our Tuscan cuisine like the rest of your group. Other participants in your trip have also praised our restaurant on tripadvisor.

You were doing a group of 40 people and why you eat together at tables of 4-6 people, as do all groups in the world and not as a school canteen.

The breakfast was everything included our contract. If you have not seen eggs and fruit because they were not included.

Our hotel is painted every year.
We are open all year and working hard, maybe there are some points to be repainted.
But if you want to be so fussy, they will find in every hotel of the world.

With regard to our space outside besides a large roofed veranda of about 30 seats,
In addition, we have an exclusive Dheor with 25-30 other places reserved for our guests.
I consider that his judgment is not correct !

In general I consider his review too hard and partly incorrect.
Fortunately, the other part of your group Mistral is playing very pleased and thanked the hotel for spending a pleasant holiday.
Unfortunately, writing reviews are often the very few people unhappy Instead the majority has found that good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio

Address: Corso Matteotti 42, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 110 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.