We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Boston

Save Saved
You added Hotel Boston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Boston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Bicchierai, 16 / 20, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 108 hotels in Montecatini Terme
Bournemouth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The hotel is centrally situated and was excellent value for money. All staff were without exception both friendly and helpful. Everything was very clean and bedrooms were comfortable and everything worked as it should. Parking is available at a small supplement which is a bonus.
We stayed for seven nights and would gladly return on our next visit to Tuscany.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBostonMTC, Direttore at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your nice comments on TripAdvisor.

We hope to welcoming you again upon your next stay.

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    65
    27
    11
    3
See reviews for
31
75
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lee's Summit, Missouri USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hotel Boston is one of our favorite places to stay in Italy. The rooms are very clean and accommodating, the breakfast is well above par, and the facility itself is very attractive. Friendly service and great coffee at the bar! Being located close to the train station (walking distance) makes it a very good place to stay and take the train to other cities for day trips. The only improvement I would make would be to have the wireless internet service available in the rooms rather than limited to the lobby. If you are going to Montecatini I would recommend staying at Hotel Boston.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBostonMTC, Direttore at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

we have really appreciated your feedback and suggestion, that surely will help us to improve our level of service.

We hope to welcoming you again upon your next stay.

Your sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very clean hotel, all staff are friendly and helpful. Would recommend for location as a base for holiday. We had day trips to pisa and florence and found it easy to travel and rarely used the hotel. Fairly old occupants not many young people there.

One downside is that there is no iron or kettle in the rooms or available to borrow. I would recommend bringing own tea bags and kettle.

Walls were also quite thin

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham City, England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a four night holiday touring Tuscany and for our break we stayed at the Hotel Boston. Montecatini Terme is a good case from which to explore Tuscany and the Hotel Boston is a good base within Montecatini Terme.

As the title says it proved to be, although not perfect, a good location and overall good value for money.

The location is just a 5 minute stroll from the Montecatini Terme Centro railway station. There is also a supermarket nearby ( halfway between hotel and station) as well as several bars and restuarants.

We had room 154 and I would highly recommend this room or its neighbour 152. Why? Well it has the double bonus of being internal facing ( much quieter as no roadside noise) but more importantly it had a large garden facing balcony on which it wasa pleasure after a days sightseeing just to sit and relax; enjoy the last of the sunshine coupled with a glass of wine whilst sat on the table and chairs provided. Now not many hotel rooms offer this, do they!

The glass of wine of course was chilled by the fridge provided in your room, which although is in effect a mini-bar does not prevent you from keeping a bottle of wine being chilled. The room was also equipped with a small (key operated) safe but no tea/coffee making facilities.

The room was spacious and although it only had a shower wet room - no bath - this was acceptable. The bed was large but firm, almost hard, and not what we are accustommed to and therefore I cannot say we slept well. Although the towels and linen where changed daily there was evidence of a lack of the carpet being hoovered at all during our stay.

The staff were professional; polite and courteous and both check-in and check -out were straight forward.

The hotel pool was closed during our stay - does not open until 1st of May. The breakfasts were typical European fare with choices of cold meats and cheeses; fruit and yoghurts; croissants etc. It was sufficient.

The hotel during our stay was very popular with a large group of German tourists. Whilst not a problem it did prevent us from considering having our evening meal within the Hotel itself as we would have been the only non-Germans in an otherwise full restuarant. We ate is some local eateires which appeared to be popular with the local Italian community itself. Very good.

We got our bearings around Montecatini Terme early by taking the little (white) tourist train. This 40 minute trip - costing only 3 Euros - give the perfect introduction to the town. We found the town to be easy and enjoyable to stroll around.

We arrived at Pisa airport and then travelled to Montecatini Terme by train. This requires a change of trains at both Pisa Central and then Lucca. It may sound a hassle to use three trains but in reality it is relatively easy and only costs 5.70 euros single and in total the journey takes about 1 hr 40 minutes.

Indeed we travelled each day by train to visit and tour Florence (55mins and 5.10 euros); Pisa (1hr. 8mins and 5.40 euros) and Lucca (28mins and 4.10 euros) and found travelling by train easy; comfortable and punctual. (REMEMBER TO VALIDATE YOUR TICKET BEFORE YOUR BOARD THE TRAIN).

All there trips are worthwhile and a tip for each would be ;
Florence: from the railway station take the No.13 bus to the Pizzale Michelangelo from whree you get the famous landscape panoranic view and then walk back down to the centre (Cost 2 euros from the driver).
Pisa: get off at the Pisa Rissore stop (from Lucca) for the Leaning tower and then walk through the Old Town to Pisa central station.
Lucca: hire a bicycle for one hour and cycle around the walls in both a clockwise and then anti-clockwise direction (Cost 3 euros an hour).

Another recommended trip is to take the funicular from Montecatini Terme to Montecatini Alto ( Cost 7 Euros return). It departs on the half hour and hour and the views from the top are quite stunning and the village itself is charming with a few nice places to eat.

The weather was glorious during our stay - warm sunshine with temperatures of around 23C - and whilst this always makes any stay the more enjoyable I can say that the Hotel Boston is worthy of considering to stay in Montecatini Terme. I would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Although this hotel was pre booked for us by our travel advisor, we found it to be much more than adequate for our home base as we took many day trips around the Tuscany region. Our room contained a very comfortable queen size bed, a nice bathroom and shower, and adequate clothes storage space for the clothing we brought along for the weeks stay. Our room was cleaned every day with fresh towels and linens replenished.
We had a nice breakfast buffet every morning prior to our departure for other destinations and we also had full course dinners four nights in their dining room. Breakfast foods were quite good with a nice selection. The dinner menu offered at least two or three selections to choose from but there were few selections that I really would have ordered in a full service restaurant.
The town of Montecatini was very nice, with great shopping opportunities, although a little expensive for those of us from the US, especially with the dollar/euro exchange rate as it is.
The Hotel Boston is located right at the edge of the downtown shops and just about everything was within walking distance. We would stay here again if in the city for our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANSFIELD TX
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I selected this hotel based largely on the reviews on trip advisor. I was glad i selected it as it fullfilled our needs exactly. It was clean, comfortable, well located and affordable. Our room was comfortable. Beds were a bit firm but that is most European hotels. The staff was most helpful and the front porch was delightful. Montecatini Terme was one of our favorite towns on our trip. It is quite lively with music on the streets and the shops stay open late. The train station is quite close, about ten minuetes by car from the hotel. Many good restaurants close by. The hotel staff can make recommendations for you. We especialy liked Pecora Nera (see seperate review) but we got pizza to carry up to our room one night and it was excellent also. All in all a very enjoyable stay and a property I do not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Went as part of a group, well pleased with all aspects of hotel. Clean,very central, walking distance to funicular railway . Food was hot, tasty and plentiful and staff really helpful. Beds were really comfortable. Bit noisy outside at times but not hotels fault. Our room was on the side road and the smells from the kitchen early in the morning made our mouths water.......bread ,cakes and roast meat in the late afternoon...all fresh food. Would go again anytime.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boston

Address: Viale Bicchierai, 16 / 20, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#12 Romantic Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Boston 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Boston is an elegant and comfortable hotel located in the centre of Montecatini Terme, a perfect place where you can have a pleasant and a regenerating stay in the heart of Tuscany. At the Hotel Boston, the friendly atmosphere is guaranteed from the Biondi family, the hotel's owner, who personally manages the hotel from three generations, and vouches a courteous and diligent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Hotel Montecatini Terme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.